We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful!”
Review of Roland House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roland House
Ranked #300 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I stayed here in Sep 09 and the apartment itself was fine, reasonable for the price. However I made the booking about a month in advance for a 2 bedroom apartment for 6 people (friends and couples) and when i turned up they had made a mistake and tried to get me to accept 2 x studio rooms. 45 mins of argueing later and a refund for my trouble we HAD to accept 3 x studio rooms all located on different floors. Not good when we had gone there to celebrate a friends birthday. Just be carefull and argue your points if they try to fob you off! The apartments themselves were OK, a bit grubby but generally 3* standard.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 30 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights. When we arrived, the lift was broken and we had to carry our bags up 3 flights of stairs. The room had a dirty floor and window ledges, scuffed walls, broken safe, stuff left in drawers, dirty shower head, no hairdryer, stained bedding and one thin pillow each . There wasn't enough cockery/cutlery for 4 people and the kitchen had a grimy/greasy sheen to it. We asked for extra pillows but none arrived although they did provide a hairdryer and a key for the safe. The lift seemed to fix itself. There were no facilities for cleaning provided i.e. no fairy liquid, dish scourer, tea towels, floor mop and brush. When we ran out of toilet paper, we had to fight for a replacement. Most of the windows could open fully so are unsafe for familes with small children. The apartments are in dire need of refurbishing and their general maintenance is very poor i.e. wobbly tables, wobbly bed legs, broken window panes, broken window child locks, flat batteries on (dirty/cover missing) remote control. The only good thing about this place is it is fairly close to the tube!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejo3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

This is absolutely rubbish!!! A massive rip off!!! Stay away!!! The previous glowing reviews of this hotel are several years old and it would appear the management have very much changed for the worse. The website photos look way better than reality. Everything is much more tired and worn now.

We arrived with our 3 year old and 5 year old daughters at 11pm on a Saturday night. Our room was filthy. There was hair on the floor, old clothes tags in the wardrobes, rubbish in the bedside table drawers, the kitchen utensils were in need of washing, and the inside of the kettle was corroded. We had to chase up sheets for the kid's sofa bed and were given linen of questionable cleanliness (black marks on the doona, tears in the sheet, and a couple of blood spots on the sheet). At midnight I asked for toilet paper and was told that there was none and that I would have to go to the convenience store 5 minutes walk away to buy some.

On the plus side, the location is great, the curtains are great for shutting out the light, the high speed internet is good (but bring your own ethernet cable).

This hotel would be okay with a change in management and an upgrade in cleanliness standards. The current managers/owners appear to be taking a very cheap approach to how they run their hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrottingAndKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

stayed here with my parents and sibs - six in total. very comfortable, clean and well located near shops and restaurants in chelsea and south ken. a waitrose nearby so you can cook for yourself and save some money off expensive london restaurants. i'd like to go back with a group of friends. nice place.

  • Stayed: November 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
12
Reviewed April 5, 2006

I have to say, that this hotel is already closed – they sold it to some company, and Somerset Roland Gardens Serviced Apartments – no more. It’s not even a hotel anymore. It was nice to see you all in Roland Gardens, as I was one of the x-staff (Eastern European) :) night shift :)
And it’s true that this hotel was more like 3* not 4* star like some WebPages stated. However, if you liked this Serviced Apartments, try Somerset Queansgate Gardens Serviced Apartments near by.
And about the windows - its health and safety restrictions, that’s why you could not fully open any windows above ground flor.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2006

Stayed here w/ my mom in Sept 2005 – sorry for the late review! Booked as part of a go-today package ($1360 airfare from NYC & 6 nights hotel for 2 people - great deal), so I’m not sure what the normal rates are.

Room: Excellent. Decent-sized studio apt. Clean-line Ikea-type birch/chrome/green glass look throughout (some of the “official” Expedia pics are of a different property). I liked the décor – I would have suffocated in ruffled chintz. The kitchenette is very small but has everything needed for 4 people, plus small fridge (no freezer!), stovetop, toaster & electric kettle. Continental breakfast was left in the fridge for us every day – cereal, milk, juice, croissants, jam & butter. The bathroom is small but nice, with a great shower but FYI tub is high. No grab bars, but the heated towel rack is close. We used both the bed & fold-out sofa – for 2 people it was good, for more than that you’d be very cramped. Bonus: not only cable tv, but CD & DVD players. Kitchen table is small, and there are 2 chairs, not 4. There’s a desk as well, & shelves above. Closet is small; chest of drawers was ample. FYI: If you can’t find the hairdryer etc, try looking in that chest. Overall room condition was very good, except for the windows. They don’t open all the way, with some of the latches meant to limit how far they open being broken. That got irritating, especially as the room could get warm, even in September. (I don’t think there was A/C).

Location: Very good! On a residential street about 5 minutes’ south of Gloucester Rd tube stop (within zone 1), with several tube lines including the Piccadilly, it’s maybe 30 minutes from central London. That stop also has a mini-mall including Waitrose (that’s an upscale grocery), plus several restaurants & a post office. Maybe 10 minutes east is the Sth Kensington stop, and between the two of you are a ton of restaurants should you feel disinclined to cook. Plus a Tesco (Metro? Express? More groceries), coffee shops, internet cafes, and oh yes, the auto showrooms…[sigh] You’re also maybe 10-20 minutes walk from the V&A, Natural History Museum, Hyde Park, Kensington Palace etc. We wandered home around 11-midnight and felt very safe.

Misc - you do get some noise from the street. We were 4 floors up and facing the front; not sure how the other rooms are.
- Staff was mostly eastern European; their English was anything from iffy to very good. But they were all helpful. We didn’t like out first room location (right next to reception!) and they moved us immediately.
- The elevator is definitely the smallest on the planet! Pack light!
- For some reason there’s no maid service Sunday, but they still leave breakfast.

If I could get it at a decent price, I’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenAzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2006

I gave this a 5 rating keeping in mind the budget/reasonable price of the hotel. It was great for what the star rating is. It is true that this is an older, but keep in mind it's a recently remodeled building. The furnishings might be "ikea-ish" but they are modern and CLEAN. (A key point in my experiences in budget London travel...) Service was OUTSTANDING. Due to weather issues, Virgin did not get our luggage on the flight with us and the staff did a great job of delivering it as soon as it arrived.

We were on a front facing room where the only disadvantage if in the room during the day, was the primary school/child care playground just across the street. I forgot how much kids can scream on a playground...but if you were mostly out of the room during the day, like we were, it wasn't an issue. There was also a kitchenette and fridge which was so convenient, being on a budget.

It was about a 5 min. walk to the tube stop. There were convenience stores, post office, internet cafe, cash machines, pubs and restaurants all nearby en route to the tube. Quite convenient.(Not to mention Lamborghini and Land Rover dealerships in the neighborhood. This gives you an idea of the type of location it is.)

Continental breakfast was a bit crowded and the food was basic in selection but good and the staff was quite pleasant.

I really enjoyed this hotel as it was clean, comfortable and in an EXCELLENT location. We found a great package deal on expedia for this.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tnkgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 948 in London
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roland House

Address: 9 Roland Mansions 121 Old Brompton Road, London SW7 3RX, England (Formerly Somerset Roland Gardens)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $69 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roland House 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Apartment Hotel with modern amenities; situated in residential area of South Kensington, short walk to museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Roland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Roland Gardens Hotel London
Roland House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing