We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Only if you get Hands on a good deal..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Ranked #598 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Multan, Pakistan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Good Only if you get Hands on a good deal..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is situated in a make shift old Victorian home in central London. The rooms are just adequate but considering the fact that the rooms here in the UK are considerably small than many places it is fine. The ensuite bathrooms are good as well.

Please be aware that using of different services will surely incur extra charges, like TV, Internet etc. There is a small bar in the lobby of the hotel which offers happy hours as well which has some nice deals on drinks.

The big plus of the hotel is the location. Really close to the Victoria Rail Station. Well its the same distance from the Pimlico or the Victoria, but as Victoria has more services, one prefers to be there. A bus stop is just in front of the hotel door. During my stay, I found the staff to be helpful except for the staff in the small underground breakfast lounge. The ladies there are not native British and thus do not know what customer service is.

Over all it was a nice experience and I would recommend it to someone who wants a central property but I would still concentrate on finding a good deal on the internet for this Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms adjacent to the road are noisy so choose the ones at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtaulMunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    465
    351
    129
    107
See reviews for
294
430
98
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Me and my partner went to see Wicked on the west end, we chose this hotel as it was advertised as nearby.
it is quite close by, a good 15 minute walk, but the hotel was not what we were expecting. the staff were extremely rude, the room was really small, the 'en-suite bathroom' was smaller than the facilities on a train, half of the lights didn't work and there were extra charges at every turn. the breakfast was passable. it is the most expensive hotel I've stayed in and is easily the worst. I definitely do not recommend staying.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Having recently booked 2 nights accomodation and rail fare for £100so I did wonder what to expect but was pleasantly suprised. Stayed in room 505 which was small but not as small as some have made out. The bathroom was new and modern and a very nice shower. The down side was the room was very warm but we are at the back of the hotel so just slept with the window open. The breakfast room is small but we did not have to queue and althouth it is basic it was sufficient . The staff were extremelyhelpful and although i did have to pay £25 deposit it was all refunded when i left and you do not have to pay for " normal " tv channels . Overall the hotel is a little bit " shabby " but was clean and is good value for money and very well situated. Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bev-250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkham, Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The usual accommodation I use in London was not available so I booked into the Sidney Hotel for one night at a cost of £105 for a single room. I stayed in room 504 on the top floor.

Although I booked a single room I ended up with quite a large room (by London standards) with a double bed at one end and a single bed at the other (see photos). I didn't spend a lot of time in the room and although it was reasonably clean it had a tatty look about it with water stains on the ceiling and a tired looking bedspread. The sheets and pillows were clean, though.

As with other guests i was surprised to be asked for a £25 deposit on arrival (especially since I had already paid for the room in advance). It was explained that I might build up additional charges using the internet or additional TV channels. I guess the hotel have been stung with people building up extra charges and then just leaving. Contrary to a previous review I did not get charged for watching terrestrial TV.

Breakfast times and the type of breakfast being served have recently changed. Breakfast is available from 7:00am until 9:00am. There is no cooked breakfast, just a continental breakfast consisting of toast, croissants, cereal, fruit juice and coffee, tea or hot chocolate.

The hotel is in a good location within 5 minutes walk of a tube station at Pimlico and only 10 minutes walk away from the railway and coach station at Victoria. There is also a tube station at Victoria, but the one at Pimlico is nearer and much smaller (making it easier to access). The No. 24 bus stops just outside the hotel and this bus runs past the Houses of Parliament, Trafalgar Square and Camden Market all the way to Hampstead.

There are a number of shops and restaurants in the local area and it feels very safe on the streets (even at night). I walked to the Victoria Palace Theatre to see the musical "Billy Elliot" and walked back to the hotel at 10:30pm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TimmyTot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GamerGirl-STL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel is clean, but to say that the rooms are tiny would be an under (over?) statement. Ceilings are low, only about 2 meters, and we couldn't even open the bathroom door all the way because it bumped up against the bed. The bathroom barely had room enough to turn around, with no shelf space. It had less room than those I've seen on cruise ships! The breakfast was disappointing, as they've stopped serving eggs or meats or anything like that, so it was just a basic continental breakfast with toast and cereal. We only ate there the first morning, and then went elsewhere for better (if more expensive) breakfasts. Wi-fi is an extra 8 pounds/day, but very very slow and unreliable (took me 12 hours to download something that should have only taken 30 minutes). No air-conditioning, just open a window and hope for the best. Most shocking for me was that we had a rate of 110/night, but when we tried to extend our stay, the hotel wanted to double the rate for the extra nights. Absolutely not worth it, so we checked out and went elsewhere. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GamerGirl-STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Very basic disappointing continental breakfast with queues for breakfast. Nowhere did it warn us that we would have to pay £10 to watch just basic TV. Central location, polite, pleasant staff and lovely art on the walls were the only advantages.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33PAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

My mum, sister and I recently spent 2 nights here - rooms were nothing fantastic but beds were comfortable. The hotel is very well situated, five minutes from Victoria station, bus outside the doors, loads of taxis and pleasant reception staff. Breakfast was nothing exciting - no yoghurts or fresh fruit and cooked breakfast just average. The "bathroom" was minute - like a shower/toilet on a boat !
Otherwise very clean. Near excellent restaurant called "O Sole Mio" - superb Italian food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baboo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#614 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#374 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#533 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#606 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#520 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#259 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney Hotel London-Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney Hotel London-Victoria

Property: Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Address: Victoria | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidney Hotel London-Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sidney Hotel London-Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing