We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Ranked #89 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I Stayed here for two nights with my wife as a Platinum Priority Club member. My two nights were booked under separate reservations, to avoid confusion I rang reservations prior to arrival, and informed the receptionist upon arrival, who assured me that we would remain in the same room for the duration. We arrived back on day two to a rude and angry member of the cleaning staff who told us that we should have checked out already. We went to reception only to find the staff there also implying that the fault was ours. The issue was resolved in the end but spoiled our stay.

Shame as the hotel itself was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Steve,

Please could you email me on the below email address so that I can look into this further for you.

As you will see from previous comments we are very serious about ensuring that we meet the expectations of our IHG Rewards Members and go above and beyond to say thank you for their loyalty.

Making a stay on two separate reservations is also extremely common and something that we deal with daily so again I am very confused as to why your room was moved as it would have been apparent for housekeeping that you had not checked out as your belongings would have been in the room?

Please be in touch so I can investigate this further.

Kind Regards,

Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,412 - 1,418 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel blends quirky with luxury to get a winning combination with staff who strike a good balance between friendly and professional, and always helpful.

Having been refurbished recently the hotel is in excellent condition, and feels modern and fresh, despite being a Victorian building.

Highlights of the bedrooms are the free minibar, that includes crisps, mars bars, coke, and depending on your room level, fruit bowls, wine or even champagne(!)

The beds are comfortable, although have more cushions than as a single male traveller I think are strictly necessary.

A Bose sound system lets you listen to TV whilst you're in the shower which is great for keeping abreast of the news whilst your limited for time. The showers are excellent, but you may be out of luck if you like a bath unless you go for a top end room.

It seems a small thing but as a business traveller I really appreciate the top quality iron - no annoying cheap hotel irons that leave my shirts creased.

Desk space is good for working and a number of rooms offer a comfortable chair or two that are great to flop out in.

Location is good for West, South and Central London. It's on a quiet side street off the busy Earls Court road and a number of rooms enjoy views of the shared garden for the mansion block opposite. The rooms at the back are quietest (practically silent) whilst the ground floor front rooms can be a bit noisier, but nothing too distracting.

The restaurant offers a decent range of food and prices: if you are on a budget the Bar menu (as opposed to restaurant menu) offers the best value for money. Alternatively there are loads of options within a few minutes walk.

Downsides:
- Having stayed several times, some rooms are smaller than others. I find this is pretty typical of buildings of this era and Londin hotels in general. Most rooms are a reasonable size.

- The gym is limited, one treadmill, one bike, weights and aerobic mats. On the plus side the machines are all new and of reasonable quality.

- The advertised "multi-media connections" that allow you to connect your PC or other device to the TV via VGA or HDMI doesn't seem to be installed properly yet.

Overall a great choice for staying in zone 2, with quick and easy transport to the south, west and central London.




  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stmills-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for a week - Great location (nice neighborhood and very close to the tube), stylish rooms. Rooms are to be considered too small in any international standard, but for London they are okay (surprisingly big bathroom, though). Everything works just fine, and it was very clean. Free Wifi, strong signal and good speed.

Overpriced. We payed about 450 USD per night. In most places you can get a luxury hotel at that rate. In London you get a quite modest one. The rate didn't even include breakfast.

All in all - a good experience and good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear agal15

Thank you for leaving a review. I am so glad you like the neighbourhood of the hotel, we have found out so much about its history and what it has to offer and it really is a great location. All the rooms are different shapes, sizes, different views etc. so if you have a preference please email me prior to your arrival.

Our rates are always in line with those of other 4* deluxe boutique hotels, however depending on the time of year, what is happening in London and when you choose to book the rates can vary. We guarantee the best price is on our website www.ihg.com.

We hope that you visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brooke
fohmanager@hotelindigokensington.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights in June. It was very easy to find and has some super eateries at their doorstep. The interior is funky - room was small but adequate. I wouldn't recommend you eat or drink here. Overly priced.

Room Tip: It helps if you are a IHG member. You will get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAHDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear JAHDublin,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback of your experience. The rooms are all different shapes and sizes as the hotel is a beautiful Victorian building.

Our Mansion Bar is popular for its extensive cocktail book serving up molecular and carbonised cocktails and great twists on the old favourites. Our prices are extremely competitive for the area and we only use good quality fresh ingredients. We are lucky being in Earl’s Court and close to Kensington that whatever you are looking for we will have it on our doorstep but if you do have time to chat with our mixologists and try our cocktails I am sure you would not be disappointed!

One of the benefits of being a Platinum IHG Rewards Member is a complimentary upgrade based on availability as these are our most loyal guests and it is our way of saying thank you. We do also extend this benefit whenever we can to all of our members as an added bonus when they check in. To become an IHG Rewards Member please speak to reception on check-in.

Kind Regards,

Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were quite happy with our stay at Hotel Indigo, which was booked by Lisa Zwissler at Beach Bum Vacation. Lisa did a wonderful job of selecting a hotel that was suited for us. We wanted free wi-fi as well as a good location close to public transit. Hotel Indigo fit our criteria. It's located right across the street from the Earl's Court tube stop. It's a nice little place on a side street; the rooms were clean and offered basic amenities that you'd expect in a hotel. The staff was very helpful and quick to respond to our needs, especially considering we had never been to London and didn't know our way around at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We got a good deal at this hotel, which is a relatively new property in an excellent location very close to the Earl's Court underground station.

A lot of thought has gone into the design of the hotel, and there is a 'boutique' style to everything that aims to fool you into thinking that this is a one-off rather than part of an international chain, and is largely successful in doing so. Certainly a big improvement on the cookie cutter approach that the chains often take.

Rooms are small, as expected in London, but well designed with space under the bed for suitcases. The bathroom is very modern.

Staff on our visit were friendly and helpful, and food was equally well thought out, in keeping with the design of the hotel, and good quality.

In all a very enjoyable experience and highly recommended assuming the price is right.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel directly across the street from Earls Court Tube Station. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the view overlooks a lovely park area. The service is very good for the most part, breakfasts are great with a sit-down option and continental style as well. Mini bar items are all free, which is refreshing.


Reasons for not marking excellent:

1. Showers are beautiful with a half pane of glass and no door. The result is a flooded bathroom floor.

2. On two occasions I had to convince them that our room included breakfast.
3. One morning our taxi, which hotel had arranged for us, was late. The staff couldn't find the phone number.

4. Staff didnt know a lot about the area.
5. We loved our first floor room but the lighting was very dim in both the bathroom and living area. I couldn't see to put my make up on. They gave us another room on second floor that had much better lighting and more lamps.

I would definitely stay here again. I look forward to exploring more Hotel Indigos in other cities.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfox12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,076 in London
3,881 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#174 of 1,076 in London
3,491 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Kensington

Address: 34-44 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in London
#51 Business Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
#82 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $129 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Garden London
Hotel Indigo London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing