We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, clean room and amazing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Ranked #89 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed for one night in room 103, yes we heard the deliveries in the morning but this did not effect our stay, fantastic room decor, bed only a double size, and very high, shame no bath. Breakfast choice is amazing so try and get a rate that includes it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cherrygem008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

The room was small but fully refurbished to a good standard. The staff was helpful but some had a fairly simple knowledge of English. This created a few misunderstandings, which did annoy. Perhaps if their employees were better paid, customers would also have a better experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Snufkinn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff and staying in our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience our service level has caused you and truly sorry for the poor customer care you have encountered. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and you can be confident that corrective measures will be taken to improve our guest services.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A friend had recommended the Hotel Indigo as a nice hotel and less expensive than many - she was spot on. It appeared as though the hotel was new or newly renovated. My room was large for London standards and the bath towels were large and fluffy! It was also colorfully decorated and the shower was large with plenty of counter space. As others have said, it is less than a 5 minute walk from the tube station and there are pubs, as well as a M&S food shop off the corner. It was nice to have a few complimentary drinks and munchies in the mini bar. I did not try the restaurant so can't comment on the food. I would have ranked this a 5 but I like a softer mattress but that might be me. For the price, comfort, service and location, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Hotel Indigo is exceptional. The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable, and the breakfasts are the best I’ve ever had in London. And as an added bonus, it’s just two minutes (if that) from Earl’s Court tube station.

Our visit began badly. We were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary, and had booked a suite large room for ourselves and our two young children. The booking agent had messed up, and we had been given two different rooms. Not adjoining. With young children, that wasn’t going to work. However, the staff took it in their stride. “Why don’t you have a complementary breakfast while we work something out.” Did I mention their breakfasts are the best in London?

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is in a quiet location but just around the corner from Earl's Court tube station - so perfect. The reception staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and professional and our room (on the 3rd floor) was, although smallish, clean, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was good with a great shower. We did have a job cooling the temperature a little, but nothing we couldn't cope with.

Our experience of the Mansion Bar and Restaurant which we first encountered for breakfast on the first morning wasn't so good. The breakfast meals, when they came, were fine, although I was disappointed with the selection of the continental breakfast. The service wasn't speedy and it wasn't clear whether we should be seated as although several staff saw us waiting, none of them acknowledged us. There was some communication issues with the waiting staff and the wrong breakfast was brought. The correct one didn't arrive for another 20 minutes, by which time one of us had finished our breakfast.

But the breakfasts were OK. Our attempt at having an early evening meal was not so OK. I ordered duck leg which was more than crispy - it was rock hard and dry as a bone, completely inedible. It's a mystery to me why they thought anyone would eat it. It seemed as if it may have been left over from lunch, completely dried out and then served in the evening. We had little time so I couldn't send it back, just left it. When I mentioned it at the end, the staff were very understanding and apologetic. We weren't charged for the duck and were offered a complimentary drink.

It's a shame, because we thought the hotel was lovely and we would, and probably will, stay there again - but we won't use the restaurant.

The rating is for the hotel, not the restaurant. I would only give the restaurant 1 or 2, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynCBCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed with my Daughter for one night to visit the Ideal Home Exhibition and spend the weekend together for her birthday.
This delightful hotel was everything we wanted and more!
Tucked away in a side street just minutes from the tube at Earls Court, peaceful and quaint.
The rooms are not large but this is a city and like most city rooms anywhere in the world they are compact. But it made up for that in the lavish room we had! Everything was complimented well, the bed was huge and very comfy, the bathroom had a huge walk in shower with large fluffy towels and incidentals. There was a free mini bar and fluffy dressing gowns. A large tv and tea and coffee making facilities. I certainly couldn't fault anything at all.
On arrival we were greeted by the Ladies and our bags were taken to our room, as it was my Daughters birthday they left a huge plate with several different types of delicious cakes and a birthday card for her. A really lovely touch!
Breakfast the following morning was plentiful and equally as delicious!
Thee are plenty of restaurants, pubs and cafés to eat nearby too, and a great place to stay if you're needing to get into London.
I will certainly return here without any hesitation.
A grand place to stay and thank you to all the staff for making it so special.

Room Tip: Good connections into London from Earls Court, a great hotel with everything to offer. In a quiet si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayqueen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is well placed not too far from Earls court tube station. There are a lot of pubs and restaurants near. The rooms are well kept and furnished, and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The one area that have to learn to get right is breakfast ! When it arrived (eventually) it is very nice - but you will wait a long time, and you will be offered a selection of the other customers plates as well. In the area we were sat, around 6 tables were all offered and turned away the first offering because they were not theirs. And a second cup of coffee - forget that, never arrived - each day ! Indigo management sort your breakfast process and you will have a great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,076 in London
3,880 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#174 of 1,076 in London
3,491 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Kensington

Address: 34-44 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in London
#51 Business Hotel in London
#82 Romantic Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $129 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Garden London
Hotel Indigo London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing