We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid Staying at Kensington Rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kensington Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kensington Rooms
Ranked #1,006 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Avoid Staying at Kensington Rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We booked 2 triple rooms for a half term treat, the website showed a blue chip client list with much satisfaction, in reality we saw a Hotel that was in desperate need of refurbishment, the outside was dilapidated, the reception area was dirty, the first room was on the 4th Floor, this had tatty furniture, grubby net curtains, beds crammed in so the wardrobe was inaccessible, if the room above used the bathroom our water ceased in the middle of any ablutions. The room also had a flea infestation.
The second room was on the ground floor, this again was desperately overdue a makeover, the room had a vermin problem, with rats or mice playing in the room after dark & feeding on any food in the room. The vermin problem was reported to reception, but nothing was actually done.
The Hotel is an overpriced dump and Is sited on a busy main road with noise all night long, i would avoid staying here at all costs.

Room Tip: Location good for access to under ground & supermarkets nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    91
    149
    138
    266
See reviews for
122
212
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Dreadful hotel. Don't be fooled by the photographs. We had 2 rooms as the first was filthy & subterranean. The 2nd wasn't much better. Shower filthy, window blinds broken, no safety deposit facility. The 3rd bed in the family room was a camp bed! The receptionist included an unpleasant woman and a disorganised older gent.

Room Tip: Fine for folks going out clubbing or drinking who don't mind where they sleep. Youth hostel atmo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Lendava, Slovenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

staff very friendly and correct, both at the front desk, as at breakfast,
because the first room we were pleased by us immediately replaced, breakfast good, fresh and abundant, they help us with organization of transport to the airport, very good location, close to metro, shops and restaurants, a good value for the money
we stayed 7 nights in the hotel, an impurity in the room, maid edited by the bed, replace towels, but did not clean up the floor in the room and in the bathroom, even though we had the possibility of connection to wi-fi, only that from us for unknown reasons-it is always was something wrong- it was not possible

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed in two different rooms as we were 5 friends. The triple room was big and comfortable.The double room was dirty. The window blinds were broken and the bathroom! There was lime and black spots everywhere. Disgusting!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Esther I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was looking for somewhere to stay as a surprise for my boyfriend who is currently working overseas. He was back for one night so I wanted somewhere that we could spend some time together. I was looking on LastMinute.com and came across standard doubles for £60 - well within my price range. I saw a few photos, all of which looked like very different standards of rooms, so i thought it best to get in touch with the hotel directly. I spoke to the lady and said it was a special occasion and granted it was a Monday, but she offered me room 212, the biggest room (family suite) for a knock down price of £60. I called up on the day of check in to double check everything was ok. I was offered a late check out of 1pm and the room was very tidy and clean. standard of bed wasn't ideal (two singles pushed together) but had lovely tall ceilings, big mirror along one wall and plenty of extra blankets and lamps.
Would recommend if you speak to reception and request excellence.

Room Tip: room 212 is the largest and nicest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emb2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My partner and I wanted a London getaway, booked this hotel then I read the reviews! Went with an open mind.... On arrival the 4 reception staff just stood around looking at us while we checked in- no how was your journey etc... Got to our room and the main light had blown a bulb so as opposed to sorting it out we told then on our way out - got back later and it still wasn't sorted thankfully one of the two decent staff members we came across was on duty so quickly sorted it. The hotel is a great location, tiny room but for the money in this location you can't argue. Bed was clean and a good shower- just don't look too close at the paint work- I think a 3 yr old could do better.... In all if you want somewhere to sleep while you make the most of London it's fine!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time taken to provide us with your feedback. We were sorry to hear that you received a rather cold welcome upon arrival at our Hotel. We appreciate all your comments and we would like to assure you we are giving our staff regular trainings to improve all areas of customer service, be it welcoming guests or dealing with maintenance or housekeeping matters. Your suggestions have contributed to helping us achieve better standards.
Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Guest Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here with friends in 2013 for a weekend - regretfully. We went out for the day and returned to find our hotel room had been burgled.

There was no evidence of any break in, nor was there ever any apology for the incident from the hotel - or indeed any acknowledgement of this incident happening due to the gross lack of security within the hotel. Items amounting to £1,500 sterling were robbed from the room. It transpired that 8 other rooms had been burgled the same day. Again the hotel failed to inform us of this - it was the local policeman to whom we gave a statement that told us this.

After over 4 months of correspondence with the hotel's management and having to get solicitors involved due to the pathetic running of the hotel and dealing with this matter, we were eventually sent a cheque amounting to the loss of our goods - which was the very least they could have done. And even at this point, the hotel still would not take responsibility for the events that took place and responded by saying that loss of goods is the resident's responsibility....failing to realise that "theft" of goods is what happened in this instance.

For this reason, I would strongly discourage anyone from even contemplating staying in this establishment surrounded by its unprofessional, dishonest staff - unless of course you don't mind your valuables being stolen from your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer C, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you in regards to the burglary, I would like to inform you that we are the new management in the hotel now, having said that, this isn't a reason enough to get away with the complains.

I sincerely request you to contact us at customercare@lhcollection.co.uk so that we can discuss your feedback in details.

Your valuable suggestions will definitely help us address areas of concern and will most certainly help us restructure and synergize the processes to the levels expected, Looking forward to see you soon.

Once again apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Regards,
Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#628 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#493 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#370 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#733 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#173 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Rooms

Property: Kensington Rooms
Address: 131-137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,006 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully restored Victorian town houses, combines contemporary decor with original period features; Kensington District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Rooms Hotel London
Kensington Rooms London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing