We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Ranked #604 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Vossevangen, Norway
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sidney hotel for three nights in the busy pre-Christmas time. The hotel is centrally located and not far from the Victoria coach station. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel and also many cabs pass by (however, many of the taxi drivers didn`t know where Belgrave Road was when we tried to get back to the hotel). The room was a bit small but very nice and modern and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was quite small but clean and functional. Our room was in the basement and we didn`t have any view nor the daylight. The floors are not very well isolated so we could hear people walking to the breakfast room in the morning. Organization of breakfast was too complicated: guests had to be registered at the entrance and then led to their table. Sometimes there were no tables left and we had to wait for a long time. Variety of the food was basic: toasts, croissant, butter and jam. There were not enough toasts and it took long time to fill up with food. The only coffee machine created a large line and the employees as well as the guests were stressed. We ordered a glass of wine from the bar at the reception one evening. The bar was operated by the reception staff who was apparently not trained to it and we were also told that they were not barmen. Anyway, our stay at the hotel was ok and we might come back when in London next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToyotaLandCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    473
    356
    130
    108
See reviews for
300
436
98
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great hotel for the price. Good location, with easy access to the tube station. Room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was one of the best I have seen in a hotel - lovely. My only real complaint was that breakfast was very limited (even for continental), i.e. toast, crossaints and cereal.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the basement rooms - can hear people walking in the bar above and when they use the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Sidney for 2 nights this week. The hotel is in a good location for easy access to the coach station, the tube station and also a bus service with a stop right outside the hotel.
The room we had was a twin. It was very clean, bedding clean and made each day. The bathroom was modern and clean. The room was small but ok as we were out most of the time. The breakfast was a continental, wih usual cereals, toast, croissants, also a a bit of fruit.
We booked for location and as we were on a low budget, it worked out very well.

Room Tip: We had a room which overlooked the main street, there was a bit of noise as there is a bus service r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Sidney Hotel in June last year. The room was small but the beds were comfortable (very important). The bathroom, on the other hand was uncomfortably small. There wasn't much room to manoeuvre in the shower. The continental breakfast was basic and missable. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned daily. The staff was polite and efficient but not friendly. Polite and efficient will do for a short stay. The location is perfect, absolutely convenient to get to wherever we wanted to go. We were able to walk to the theatre, Buckingham Palace, Westminster, etc., which saved tube money. Had a choice of two tube stations a ten minute and seven minute walk away. Our internet service was free because I booked directly with the hotel but it was inconvenient to check with the front desk daily to change the access code. Would I stay here again? If I got the same rate, sure. If I have to pay more then it's not worth it. Most of the hotels in the area have very small rooms; the differences are in the details. Some reviews said the Sidney was run down but I would have to disagree.

The Sidney is a comfortable enough budget hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed here for a week in January. The room was clean, comfortable, had lovely telly. The location is great, not too far from great food and the tube station. Price was a little high and needing to pay for internet really was unpleasant. One man at the desk was rude and a bit of a bully. Overall, a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed for two nights, staff helpful, hotel clean, convenient and comfortable. Bedroom and shower room compact but quite sufficient as a base for visiting London. Continental breakfast perfectly acceptable. No queues when we were there.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have to start by saying that I stayed at the hotel with one of my friends, and we've been travelling in England for two weeks before we stayed at the Sidney Hotel on Belgrave Rd, London.
The experience at this hotel was horrific and I wouldn't wish this on anyone. It was the first of our two nights stay at the hotel, when around 4 AM I got woken up by some noise from the upstairs neighbour (who was incredibly loud both nights), and suddenly I see a man staring at me through our open door. I understand that this already sounds incredibly creepy, but the experience got more strange and disturbing. I ran to the door and I ask him why did he open the door. He said that the door was open. I remember the door actually being closed, this was clearly a intentional invasion of privacy and potentially security. I find it unacceptable that he never knocked at the door, or never said anything before opening it (housekeeping, front desk, security, etc), and when I kept asking him why he didn't knock, he would just answer that the door was open (which clearly shows that he recognized that he did not knock). He wasn't even wearing a name tag. I didn't know who he was or if he even worked there. I asked for his name and went back to bed but clearly after all this couldn't get any sleep.
The next morning I went to the reception and asked to speak to a manager which turned out to be completely useless. He told me he would get back to me, as soon as he talks to that person. It seems as if other staff members had already heard about what happened and knew who I was referring to and had already written a report about it. On our checkout day I went to ask the same manager what he had found out about that guy. I was told that he did have his name tag, but it was in his hand - not helpful- and that he did knock on the door, when in fact I know for sure he didn't, and he himself admitted that. That there, truly made me "laugh". My security and privacy was invaded by one of the "employees" and the manager didn't even bother to address my valid concerns. For a 4 star hotel, that holds a deposit for the incidentals, this is, completely unprofessional.
As hotel guests we pay for two main services: privacy and security. Both of these were butchered by the Sidney Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
7 Thank Tinatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#631 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#374 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#555 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#617 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#521 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#244 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney Hotel London-Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney Hotel London-Victoria

Property: Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Address: Victoria | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #604 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidney Hotel London-Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sidney Hotel London-Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing