We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rooms are small but well run and great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Ranked #532 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rooms are small but well run and great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting London.
The location is excellent, a 5 minute walk maximum from Earls Court Tube station
The rooms are very small and don't have air conditioning. We were upgraded free of charge to a deluxe room and it was still very small.
Hotel was clean and the reception staff friendly.

If you aren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room then this hotel is more than adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    518
    309
    108
    58
See reviews for
164
383
182
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sesto San Giovanni, Italia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Best Western Burns is very nice hotel, conveniently locatred 3 steps away from Earl's Court Tiube station.
Rooms are tiny, but if you are lucky enough to get one overlooking the square garden you will be rewarded. Breakfast is average, but there are a lot of pub you can choos from.
Rooms are tiny, but it is not a big deal if you are a business traveller or a tourist visting london. Hotel is in a quiety Street and it is definitely value for momey: clean rooms with decent plumbing (an exception in the UK!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattomatteo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Given the overall price-quality rate of London hotels, this is actually quite a good choice. I stayed for four nights in a single bedroom.

Pro:
- excellent location, very near Earl's court tube but in a quiet street
- room was a good size
- very quiet street, but a lot of pubs and stores nearby
- very clean
- friendly staff

Con
- roomwide carpet (which seems to be inevitable in London)
- bed is rather tiny - if you're over 170 cm at least. Also the mattress has springs, so if you're not used to that that might feel a bit weird
- window only opens a little - it was very hot so the room felt a bit stuffy
- the shower is ridiculously small - strange because the bathroom in itself is actually quite large
- they don't have UK - EU adaptors on loan at reception desk, so make sure you bring one (or be prepared to pay the full 5 pounds for it at reception)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Never having been to London before, we chose the Burns Best Western in the Earls Court area. The hotel is nice, clean and very comfortable. The room size was adequate with pleanty of space for two adults. The hotel is located in the Earls Court area and is within easy walking distance to EC Tube station. There are many restaurants and pubs also within easy walking distance. There is a restaurant and pub on sight but we only eat breakfast in the restaurant, which was very good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed for one night. The location is very convenient for the tube and the single bedroom was small but perfectly comfortable. The staff were lovely, efficient and welcoming. I chose this because our business budget for hotels in London is very restrictive but its actually a comfortable and convenient place to stay and I'm booked in to stay there again.
BTW to the reviewer with the flower allergy - seriously???? Think staff should get an award for keeping a straight face. If you went to the Chelsea Flower Show and encountered similarly cavalier attitudes to your Health and Wellbeing, please let us all know what happened.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Burns Hotel is situated on a nice, relatively quiet side street and faces a garden, just off busy Earl's Court Road. It's less than a five minute walk to the Earls Court tube station as well as a variety of pubs, restaurants and shops. The hotel is in a 19th century Victorian building that has a lot of character.
The front desk staff were very welcoming and pleasant. They were able to answer any questions I had and helped with a couple of simple requests. My room was small, a little worn looking, but clean and quite comfortable. Flat screen TV gets all the basic channels. The free WiFi (Pogolink) is OK, but could become a nuisance since it requires you to get a a slip for each device from the front desk with username and password that is good for 24 hours, then you have to ask for another.
The dining area and outside patio are nice. The full English breakfast is more than adequate and a convenient way to start the day. Dining room wait staff were efficient and cordial. For my preferences, the Burns Hotel was a good choice and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room was a really poor layout. You walk in and have about 1.5 feet on one side of the bed but there is a huge cabinet and a desk crammed in the corner wasting space and not even really usable. There is an old heater at the foot of the bed that our feet literally hit while trying to sleep, would hate if we needed the heat, we would burn! The best is on easy rollers and slipped around some. You had to jump over the bed to get to the window which was a balcony but nailed down so you couldn't open the window/door more than about 2 inches. The bathroom was EXTREMELY uncomfortable. Bump your elbows on a "caution very hot" water piping system while brushing your teeth. No room whatsoever around the toilet. Shower ok but crammed. The mini hall from the door to the bed has an awkward tv hung on the wall that I must have hit my ribs or arms on a dozen times in a couple days. Such a bad place for it. Really not a good layout. Uncomfortable bed too.

The hotel is very old, but that seemed normal around the area. We had to take a tiny elevator half way to the floor 1, yes 1, and then actually had to lug our luggage up another small set of stairs only to go back thanks to misdirection!

We had a few problems with the front staff. When we arrived we noticed a vase of flowers at the front desk. I am deathly allergic to the type of flowers they had and actually had to leave the room to avoid an ER trip. My boyfriend told them the importance of needing to remove them. They said they would be gone immediately. We went to dinner and came back and they were still there. He asked them FOUR times. We were going to leave because it's really a serious reaction. Unbelievable.

We purchased Big Bus Tours from the hotel. They were having trouble with my credit card so I get them a different one. She manually typed it so many times she either didn't know what she was doing or ripped us off because when we got back I had 3 charges on my 2 credit cards and the company doesn't want to refund because the hotel did it.

They had a nice breakfast included. You could have a cold bar with cereal, fruits, breads, and drinks and also a full English Breakfast with hot eggs they way you like them, bacon (American ham), mushrooms, beans, and tomatoes and tea. This way helpful to start the day.

Also, it took a long time to get to the major attractions. It is lose to the Earl's Court Underground Station but we would have liked to be closer so that we didn't have to rely on public transportation every time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#535 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
South Kensington
ibis Styles London Kensington
ibis Styles London Kensington
#567 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#247 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Gardens Hotel
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#377 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington

Property: BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #532 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing