We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most horrible front desk service ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avni Kensington Hotel
Ranked #723 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Reception people have absolutly no idea what service means and some people are directly rude. Would never stay there again neither recomend it to anybody.
Rooms are very small and interior poor, but okay for the price.
Breakfast very basic - only toast, cornflakes and some fruits.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 night and thought the hotel was perfect for our needs. There are resturants, a grocery store and public transportation only a few blocks away. The hotel is also on a residental street, so very quiet. The breakfast was basic, but nice that it was included in our stay (a cup of coffee and some fruit/cereal/toast was enough fuel to get going in the morning). It also was a pretty short cab ride away from Buckingham Palace and other major London attractions.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dem068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was the second stay for my partner and I.

This place is well priced, given the location. The room was quite spacious, for London, and had everything we needed, including free Wifi.

Ten minutes walk to Gloucester Road tube and conveniently located for the V&A, Science and Natural History museums.

I see no reason we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17thousandkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have just returned from London, having stayed one night in a twin room - 503. The room was spacious and very clean. The en-suite shower room was spacious and immaculate. The room was very wam all the time, and the breakfast was more than adequate. The staff were very helpful. We couldn't have wished for a more pleasant stay. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors were quiet, and recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfcfcamb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great location in close proximity to gloucester tube on picadilly line with direct access to heathrow airport. Room small, broken shower, draught from windows and central heating switched off late at night. 0verall clean sheets but cigarette stench coming from chain smoking reception staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Location is very good but there are a lot of other places nearby. It was nice to have a tray with tea and hot water heater but it was larger than the space it was put in and we had to remove it in order to pass through the 10 inches between the bed and the wall to get to the second bed.

Minuscule room 301. No place to put suitcases. 1 straight back chair. Toilet so close to the shower you had to sit sideways. At least the bathroom was reasonably clean but the shower head leaked water everywhere.

Telephone did not work during the entire stay even though we asked for repair. Business contacts could not reach the room but talked to the front desk did not even bring up the messages that anyone called. Was hours late for meetings about which I did not receive messages.

The heating system went out for 2 and a half days (5 night stay) although the manager said it was shorter. No hot water, no heat (November). The manager said afterwards in an email that they offered electric heaters and extra blankets to their guests but after pleading for help from the front desk, we were not offered these items. The last night we were finally moved to a room with a different heating system but my colleague had to sleep on the floor as there was just one single bed.

The manager offered a small disount on the room when we should have been fully refunded as we did not even receive the basic needs we paid for and our health was put to risk.

There’s more but no one would believe this.

Room Tip: Wonderful neighborhood near Gloucester Road station and Earl's Court. Walked by many small hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sholverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Location is reasonably good.
Depressing interior, especially dining room.
Breakfast was very basic.
Room was really small.
Bathroom was tiny , especially shower cubicle.
No much space for luggage and personal belongings .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tala L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#736 of 1,076 in London
675 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#668 of 1,076 in London
873 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#442 of 1,076 in London
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#438 of 1,076 in London
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avni Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avni Kensington Hotel

Address: 40-44 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #723 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $65 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avni Kensington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with multilingual staff set in Edwardian style building dating from 1900; situated two miles from Victoria Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Avni Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Kensington London
Avni Kensington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing