We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington West Hotel
Ranked #767 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Have just spent 2 nights at the Kensington West and have no idea why there are so many bad reviews on here. First things first, the location was great, only 5 mins walk from West Kensington train station and 5-10 mins walk from Kensington High Street. Secondly, the staff were friendly and helpful. Thirdly the room was very clean, comfy bed and had a good shower- what more could you ask for, especially at this price!Our room was very small, which is my only mild piece of negative feedback but was certainly not enough to put me off going back!If you want the Ritz, go there, but if you want a great value, clean and comfy place to stay with a nice location then go here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kayleigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Reception - Sales and Operations at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We thank you for your valuable feedback.

It was a pleasure to serve you during your recent visit.

We thank you for sharing your experience and recommending us highly. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the location, service and accommodation at our hotel. We would love to welcome you again.

Greetings and good wishes from all of us at Kensington West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 463 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Me and my daughter used this as a base to go to olympia for Got to dance, it is a five minute walk away. Rooms are basic but clean. Booked a double room but got bunks and a single so good job I wasn't with hubby. Only one plug socket in the room which isn't enough when u have two phones, ipod and hair straighteners to use and charge. Could benefit from tea making facilities in roomsvas although there is a machine at reception there is only powdered milk for tea....yuk!! Nice and clean though and fairly priced and did the job for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cazub4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you liked the location and the accommodation. We endeavour to give our guests a nice clean room to stay in while they are away from their homes. We monitor all our reviews as this help us better our services based on our guest’s experiences at the Kensington West. We noted your comment about only having one plug socked and now have in place a few expandable cables which can be provided to our guests upon request. (Subject to availability)

We offer complementary hot beverages at reception throughout your stay with us. This includes Hot Chocolate, Cafe Late, Cafe mocha, cappuccino, expresso, tea and coffee. It is known that a lot of our guests are Lactose Intolerant, thus we do provide coffee and tea whitener as a norm. Most of our hot beverages are dispensed from our machine, which has milk added to the drinks.
I am sorry to hear that you were not given a double room. I personally looked into the matter; it was a mere over sightedness from our side which we apologies for, if the front desk was made aware of this situation soon after check in, we could have immediately rectified this for you.

We hope to welcome you back to the Kensington West in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was nice to be there but at this price when you have to add extra expenses to get access to the gym and to get Internet I think it's not fair.
It's a bit far from the center but you can take tube or taxi so it's ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CyrilParis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kensington West and for taking out time to review us. We are glad to know that you found us to be a nice hotel.

Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in our area, and we feel we give good and fair value given our location having very good connectivity with all parts of London. We are situated just 3 minutes’ walk from West Kensington underground station on the district line having direct connectivity to almost all the major attractions such as the Natural History museum, the Science museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Big Ben, St Paul's Cathedral and the Tower of London. All of which our guests can get to using the district line.

Free wireless internet is provided to all our guests throughout their stay with us, meaning you can lie flat on your bed browsing the world wide web whilst playing music on our flat screen TV's.

We hope to welcome you again to the Kensington West in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

we have just come home from there after spending 3 nights,it wasnt as bad as i thought it was going to be after reading some of the reviews,yes the rooms are small and there were 5 of us,but all we wanted was somewhere to sleep after a day sight seeing,and thats exactly what we got! the only downside we found was the heating,we turned it right down and it was still red hot,and made a noise throughout the night! we had to keep the window open all night,all in all its a 2 star hotel and thats exactly what you get,the staff were very polite and helped us with any problems we had (apart from the heating) would defo use it again as its close to the tube and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Donna,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Kensington West,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, apart from the heating in your room being too hot which has been informed to our maintenance team.

We are glad to hear that our reception team were polite and helpful. We take pride in ensuring that our guests get the service that they expect when they are away from their homes.

We hope to welcome you to the Kensington West again in the near future

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in 2012. Barely room to step around the bed. Can reach the door from the bed. Had to walk past the bathroom door to open it because the room was so small that you couldn't get the door to swing completely open. Breakfast? Should have saved my money and hit the corner store on Hammersmith instead.
Hotel? No. B&B? No. Just a bunch of closets along barely lit hallways. Staff was rude.

Room Tip: As far as i know from talking to other guests, there were no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbv9415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we take your feedback very seriously.

We believe that guests should be given the choice of where to have their breakfast and thus we do not have a breakfast room on premises. There are many near by cafe's where our guests can have a hearty breakfast. We used to sell a continental premier breakfast packs however we have now discontinued this and all of our rooms are sold as room only and thus breakfast is not inclusive in any of our room rates.

Kensington West is trying to act greener and thus our corridor lights work on a sensor and thus as you walk down the corridor the lights come on. I do apologize that this was not to your satisfactory requirement.

The team at Kensington West Endeavour our promise to make your stay COMFORTABLE, FRIENDLY AND PLEASURABLE and provide the service that is expected by our guests. You just have to ask the team of Kensington West if you have any further requirements that they may be able to help you with.

Your comment that the staff were rude will be relayed back to the team in our team meetings to ensure this does not come up again for any future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked with a group of 11 persons (I was the single) from 1 tot 4 nov 2012.
We pay for the double rooms 345 £ each and for the single (with 2 beds) the same. So far so good buth it isn't normal that I also pay for 2 breakfasts while I was alone.

The breakfast from 8 tot 9 is chaotic (to litle room).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our rooms are mainly available on a room only basis. Some third party sites offer breakfast as an additional extra. I am unable to locate your reservation to investigate further however it seems you had booked a twin room which accommodates 2 adults and thus had booked in 2 breakfasts. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in this area, and we feel we give good value given our central location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This B&B was what We'd expect of a 2 or 3 star hotel in central London. The outside was nicely kept and the rooms were clean though small (again what we're used to in London). We only stayed here for one night whilst attending Volleyball at Earl's Court, which is a few minutes ride away on the nearby tube station West Kensington.
We declined the breakfast as we didn't fancy crisps first thing in the morning! But a small Sainsbury's on the corner sell fresh pastries, croissants etc. I was annoyed at having to pay really inflated prices for the olympics (more than double what I'd usually pay for a similar room in London) but I guess greed is the name of the game for London hoteliers too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jofar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We at Kensington West appreciate your feedback which aids us in bettering out services to future guests. During the Olympic period our pricing was comparable to similar properties in this area, and we feel we give good value given our central location. We hope to welcome you again to the Kensington west in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#498 of 1,077 in London
385 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington Court Hotel
Kensington Court Hotel
#813 of 1,077 in London
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#752 of 1,077 in London
668 reviews
Simply Rooms & Suites
#618 of 1,077 in London
250 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#978 of 1,077 in London
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington West Hotel

Address: 25-27 Matheson Road, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #767 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $29 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington West Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington West is situated in the heart of stylish London, Kensington. Just a 3 minute walk from Olympia exhibition centre & within easy reach to Kensington High Street, boasting many restaurants, bars, shops & a cinema. Kensington West offers good-value en-suite bedrooms, all of which have free WI-FI, flat screen LCD TVs, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, ample power outlets and in-room tea & coffee facilities. We also offer a lift to all floors and a friendly 24-hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kensington West
Kensington West London
Kensington West Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing