We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, shame about the staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kensington Rooms
Ranked #1,009 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, shame about the staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Clean, simple, very comfortable bed, good location, quiet at night. staff were extremely rude and not at all helpful, didn't even smile. Not saying all of them but some are just rude, domestics are very nice, they should swap jobs with reception staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coraline_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    91
    149
    138
    266
See reviews for
122
212
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Booked in for two nights the room was filthy the shower tray didn't drain and you had to stop the shower to let it drain before continuing or the bathroom would have flooded I will not be stopping here ever again. The staff were rude and not interested in a complaint

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Copalis Beach, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here for a week. Price was very good, considering its location (2 blocks from Gloucester Road tube station). Room was small (as expected), and a bit shabby (as expected, for the price). Shower smelled of mildew. Free newspapers and magazines in lobby; free wi-fi in lobby. Nice front desk people. Great location. Just 10 minutes from V&A. On bus lines.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boba543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed at Kensington Rooms for two nights and the experience was very bad. The room was not at all like it was showed in the hotel´s website. It had a carpet that wasn´t very clean whch led to an allergy attack, the TV was very old, small, the image very poor and had only a few channels. The shower was very small and the water had no pressure, that in the first day, because on the 2nd I had no water! Only after insisting at the front desk, was I given an alternative: I had to take my things and take a shower in another room. The bed was also terrible. The whole experince was terrible!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salgadog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed at the Kensington Rooms on Sat 8th Sept. Well actually ended up the apartments owned by them apparently because the triple we had booked was not avaliable. So they took us to these apartments that were much better than the hotel(that was what we were told anyway). it was a five minutes walk away had no signage but looked ok. when we got inside wasnt really finished. There was paint pots dotted along the corridor, a dust sheet and a ladder. When we got to our room it had a double bed and a sofa bed. Not really a triple room. The problems in the room were; hairs in the shower, scratch marks all over the walls, hairdryer didnt work, a sofa bed that no person could sleep on with out squeeky and nearly collasping. the worse thing we round though was the mouse trap under the sink. Not very reassuring.

At £150 you expect better standard that what we got and the service not good at all. when complained not much interest. when emailed replys were will get my supervisor to get in contact, that didnt happen. When rang hotel up said should have complained sooner and they will send another email. No luck at the moment.

Hotel not recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Been in the borough of Chelsea i expected much better. My business partner and myself booked a twin room/ensuite. The bathroom was no bigger than 6' long and 3' wide which housed a toilet, sink and a shower cubicle...imagine the picture? i could sit on the toilet wash my hands and shower my feet at the same time!!!! i have seen bigger bathrooms on a train!! the beds were in a line with a headboard separating them. Sorry could not recommend for any traveller. i have stayed in better youth hostels! Beware

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I left my colleague to book us into this hotel, and upon hearing he had spent £135 I thought it was a good deal... until I realised it was £135 per night. On first impression the exterior and the reception look well kept and modern, that all changes as soon as you get to your room. The bathroom was fitted to a very poor standard, the bathroom was tiny and the painted in window full of mildew. There were a couple of hairs in the shower cubible and the sink wasn't cleaned behind the taps. In the bedroom it was basic, which is fine, but it looked like the housekeeping had been neglected. The first thing I noticed was that the curtain wasn't attached to all its hooks on one side, and there were stains on the walls and carpets. In the corner of the room was the smallest CRT television I had seen since my parents bought me my first set in the 80s. One of the wardrobe doors wouldn't open because it banged into the 'door closer' mechanism on the room door. For the price we paid I wasn't very pleased.

The only thing positive thing about my stay was the breakfast. It was a little slow but they cook everything fresh for you, and you can have your eggs any way you want, and they were perfectly cooked. There is also cereal, yoghurt, juice, toast, tea and coffee and everything else you would expect, so I couldn't complain there. Also they have a 24hr reception so the front door is always open and you can leave your room key with them in case you are worried about losing it whilst you are out. There are also communal irons and boards on the landings which I found useful.

Overall for the money, I would not stay here again as I know you can get a lot better for the money (and less) in this area. If the rooms had been maintained and cleaned properly I would give this place a 3. Shame really, but it wouldn't take a lot to improve the standard.

If anyone is thinking of booking here, I would check out the Wigmore down the road on Gloucester Place. You pay a lot less for a much bigger and cleaner (if a little more floral) room.

Room Tip: Book at the Wigmore down the road, the rooms are a little chintzier but you can pay a lot less for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#494 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#614 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#379 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#165 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#773 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#719 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Rooms

Property: Kensington Rooms
Address: 131-137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,009 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully restored Victorian town houses, combines contemporary decor with original period features; Kensington District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Kensington Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Rooms Hotel London
Kensington Rooms London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing