We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost hair straighteners!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gainsborough Hotel
Ranked #876 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lost hair straighteners!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Was originally happily surprised by the hotel. The room wasn't as small as I had pictured after reading the other reviews and the bed was comfy enough. However the shower was a joke and impossible to use. The main negative issue though was I left my brand new hair straighteners in the room and rang later on to ask about them and of course they weren't there. I know I am probably naive to expect honesty in this day and age but normally four star hotels have staff trained to a higher standard. I have left stuff behind in better hotels and been lucky enough to have it returned.The staff I did encounter were polite and friendly however.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hapi_traveler638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    99
    107
    91
    96
See reviews for
82
133
53
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This is not a good hotel, just look at the photos i have posted!
The single room was tiny, there was no bedside table so you had to get up to switch the lamp on and off, portable air conditioning unit that had the extracting 'pipe' stuck through a window! And was so loud when it was on you could not hear yourself think.
Curtains from the 1980's, this room needs a re furb.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fabulous position and first impression good. However, the beds were so rock hard we didn't get much sleep and struggled with our bodies aches and pains the following day! Ordered a glass of wine as a nightcap after a great day out only to be served up charged for a bottle before being told wine by the glass not available! Very grumpy and unaccommodating barman! Receptionist not the most welcoming!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supersoozeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Viso, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The location of The Gainsborough Hotel is really unbeatable: located only 2 blocks away from the South Kensington Tube Station (Piccadilly Line), only 45 minutes (by tube) from London Heathrow, and 10 minutes from Piccadilly Circus. The hotel staff is really good, friendly and helpful; I do not agree with another customers, saying that is a big inconvenience the foreign staff; my wife and I did not find any difficulties with this. The hotel is like a Victorian one; this means that has all the history inside, but it is certainly NOT a 4-star Hotel! The rooms are extremely small; the bathroom was like a refrigerator... Absolutely cold inside! For some reason, they've placed an extra heater inside the room, as the central heating does not work properly, and we did not have a chance to modify the temperature... The room did have an air-con (heat and cold), but this was not enough for the freezing temperatures outside. The bathroom was 1,5 by 2 meters... It is nearly impossible to take a shower without needing to take part of the body out, if you want to wash your legs, for example... I'll add some pictures of the Hotel, including room, stairs, bathroom, lobby and reception.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive rooms or suites, street view; DO NOT ask for the standard rooms! It is a VERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo-BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I needed a room for the night near to the Science Museum and picked the Gainsborough because of its proximity to the venue. Having paid £69.00 for a single room (normally approx £140.00) i imagined it would be of very good quality. Whilst the hotel itself was very clean, smart and the night staff I met was very polite, when I got to my room, I was expecting a bit more than the shoebox I was presented with!! The bed was comfortable but VERY soft and as for the TV (it must have been installed in the 1980's) and the tiny en-suite was just that ....... TINY and could have done with a bit of an update. A bed was very welcome after working 16 hours overnight and I guess I could've slept on the sofa in Reception but I was expecting a much nicer room considering the area. It seems that as its near to the tourist spots they can charge what they want. I wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect, you are close to Hyde Park, museums and the Royal Albert Hall. The staff were very friendly and always ready to help. Room was reasonable size and the bed comfortable. There are a lot of nice restaurants and coffee shops close by. Considering the expensive area the price is really worth it what you get. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roslalinda i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent a weekend with my boyfriend . I could only say - an excellent hotel in great location. So friendly staff, couldn't be more helpful. Immaculate clean rooms and very comfortable beds. Unbeatable price for fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#646 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#512 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#428 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#410 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#594 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#372 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gainsborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gainsborough Hotel

Property: The Gainsborough Hotel
Address: 7-11 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#397 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gainsborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an English country home magically whisked to the most exclusive London borough, and you have The Gainsborough. Named after the celebrated artist, The Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You are at the heart of the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, the Victoria & Albert - nearby; and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall is just minutes away. The well-stocked lounge bar is the spot for a leisurely drink or a snack from the light menu. With 24-hour room service, butlers on immediate call and a reception ever ready to meet your needs, nothing is too much for our attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gainsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel London
The Gainsborough Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing