We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great value and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Ranked #88 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great value and good location”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel, the rooms were lovely, very clean, warm and the bathroom was excellent. The staff we met were really friendly and we would definitely recommend this hotel.
One other small thing which impressed me, we have stayed at many 4 and 5 star hotels in many countries and although some have supplied a good hair dryer, Hotel Indigo was the first one to also supply a separate diffuser attachment, a must for my hair type especially on a wet and windy weekends in London, so thank you for that, next time we stay I will know not that I don't need to bring my own.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,137
    479
    90
    22
    12
See reviews for
211
854
123
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel Indigo, relatively new brand, has a great boutique style that fits into the local area/history and relates to the local area.
This hotel - is 3 months new which helps - is eager to please, excellent for leisure and business and a significant change to the normal corporate or chain type hotel.

Amazing decor across all public areas and in the rooms...almost a boudoir theme and all staff have badges and are called Lord or Lady XXXX etc.

Refreshing to see that creativity and innovation still exist in the hotel business - I am a regular traveller and a platinum IHG holder - but I see significant variability and inconsistency across ratings even within the same group. This hotel punches above its weight and is reasonably priced fo London.

This is a great hotel to stay for a few nights

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveyJ1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear DaveyJ1954,

I'm glad you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you like the style and decor we have portrayed throughout the hotel. The Victorian theme fits right in with our local neighbourhood as in the late 18th century we stood as Victorian Mansion houses.

We hope to have you stay with us again!

Kind Regards,

Emmi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here one Saturday night using priority points. Was fortunate enough to receive an upgrade to a junior suite. Every member of staff was super friendly from check in to restaurant staff. When we had a small problem working the room heating the manager came up straight away and helped us. Restaurant food was really interesting with great selection of small plates, like tapas. Interesting selection of english wines which they let us try before deciding. We loved staying here and would highly recommend it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaguarpaw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Jaguarpaw_10,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I'm glad you got the ability to experience one of our newly refurbished Junior Suites. We pride ourselves on delivering a great guest experience to anyone staying in our hotel and am glad our staff had a positive impact on your stay.

We have been trialing out different ways to run the restaurant over the past three months, and we've finally found a medium where guests can have both a restaurant meal or just bar snacks, if they prefer.

I hope we get the experience of looking after you again in the future.

Emmi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cumbria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the beginning of March - the hotel was beautiful and the staff exceptionally friendly. The bedrooms were gorgeous, (and quiet, except the hum of the air conditioners outside but that probably depends on your room) We had the privelidge of meeting the manager - Vince, he is such a lovely, genuine person, truly committed to his staff and the exceptional mangement of the hotel. I cannot recommend this hotel enough - I will definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCumbriaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear West Cubria Claire

Thank you for such a wonderful review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!

I will pass on your kind comments to Vince he will be so happy that all the staff you encountered were exceptionally friendly. He is a great boss too!


Thank you for recommending the hotel and we truly hope you will be back to visit us again!

Kind Regards,

Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My check-in at the Indigo didn't give a good start at my stay in the Indigo Earls Court.
As Platinum priority club member they upgraded me to an executive room (good!) which, unfortunately was in the basement (less good).
The basement itself isn't bad, but the room was so hot it felt like a sauna - really unpleasant. Since it's the basement, you can not open any windows - so I went back to change room.

They did not have any more executive rooms, so I accepted a standard room instead on the 3rd floor. The room itself was actually much nicer than the executive room I had before - so rather than a downgrade, it felt like an upgrade! However, this room (I believe 310?) did have such a weak wifi signal, my laptop could not connect to the internet at all.

No big deal, I will just change rooms again! This time, in another wing on the building. Great room, wifi works - but the room wasn't cleaned! Used towels, bed wasn't made and some mystery hairs on the toilet seat!

Went back to the reception, and got my 4th room. I enter - and buckets of paint everywhere! The room isn't even ready yet! Not sure how that ended up as a passable room in the system.

So back to reception, and asking for the 5th time for a room. The girls were genuinely ashamed of this, and someone came personally with me to show all the free rooms they had and they ended up giving me a suite instead for the trouble, which is a nice gesture.

Apart from that, everything else in the room was perfect. Beds are lovely - mattresses are rock hard - I like that; but I can imagine people might find it too much. Great shower, free in-room minibar, good shower amenities - and every day I got back from work there was a hot chocolate waiting for me in the room - a great gesture!
Design of the rooms is great and of course everything is brand new. Internet access is a bit slow - so room for improvement there.

All the staff in the hotel was friendly (without being too formal) and made me feel really welcome and is actually one of the highlights of the hotel.

One final complaint/remark is the breakfast. The food and drinks are made to order, and it can take a long time before getting it. Had to wait every day for at least 10 minutes before I even had a coffee - not convenient when you're on business and just want to take a quick breakfast. Food itself was good quality, but drinks were absolutely not. Coffee & espresso was way too watery, and orange juice came straight out of a carton box. For 20 pounds (!) they should serve better quality coffee and (fresh) juices!

Will definitely come back - my initial room 'problem' was for sure just bad luck, they did everything they can to 'fix' the problem - so my compliments for the staff.
Improve the breakfast and next time it's a 5/5 rating ;-)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diederik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear diederik82

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent stay here at the Hotel Indigo London – Kensington Earl’s Court.

I am glad that you were recognised for your platinum priority club status and upgraded, your loyalty is very important to us. I am sorry that your room on the lower floor was too hot, these rooms are actually some of the most spacious that we have in the hotel and extremely quiet and very popular with some of our regular guests. I am also glad that we changed your room as they are not to everyone’s preference and we want to make sure that we allocate a room that you are happy with.

The internet signal strength has been tested and approved throughout the hotel, so we are re-looking at this to ensure the signal is strong everywhere. There was an error with our system that allowed us to choose a room that was out of service and that was reported and rectified, I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I am so happy to hear that the employees were a highlight of the hotel and that they offered the junior suite to you, I am glad they are the reason you will return!

I will address your comments about the breakfast with the food and beverage manager. We have done research in the market against our breakfast offering and our price is very competitive. Fresh juice would be a great addition so I will pass that on! Like most hotels if you do want breakfast the most cost effective way is book a package with your room.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Indigo have done it again, another great hotel in a fantastic location... Just around the corner from Earls Court tube station, yet in a quiet road with very little traffic or noise. This was my first trip to an indigo where they didn't acknowledge my platinum priority membership or offer me an upgrade alhough the hotel was quiet, although my room was very good, only issue was the shower tray wouldn't empty quick enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear YorkshireTraveller72

That’s great to hear that Hotel Indigo hotels are your new favourite! We are so pleased that you came to stay at ours and enjoyed your stay. I have to say I am very surprised that your platinum membership was not recognised and as you will see from previous comments on here we go the extra mile to ensure that we upgrade our members whenever possible. If you would like I can look into your reservation in a bit more detail to ensure that we had your number on file and the points were awarded for your stay, and the Chief Engineer will have a look at the shower too! fohmanager@hotelindigokensington.co.uk

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards,

Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night (sat) and from start to finish was excellent! Staff were very welcoming and friendly and would accommodate your every request! We stayed in room 103 and even though the TV wasn't working we still had a great time and to every inch this is a boutique hotel....We were instantly offered a 25% discount! We have stayed in Mr & Mrs Smith hotels and this is definitely to that standard!
Complimentary mini bar is a great thing and also we returned after an evening out to find some cute,quirky pink pod flasks filled with hot chocolate and a little note to say, we hope this gives you a good nites sleep-what a fantastic touch! The decor is great and has everything you'd need,bed etc is very comfortable and shower big enough for more than two-we will definitely return on our next london visit :-)
Thank you to everyone at hotel indigo :-)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thecat222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear thecat222

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that the employees stood out to you! I am so glad that you enjoyed the delicious hot chocolate in the evening, you really can’t beat a hot drink before bed and we want to ensure that our guests have a great night sleep.

Thank you again for your fantastic feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next London visit! Drop us an email and we will allocate the same room again unless you want to try something different!

Kind Regards

Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,618 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Kensington

Property: Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Address: 34-44 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in London
#57 Family Hotel in London
#81 Luxury Hotel in London
#82 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Garden London
Hotel Indigo London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing