We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good looking hotel but didnt like the way things are run!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Ranked #87 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
riyadh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good looking hotel but didnt like the way things are run!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

After reading many good reviews on trip advisor i decided to head to the indigo hotel with my 5 year old and my mother for two nights.
Upon arriving i reminded the very friendly receptionist that i requested an extra bed for my daughter through booking.com. They informed me that they only have baby cots, which of course was not adequate for my 5 year old. So they offered me an upgrade to a junior suite with a large sofa to be used as an extra bed for an extra 50£/ night!! To my surprise, after upgrading they brought in an extra bed!! I thought they said they didn't have any extra beds!! So what does that mean!? I was not really happy to pay that extra 100£ for having a child in the room but i was tired after the flight and didn't want to argue so i accepted.
Apart from that incident the hotel overall was nice, clean rooms and excellent location.
Staff were all very friendly and tried their best to accommodate our requests. Breakfast buffet was average but the waiters failed to explain that most dishes were to be ordered from the menu.
I would recommend this hotel to a couple for a solo traveller but not for a family.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank layla_november
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear layla_november,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased that you have mentioned our friendly staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. I would also like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced over the rates. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    461
    86
    22
    12
See reviews for
201
821
117
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked this hotel for three days for our first visit to London. It is a lovely hotel ... very clean, comfortable and central. We liked the hardwood floors; the bed was comfortable and the linen was luxurious. Even the side chair was comfortable! THe bathroom was modern, with a large shower.We were especially pleased with the little extras such as free wi-fi and complementary mini-bar. The staff was friendly and helpful.
THe location is fantastic. Earls Court Station is minutes away for easy access to any place we wanted to go. It was so easy taking the tube to Heathrow with our luggage.
We ate a fantastic breakfast at Bencho on Earls Court Road and would have returned for dinner if we had more time. We also enjoyed the Chinese Restaurant which is right around the corner from the Hotel. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaHonoraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Is this really a London hotel?

Free WiFi; free mini bar, friendly staff, sensible bar prices and a tastefully furnished quiet and ventilated room. By pre-booking I secured a reasonable room rate (for London).

More like an up market B&B, which I mean in a positive way and as a compliment, as of course Indigo is part of a IHG, a major hotel chain.

Very comfortable bed, in a room furnished to create an impression that is far from the usual chain hotel. Small but adequate and cleverly designed bathroom with a powerful shower.

I would certainly stay again, I just hope it stays as it is, reasonable prices and all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OleDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I booked this hotel as a birthday present for my fiancé - we had a party in the evening for our engagement. It is a 2 minute walk from Earls Court Station which was great.

I had told him we were staying at a budget hotel - the look on his face when he saw this hotel was priceless.

The art on all the walls including the reception is fantastic. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Each room is individual. Reasonably big for a Central London location with a complementary mini-bar. The bed was really comfortable.

The food at the restaurant was nice - we had dinner and our breakfast was included. Having researched a lot - this hotel was cheaper than many others and I can't believe it.

Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay for more than 1 night - but at least check out was at midday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinytravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Agree with other reviews and would highly recommend. Modern, clean and with lots of extras - would go again. Had a suite which had a nice comfy lounge and a bed area. Very good shower. No bath but didn't bother us!

Had breakfast in the pub on the corner - wouldn't recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whateverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is genuinely fantastic.

It's very conveniently located, being only a stones throw away from the very well connected Earl's Court Underground station.

It is serviced by amazing and attentive staff.

The room is beautifully furnished, very well cleaned, and very well stocked including hairdryers and irons as standard, a great sound system, air conditioning that isn't centrally set, and a free minibar providing you refreshments to enjoy as you read the complimentary magazines by the beautiful bay window.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProjectApollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

As a Platinum priority club member, I got upgraded to room 502 on the top floor. There are only 2 rooms on this floor (the lift only goes to the floor below). The upgrade was a nice start!

I really liked this hotel. On the whole, I think hotels in London are extremely poor value, however this hotel is not. The decor is classy and as the hotel only opened a few months ago, it's still in great condition.

Location: only a few minutes walk from Earl's Court tube station. The hotel is situated on a quiet side street but Earls Court road (20 seconds walk) has all the shops, restaurants, coffee shops, pubs that you will need. A great combination.

Room: big comfy bed, well laid out, great decor etc. There's also a FREE minibar with snacks and FREE wifi. More hotels need to follow this example instead of charging extortionate amounts of these amenities.

The only slight negative that I'll point out is that the room doesn't have a bath. Not an issue for me though.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toddy0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Toddy0011

I am so glad to receive such a positive review from one of our most loyal priority club guests. As a platinum member you must have stayed in many hotels so to know that you enjoyed your time with us is fantastic news. To recognise your loyalty we also hand pick your room and offer upgrades to Executive Rooms and Junior Suites whenever possible.

The location you are right is the “best combination” being so close to Earl’s Court tube station whilst set back from the busy street enjoying a quieter hotel with nice views over Barkston Gardens.

We really want our guests to feel like they have received value for money so that is why we do not charge for the minibar in the rooms and the wifi as these are both things that we believe our guest will want during their stay and would make a huge difference.

It is a brand standard for all Hotel Indigo hotels to have spa inspired walk in showers and no baths as guest research showed that was the majority’s preference. However we do actually have 3 rooms with bathtubs so if this is something that you would like for your stay then please email me before so that I can pre-allocate one of these rooms.
fohmanager@hotelindigokensington.co.uk

Thank you again for leaving such a positive review and we do hope you return in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#55 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#125 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Kensington

Property: Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Address: 34-44 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in London
#57 Family Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
#82 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Garden London
Hotel Indigo London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing