We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuk - stay clear”
Review of Kensington Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kensington Rooms
Ranked #992 of 1,067 Hotels in London
London
1 review
“Yuk - stay clear”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Not good value for the money. Service is slow at best at check in, halls are not clean, rooms are tiny, the cromwell road noisy (yes you hear everything), the coffee machine plug cant reach the wall without great effort, the desk chair has soiling in the crotch area (yes of real), the phone is teetering on the bed headboard (what should happen in the night if it fell on my head). The blinds are cracked all over the place. Substandard for the money - consider it just a bed. Say AWAY.

Room Tip: Keep looking there is better out there. This is a hotel screaming I DONT GIVE A DAMM. Dont be fooled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    91
    149
    138
    267
See reviews for
122
212
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

A three star hotel?!? Not likely... This is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. The cleaning is a joke (non existing), the rooms are over expensive and tiny, the breakfast selection is boring and the staff probably slept through customer service lessons. Even if the hotel was rated two stars and the rooms were half the prize I wouldn't go here.

Room Tip: If you are so unlucky that you have to stay here, ask for a room not facing the street - or you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofialind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Preston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had little time to find a hotel after a change of venue for Leonard Coen's concert, which meant we were in London during the Paralympics closing weekend. All the hotels seemed too expensive or without en suite facilities, so we were pleased to find this hotel.The location was perfect (2mins from Gloucester Rd tube station). The room was clean, well decorated, but very small, you almost fell out of bed into the bathroom! the bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were lumpy. The toiletries were minimal and the towels small.
Breakfast was not included but we pre booked continental breakfast which was adequate, but little choice of fruit or pastries.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
I would stay again, but not in an economy room and would miss breakfast, as there are plenty of reasonably priced eateries within a very short distance from the hotel. Tip take ear plugs the road is very noisy and there is no air conditioning in the hotel so we needed the windows open!

Room Tip: Try a room high up or at the back, Cromwell Rd never sleeps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashtonnelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Booked two rooms one double and one twin which as far as I am aware means two separate beds but no separation tried 3 other rooms but all the same price was what I would have expected for London safe in room didn't work and no attempt was made to make it work even after asking

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fazzledazzled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayes middlesex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Bed was the best comfort ever - had 8 pillows and it was so soft - lots of funky colours, staff were friendly too - its in a easy to find location and has some nice bussing bars near by, dont touch the sweets in reception, they are not sweets, they are stones

Room Tip: upgrade for a better eperiance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It is my worse nightmare ever, it cost me 128 pounds per night, and I though it should be a not bad hotel for this price, but when I arrived, I was completely shock!! it was worse than a cheap motel in Macao! the room they gave me makes me feel like I'm in a rehab! the only window was facing a wall!! and that blonde hair white b at the front desk had gave me an attitude too!! it's my bad luck I guess, last week before I went to Paris I was staying at the 'RE Shoreditch hotel' in Hackney, it was like Heaven (RE) and Hell (Kensington rooms)

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonjing K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Booked fairly short notice and paid £95 in total, breakfast not included. Upon arrival the reseption staff seemed sedated and uninterested. Room was very small, nice bed however. Bathroom is tiny and dated and to plug the kettle in you have to unplug the tv. All in all nothing nothing disastrous but no where near worth the fee, stayed in a couples hostel which was just as good.

Helpful?
Thank lilbutters10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#641 of 1,067 in London
34 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#502 of 1,067 in London
403 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#177 of 1,067 in London
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#710 of 1,067 in London
1,038 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#352 of 1,067 in London
2,033 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#650 of 1,067 in London
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Rooms

Property: Kensington Rooms
Address: 131-137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #992 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully restored Victorian town houses, combines contemporary decor with original period features; Kensington District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Rooms Hotel London
Kensington Rooms London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing