We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Kensington Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kensington Rooms
Ranked #1,006 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The rooms are very old they looked nothing like the pictures I was on the second floor and even tho there is a lift i still had to carry my bag up stairs my room was facing the road and was very loud the shower was terrible I almost flooded the bathroom as it is very small the tv is very old
im surprised it still works. The only good thing about the place was the continental breakfast and the breakfast were great. Front office were not very helpful and looked like they didn't want to be there I'm glad it was only for one night

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 693 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

The shower head poured water out like your standing under a bucket, we asked if this could be fixed but no, it couldn't. Our bottom sheet ripped from being so worn in between the two beds that are pushed together to make one enormous bed and it was not replaced. We had to use our towels to mop up the water that gushed from the shower. We cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

OK, so this is probably a 3.5 out of 5 all in all, so I upgraded my score to a 4, as I feel 3 doesn't do it justice. this place doesn't try and be anything special, so if you want just a room in a good location close to Gloucester Road tube, then you can't go wrong here. For £125 for the night I'm certainly not complaining and they have complimentary papers in the morning which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K500DCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

As has been said by other contributors the location is perfect to access London and the airport with the Gloucester Rd station around the corner.
The restaurants in the area are fair but he place seems quite safe
The hotel is old and in need of a make over, but there's a supply and demand issue, so at the moment it's not and provided you get a good price through one of the booking agencies.
Staff are fine and will assist if require advice

Room Tip: Free wifi up the road at Cafe Nero
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I recently stayed at The Kensington Rooms while my wife was in hospital nearby having an operation. The proximity to South Kensington and Gloucester Roa tube stations made it an ideal choice. The booking price was reduced heavily and I felt blessed at my luck as I left the booking till quite late in the day. Even when I decided to extend the stay the hotel stuck with a discounted rate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

After reading the other reviews for this hotel when my company booked me in I was not impressed . However I was pleasantly surprised !! The hotel is in a great location - really close to Gloucester road tube on the circle line. The reception looks great and due to the reviews I asked for a back room, this was not a great request as " we are very full but I will have a look". After a discussion re "is the shower ok in that room (?)" I received my key. Lift up to 1st floor,short walk and a very teeny tiny single room BUT clean tidy all in working order, with a functioning clean ensuite!!! The window opened into a central courtyard and had a wooden blind - I left the window open with the blind down and slept well. Comfy bed pillows and duvet. As a single female traveller this was an ok result. Prob not want to spend too long there or with my hubby but really really ok !!! Breakfast was buffet style but again sufficient to set me back on the tube/days work. I have stayed in 5* before and ok this doesn't compare but for ease and convenience WELL DONE !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lusty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My stay at Kensington Rooms in Room 19. The hotel is well positioned along the Cromwell Road, 5 mins walk from Gloucester Road underground station, 10 - 15 mins walk from Harrods. On arrival the staff were pleasant and I have no complaints whatsoever against the staff. My disappointment commenced with the winding route along the ground floor to my allocated room.
1) The corridor was littered with stale bed linen and towels, which left an unfortunate odour.
2) On entering our room there was an unpleasant smell of drains coming through the shower waste.
3) The sink waste didn't work and neither did the light above.
4) The TV (nearly as old as me) was not tuned into many channels and those which were tuned in were many (static) numbers apart.
5) There was a continual vibration in our room coming from the hotel heating system. I am sure this room sits on top of the boiler, as even this freezing Easter, it was far too hot and the radiators were off during our whole stay.
As we were there only one night, I did not complain, however the room we stayed in bore no resemblance to any of the photos on the lastminute.com website.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 19 under any circumstances
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 649DavidP649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#345 of 1,077 in London
2,206 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#783 of 1,077 in London
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Rooms

Address: 131-137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,006 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $106 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully restored Victorian town houses, combines contemporary decor with original period features; Kensington District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kensington Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Rooms Hotel London
Kensington Rooms London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing