We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a hostel”
Review of Kensington Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kensington Rooms
Ranked #999 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a hostel”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is on busy Cromwell road.single glazed windows meant we breathe traffic as if we were On the footpath. The room was right beside the kitchens and we could hear everything (when the traffic calmed). The whole place has the air of a hotel that has gone into liquidation and is been run on the cheap.
The hot tap in the bathroom was seized. I asked twice for it be fixed and nothing happened. The lamps in the room didn't work. I asked twice for them to be fixed and I was given light bulbs that didn't fit. The bar in the hotel is closed and the fees for Wi-Fi were ridiculous

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingeldot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    91
    150
    138
    269
See reviews for
124
213
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to this hotel thinking there was a bar as advertised but when we got there it was being re furbed which was not stated, plus if you do book this hotel make sure you ask for a room at the back of hotel because the noise from the traffic keeps you awake, staff was friendly enough though and location not bad 2 mins from underground but we will not be booking again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcbrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed in here for two weeks I would like to say about the hotel that its clean , nice , quite with a staff that worth every money that I have spent in London ! Cleaning deserves a 10 rate and the food and the staff the same ! The hotel is very quite with a lot of opportunities to visit and to get faster wherever you want ! I recommend this and u will be back here anytime

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillyannaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Yet another fine example of a grossly overpriced London "hotel" regardless of the area.

You'll probably find front desk staff who have long forgotten what a smile is and your presence an inconvenience. Over several days I saw them serving people with a complete lack of interest and enthusiasm.I don't reckon even a lotto win would get this mob to crack a smile.

Past the reception, my room on the ground floor was through tired, grim corridors.
The bed sagged in the middle, had old lumpy pillows and I noticed just before leaving, stained sheets. I had requested another room but with a great sigh I was told that there was nothing that could be done.
The shower head didn't work properly and the drain was slow to empty so that by the time I had finished showering I was ankle deep in water mixed with whatever was coming up from the drain. Gross!
Room furniture was old and there was barely any room for my suitcase. The TV was small and dated from well back in the last century.
Should you choose this place, don't even bother with the breakfast. Mice would have sensibly abandoned this place ages ago in search of better offerings! It's worth the effort of walking down to Gloucester Road where there a few nice cafes.

Very disappointing, but it's my fault for not reading other peoples reviews of this place before I booked.
My advice is that unless they're offering rooms super cheap, forget it. There are plenty of other hotels in the area to chose from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Windows did not shut properly. Blinds did not shut properly, not that it mattered much as many of them were missing or damaged. Tv 12 inch with remote that did not work. Dirty carpets. Shower did not work at all. This is the first review I have written as its the 1st time I have felt strongly enough to do so. Staff did not want to know about shortcomings. The location is the only thing going for this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Oddjob17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The rooms are very old they looked nothing like the pictures I was on the second floor and even tho there is a lift i still had to carry my bag up stairs my room was facing the road and was very loud the shower was terrible I almost flooded the bathroom as it is very small the tv is very old
im surprised it still works. The only good thing about the place was the continental breakfast and the breakfast were great. Front office were not very helpful and looked like they didn't want to be there I'm glad it was only for one night

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The shower head poured water out like your standing under a bucket, we asked if this could be fixed but no, it couldn't. Our bottom sheet ripped from being so worn in between the two beds that are pushed together to make one enormous bed and it was not replaced. We had to use our towels to mop up the water that gushed from the shower. We cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#669 of 1,069 in London
37 reviews
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#727 of 1,069 in London
1,054 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#346 of 1,069 in London
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#660 of 1,069 in London
831 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#728 of 1,069 in London
455 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Rooms

Property: Kensington Rooms
Address: 131-137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #999 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully restored Victorian town houses, combines contemporary decor with original period features; Kensington District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Rooms Hotel London
Kensington Rooms London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing