We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff, pokey rooms, PANTS!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington International Hotel

Kensington International Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kensington International Hotel
Ranked #925 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Hastings, East Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rude staff, pokey rooms, PANTS!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

The hotel location is FAB, and Kensington is a great place to stay, however the staff are very rude and unfriendly and the rooms are pokey and limited. The bathroom was a little grubby too.

How this hotel got 3 stars I have no idea. Its also massively overpriced. You can find a much better deal elsewhere.

  • Liked — The great location
  • Disliked — The rude and unfriendly staff - they barely said 2 words to us!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killakellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    5
    9
    9
See reviews for
1
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cannock Staffs UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed here 30th Dec 2007-03rd Jan 2008.
I cant believe its called a hotel it was more like staying at a hostel.....! The best thing was the location like other people say its ideal for going in and out for your sightseeing trips.Earls court tube is 2mins away,and all you have to purchase is a zone 1-2 oyster card for the transport.

The bad things.....

1.loose tiles on bathroom floor
2.Lights not working plus Dangerous.
3.Bedroom Carpet/Hotel Carpet Dirty...Bedroom didnt appear
to get vacuumed.
4.Toilet space and shower space very small,if you are of larger build you will have no chance of sitting down on the toilet.
5.Breakfast very basic,toast always undercooked.Warm Bread!!!
6.Handrails leading up to the hotel entrance very insecure.

How this Hostel/Hotel Passes the Health and Safety Checks required is beyond belief........

We only spent 1 hour a day maximum in the room to get changed thank god for that.

So if you want location its not bad.....
otherwise if you want a decent standard hotel forget this one.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirtiness/unclean
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Salvador
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

Unfriendly people, too small rooms, dangerous elevator (close the door without advise), blocked fire alarm, too smal bathroom, very poor breakfast, a nightmare!
the web page is a lie! No more than a half of star!
AVoid! Avoid Avoid!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hal9001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

First of all, I must admit I didn't check any comments on the hotel before booking. It was planned in a hurry this trip and I trusted the booking company when they oferred us this 4 stars hotel (this is the category of the hotel on our booking mail). Seeing the other comments, I alredy consider myself a lucky traveler as I didn't have problems with the shower and the room wasn't in the basement! But still, this was the tiniest room I have ever been with the perfect match in the shower. There were max 30 cm between the bed and the front wall and of course, to take advantage of all space, they had to place the tea cup's support on the same wall. In order to pass sideways and also hunchbacked through that area. Yes, the sheets were clean, but I took a look before leaving under the bed and I was horrified to see rests of food, wrapping of candies and the dust floating like they didn't passed the vacuum cleaner for 2 months at least! Anyway, disgusting to see that after spending 3 nights in that room. We also had the fire alarm on Sun morning at 6 am and when we asked at the reception what was that they said it's normal to test it from time to time! Breakfast was very simple: coffee, milk, cereals and toast. It's good that is close to bus station streight to Marble Arch and metro. Overall, I wouldn't repeat the experience. I should have imagined why their website is so cheap and they don't have any photos of the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GiaRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

The bathroom was tiny, too small to swing a cat! had to turn sideways to get in to the shower as the toilet was blocking the door from opening fully. The water pressure/temperataure was dodgy to say the least, was scalding hot one minute, freezing cold the next, and more like standing under a tap as opposed to a shower. The bathroom could have also done with a good clean, the hair dryer was so ancient i was too scared to use it. Only plus point was the bed sheets were clean and the bed comfortable, Would not recommend and would never ever stay there again, if you paid me. The hotel had not been refurbished, to any degree and i certainly would not class it a a luxury hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bean184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

A short walk from the Earl's Court TUBE stop. It was easy to get to every major attraction from this location and it was all in zone 1 which saves you $. The front desk staff was not cheery and not a good first impression. The room was small but not uncomfortable (unless you bring tons of luggage.) There was no AC in our room but the window cooled it off nicely and its not like London gets that hot anyway. The breakfast staff/cleaning staff was much more polite. Breakfast was toast cereal, juice, and fruit cocktail from a can with tea. Internet access was great if you have wireless they give you the password and you can us it in the dining room. The hallways and elevator get stuffy because there aren't any windows and the elevator often stops at every floor even if no one pushed the button. I would stay there again for the great location.

  • Liked — Easy access to Tube
  • Disliked — Front desk clerks
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank adenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

small room, i was in the fifth floor, the room was clean and the service well. the breakfast was very simple: coffee, cereals, toast

in the photos you have a vision of the room.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank newbie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#843 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#414 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#656 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Enterprise Hotel
Enterprise Hotel
#781 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#572 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#540 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington International Hotel

Property: Kensington International Hotel
Address: 4 Templeton Place | Earl's Court, London SW5 9LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #925 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late-19th-century gracious Victorian - 2 minutes from Earls Court Statfon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kensington International London
Hotel Kensington International
Kensington International Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing