We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check-in was a joke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Ranked #551 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Check-in was a joke”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

When we arrived the reception did not have a record of our booking, despite booking nearly four months in advance and receiving an email from them the day before saying they were looking forward to our stay! We were kept waiting for about 20 minutes while they sorted it out. We were eventually allocated our room (101 - oh the irony!). This turned out to be a nice room overlooking Barkston Gardens at the front of the hotel. The hotel is in a really good location and down a quiet side road. Because of the poor service at check-in we decided not use the restaurant or bar, but there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants nearby. The Blackbird pub on the corner does a good breakfast. If you are thinking about booking this hotel, we recommend you ring a day or so before to check they have a note of your booking.

Room Tip: Room 101 at the front of the hotel overlooking Barkston Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 365Travelbug365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    586
    347
    122
    65
See reviews for
184
443
207
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is definitely one of the best London budget hotels I have stayed at. Got singles at 65 p.p..n. on Booking.com and that was a bargain compared to other London hotels. The hotel seems to have a rather high number of single rooms that vary in size. I got a fairly large, a colleague a rather much smaller, but still adequate.Flat screen TV and a good bed.
Very nice staff at reception and cleaning was excellent. Breakfast quite good, full English with a continental buffet. The restaurant staff didn't seem to understand that one could have both the continental and the full English, but it was sorted out.
Situated in a nice square - actually much nicer than most of Earls court. When looking for a pub, go the extra yards along the Earls Court Road to the Earls Court Tavern. Bus Nr. 74 gives good connections into London centre.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms in the basement. Beware of steep stairs and a slow lift to upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LjoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here for three nights starting on May 28th. I had booked through Otels.com for a single room, but when I got to the hotel I was put in a twin room, without even asking for an upgrade, which was a nice surprise. The room was on the basement level (#49) so obviously didn't have a view, but was more spacious than expected. Some of the furnishings were a bit shabby, but everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower worked well and there was plenty of hot water. I did not have breakfast included, but got food from the grocery stores that are just around the corner on Earl's Court Road. The tube station is about three minutes walk away, and the V&A and Kensington High Street are within walking distance. I felt comfortable staying here as a single woman, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed with husband on 20th May 2013 for one night.
Good hotel close to the tube but surprisingly quiet! Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was average, we got ours as part of a deal on the room, we wouldn't have paid full price for it! Generally, very happy with room and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for one night (Sunday) on 20 May. Very impressed with the hotel. It's the cheapest we have paid in London (possibly because of a Sunday) but excellent value. The hotel is tucked away in a quiet road with beautiful gardens in front of it.

The room was lovely and clean and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were all friendly. I would definitely go again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy_A_1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is in a leafy quiet London square just round the corner from Earls Court tube station.
Our check in was efficient and friendly, Our double room at the back of building, overlooking gardens, was tranquil. The bath and shower worked well. All the expected facilities, hair dryer etc. and free WiFi worked for us. Breakfast was served in the ground floor restaurant which has patio doors to an attractive outside garden area. I opted for poached eggs, bacon and tomato, and it was excellent. We were heading off to the Chelsea Flower Show, and they kindly offered to look after our luggage for the day which was a bonus feature. All the staff, front desk and restaurant were very smiley and friendly and efficient - a good experience which I will repeat should I need a room in London again.

Room Tip: This is a hotel in a traditional charaacterful old building so our room was not spacious but it had...
See more room tips
Helpful?
Thank Pbrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked in for a night as we were attending a concert in the Royal Festival and the price including breakfast was very keen.
Check in was cheery and our room was small but had all the facilities that we needed, tea and coffee, flat screen TV, nice compact bathroom with a shower over the bath. To top it all, breakfast was included and was delicious.
All staff were very helpful and friendly.
The location is excellent, 5 minutes walk from Earls Court Tube Station.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, room 204. It was so quiet that we slept the windows open and there was to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#505 of 1,069 in London
1,016 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#625 of 1,069 in London
1,277 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#550 of 1,069 in London
742 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#285 of 1,069 in London
518 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#399 of 1,069 in London
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington

Property: Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #551 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing