We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A value-for-money hotel close to the tube”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Ranked #555 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A value-for-money hotel close to the tube”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have mixed views about this hotel. On one hand the whole place feels a bit tired, but on the other hand it's good value for money for London prices.

I stayed here for two nights and when i arrived a room hadn't been allocated to me. The receptionist had to call her manager to come down and shuffle some rooms around on the computer. So it took about ten minutes to check-in. The upside was an upgrade from a single to a double room.

Although clean my room felt a bit tired and in need of a refurbishment. Size was good and slept OK on the bed. Bathroom quite big, but again felt old and the shower had quite a small showerhead. A small flat screen TV on the wall with the normal Freeview channels. I couldn't get a 3G signal in the room which was a bit of a pain.

What was a nice surprise was the light breakfast room on the lower floor and the good value-for-money full-English breakfast. Service was quick too. In the evenings room service is limited to paninis and sandwiches.

It is nicely placed opposite a square but only a minute's walk to Earls Court tube station. There are also plenty of bars, pubs and restaurants in the area for an evening meal.

If you are on a budget and need to stay in the area, this is not a bad choice. However, there are nicer places around if you pay a little bit more.

Room Tip: I had a thrid floor room at the back of the hotel. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGreySquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    588
    350
    123
    65
See reviews for
185
447
208
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Spent three nights at the Best Western Burns Hotel with friends and found the whole experience very enjoyable. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms we were allocated overlooked Barkston Gardens. Rooms were clean and pleasant and spacious, plenty of hot water. Only comment to make was that there is no air conditioning and you can only open the windows a inch ( a common complaint in most hotels) which we can understand the reason for this from a health and safety point of view.
Hotel was handy for Earls Court Station and there are lots of places nearby to eat out at. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollieberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Although very clean the fact there was no airconditioning made the very small single room like a 'hothouse'. I would never have booked this hotel had I been aware of this. The first fan I borrowed did not work properly and was a fire hazard, the second one was just adequate. Not the choice of hotel when hot in London. The first iron I borrowed did not work - the small appliances appear very cheap.
Cathy, South Australia

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mortonrc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Burns Hotel Review

As others said, the single room is very small but it was quite OK for me.
Everything was very clean. Bed was comfortable (might be a bit to soft for some). Tv worked well - millions of channels.
Bathroom was nice too. Clean shower, good pressure and temperature.
As everything else, bathroom is on the small side. Some people might have a hard time getting into the shower or maneuvering to get to the toilet.
I was in room 411 with a view to the little park in front of the hotel. The only problem with the room as said in other reviews is that it was very hot and the window opens just a bit.
When I first arrived, the room was very stuffy but leaving the window opened while I went to town did the trick. When I w back in the afternoon the temperature was OK, but, it's not the kind of room you would return to for an afternoon nap.
Internet: Internet was free and worked well. Each day they provide you with an access code that gives you 24 hours, but a limited Mb of data. If you use Skype or YouTube, it drains your limit quickly but the front desk provided me with an extra access code when I asked.
Breakfast: breakfast was no big deal. Not much of a selection. But if the intentions is just to eat something to get you through the morning, it will do.
I had the English breakfast which was included in my rate: bacon, sausage, tomato, mushroom and eggs. Being from a bean eating country, I tend to consider beans for breakfast as kind of sacrilegious, so I skipped them.
The English breakfast looked nice but didn't taste so well. Bests that, the buffet had some ham, cheese, OJ, twinings tea, toast, croissant but no fruit salad or fruits besides some apples.
Conclusion: I would totally stay there again. The hotel is nice and clean, well located (nice neighborhood), close to the subway (Earl's Court is right on the Piccalilli line which goes directly to Heathrow Airport and many of the tourist attractions). Staff was also nice and friendly. For the price you pay, and by what I heard about accommodation in London, this is a great choice

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ricardinho_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Reasonably priced hotel, clean rooms not too small, friendly staff.Bathroom a good size with bath and shower. Good breakfast for the price close to Earls Court tube station. Recommend for anyone visiting London for a short break.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joody6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here in August. Booked twin room but got one with a double and single bed. Room was very clean with great shower. Mixup with booking when I was checking in (my fault completely) but the reception staff were very helpful. Stayed here before a few times and will again as its a great hotel. Very near the Tube station and plenty of restaurants nearby. M+S within 100 yds. Handy if you want sandwiches etc for a day out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripsterDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Except for the very small rooms and a couple of creaky floor boards, the room was generall pretty quiet and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was pretty standard but plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#504 of 1,069 in London
1,029 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#634 of 1,069 in London
1,289 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#568 of 1,069 in London
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#303 of 1,069 in London
522 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington

Property: Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #555 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing