We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are small but well run and great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Ranked #545 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting London.
The location is excellent, a 5 minute walk maximum from Earls Court Tube station
The rooms are very small and don't have air conditioning. We were upgraded free of charge to a deluxe room and it was still very small.
Hotel was clean and the reception staff friendly.

If you aren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room then this hotel is more than adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Best Western Burns is very nice hotel, conveniently locatred 3 steps away from Earl's Court Tiube station.
Rooms are tiny, but if you are lucky enough to get one overlooking the square garden you will be rewarded. Breakfast is average, but there are a lot of pub you can choos from.
Rooms are tiny, but it is not a big deal if you are a business traveller or a tourist visting london. Hotel is in a quiety Street and it is definitely value for momey: clean rooms with decent plumbing (an exception in the UK!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattomatteo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Given the overall price-quality rate of London hotels, this is actually quite a good choice. I stayed for four nights in a single bedroom.

Pro:
- excellent location, very near Earl's court tube but in a quiet street
- room was a good size
- very quiet street, but a lot of pubs and stores nearby
- very clean
- friendly staff

Con
- roomwide carpet (which seems to be inevitable in London)
- bed is rather tiny - if you're over 170 cm at least. Also the mattress has springs, so if you're not used to that that might feel a bit weird
- window only opens a little - it was very hot so the room felt a bit stuffy
- the shower is ridiculously small - strange because the bathroom in itself is actually quite large
- they don't have UK - EU adaptors on loan at reception desk, so make sure you bring one (or be prepared to pay the full 5 pounds for it at reception)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Never having been to London before, we chose the Burns Best Western in the Earls Court area. The hotel is nice, clean and very comfortable. The room size was adequate with pleanty of space for two adults. The hotel is located in the Earls Court area and is within easy walking distance to EC Tube station. There are many restaurants and pubs also within easy walking distance. There is a restaurant and pub on sight but we only eat breakfast in the restaurant, which was very good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed for one night. The location is very convenient for the tube and the single bedroom was small but perfectly comfortable. The staff were lovely, efficient and welcoming. I chose this because our business budget for hotels in London is very restrictive but its actually a comfortable and convenient place to stay and I'm booked in to stay there again.
BTW to the reviewer with the flower allergy - seriously???? Think staff should get an award for keeping a straight face. If you went to the Chelsea Flower Show and encountered similarly cavalier attitudes to your Health and Wellbeing, please let us all know what happened.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Burns Hotel is situated on a nice, relatively quiet side street and faces a garden, just off busy Earl's Court Road. It's less than a five minute walk to the Earls Court tube station as well as a variety of pubs, restaurants and shops. The hotel is in a 19th century Victorian building that has a lot of character.
The front desk staff were very welcoming and pleasant. They were able to answer any questions I had and helped with a couple of simple requests. My room was small, a little worn looking, but clean and quite comfortable. Flat screen TV gets all the basic channels. The free WiFi (Pogolink) is OK, but could become a nuisance since it requires you to get a a slip for each device from the front desk with username and password that is good for 24 hours, then you have to ask for another.
The dining area and outside patio are nice. The full English breakfast is more than adequate and a convenient way to start the day. Dining room wait staff were efficient and cordial. For my preferences, the Burns Hotel was a good choice and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastrnShoreGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room was a really poor layout. You walk in and have about 1.5 feet on one side of the bed but there is a huge cabinet and a desk crammed in the corner wasting space and not even really usable. There is an old heater at the foot of the bed that our feet literally hit while trying to sleep, would hate if we needed the heat, we would burn! The best is on easy rollers and slipped around some. You had to jump over the bed to get to the window which was a balcony but nailed down so you couldn't open the window/door more than about 2 inches. The bathroom was EXTREMELY uncomfortable. Bump your elbows on a "caution very hot" water piping system while brushing your teeth. No room whatsoever around the toilet. Shower ok but crammed. The mini hall from the door to the bed has an awkward tv hung on the wall that I must have hit my ribs or arms on a dozen times in a couple days. Such a bad place for it. Really not a good layout. Uncomfortable bed too.

The hotel is very old, but that seemed normal around the area. We had to take a tiny elevator half way to the floor 1, yes 1, and then actually had to lug our luggage up another small set of stairs only to go back thanks to misdirection!

We had a few problems with the front staff. When we arrived we noticed a vase of flowers at the front desk. I am deathly allergic to the type of flowers they had and actually had to leave the room to avoid an ER trip. My boyfriend told them the importance of needing to remove them. They said they would be gone immediately. We went to dinner and came back and they were still there. He asked them FOUR times. We were going to leave because it's really a serious reaction. Unbelievable.

We purchased Big Bus Tours from the hotel. They were having trouble with my credit card so I get them a different one. She manually typed it so many times she either didn't know what she was doing or ripped us off because when we got back I had 3 charges on my 2 credit cards and the company doesn't want to refund because the hotel did it.

They had a nice breakfast included. You could have a cold bar with cereal, fruits, breads, and drinks and also a full English Breakfast with hot eggs they way you like them, bacon (American ham), mushrooms, beans, and tomatoes and tea. This way helpful to start the day.

Also, it took a long time to get to the major attractions. It is lose to the Earl's Court Underground Station but we would have liked to be closer so that we didn't have to rely on public transportation every time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#640 of 1,076 in London
1,314 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#499 of 1,076 in London
1,052 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#367 of 1,076 in London
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#556 of 1,076 in London
775 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#425 of 1,076 in London
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington

Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #545 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $107 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing