We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Ranked #141 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, value for money”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

My husband and I spent a week in the UK with another couple and needed a place to stay while in London. The Mansions accomodated our need for a two bedroom place with a kitchen and washing machine that we could use as a base. The apartment was excellent as it very close to the tube (brilliant for getting anywhere at anytime in London), a Marks and Spence store (fantastic for quick and easy microwave/oven dinners) and a couple of internet cafe's. We felt safe walking any time of the day and night and thoroughly enjoyed the charm of being in an old London apartment. Any issues or queries we had we dealt with promptly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newbieAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    138
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
243
20
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The Mansions in Earls Court was in a great location that suited our needs - 5 min walk from a station serviced by trains running on several lines, London buses passing by every few minutes, heaps of cheap eateries 5- 10 min walk away, choice of supermarkets 3 to 15 mins away (including a Marks and Spencers only 3 mins away), several bakeries 5 mins away, a large range of fabulous restaurants 3-20 mins away, cheap internet 5 mins away, lots of takeaway chains within 5 - 15 mins, and a great coffee shop only 2 mins away. It was very handy for seeing London shows - only 3 or 4 stops from Billy Elliot - and we felt safe travelling home from the musicals even after 11 pm at night. Earls Court is also not far from several tourist haunts, such as the Victoria and Albert Museum and Harrods. It was extraordinarily easy to get to and from Heathrow airport, just hop on the tube and no need to change trains. Earls Court Station even has a lift, so there are no stairs to negotiate.

We had a surprisingly quiet studio room on the top (5th) floor serviced by a reliable lift. The kitchen was large and also included a with a microwave and a washer/dryer. The oven worked well and the fridge was a good size. The bathroom also a good size with shower over the bath. The water was hot and strong. There were lots of windows, lots of storage and a good ceiling fan above the bed - which worked well for our stay at the end of May. There was also lots of heating for colder months. There were two bar stools and a breakfast bar in the kitchen. There was also a two seater sofa in the lounge/bedroom and a TV that could be seen from the sofa and the bed. There was plenty of lighting.

The staff was professional, friendly and helpful, and the weekday maid service was terrific - they even washed up for you. We read complaints about the pull down bed being hard, but we found it fine and used the extra pillows that were supplied. The best thing was that they supplied an easy to access and very reliable free high speed wireless internet service. Our package also included a free airport transfer, which was great.

We found our studio apartment at The Mansions very affordable at ₤110 per night - and were happy to pay the full amount two weeks in advance to be able to attain this rate.

It was a great location for our 9 night stay in London. We will be very happy to stay there again when we are next in London.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PJ_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We were so pleased with our accommodations at The Mansions. The Earls Court area is a fantastic place to stay. Very busy and seemed very safe for families. There are restaurants, grocery stores, bakeries, Underground all within 2 minutes. Our family went to Wimbledon while we were there and we were only a few Tube stops away. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath apartment. It was so nice to have a place to relax and eat breakfast in the apartment each day. We didn't feel like we had to rush and that we could actually enjoy our vacation. The office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseePiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed at the Mansions in a large 2 bedroom 1 bath apartment as we are a family of five including a 22 month old toddler. We could not have been more pleased with our accomodations. They had a cot and high chair for our son and he had lots of room to run around and play. the apartment was clean, bright and extremely comfortable. I have a cousin briefly working in London and we had her over one evening for a few classes of wine - we felt like we were enertaining in our own home. We found the shopping on Earls court road so close and convenient that we ate quite a few meals at "home" which suited us very well - especially travelling with a small child. Before we left we asked to see one of the larger apartments and it was excellent also. We will definately stay again on any future trips to London and will recommend to anyone travelling on business or leisure. Prior to this trip we have always stayed in hotels and BB's but the mansions has converted us to the comforts of having our own apartment. The Squires Family, Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squires88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We booked the Mansions based on the good reviews it had. We spent 4 nights with our young family and it was by far the worst place we stayed during our 4 week holiday. There was only enough hot water for one of us to have a 5 minute warm shower each day. The rest of us had to make do with a cold one on some pretty cold and miserable London days. When we mentioned this to staff after the first night we were told it would be looked into but in fact nothing was done. Nothing could be done as the hot water tank was miniscule. Barely enough for one let alone 5-6 persons as is advertised for the apartment. Having prepaid our accommodation, only having 3 full days in London and with 3 young kids it was not a feasible option to try to find somewhere else to stay (although we would have liked to). There is a washer/dryer in the apartment which doesn't let you wash unless the machine is full but only dries if the machine is half full(and then you need to run it through twice to really dry well). The unit was cramped and old , the bathroom was mouldy, the whole place the musty smell of an old person's home. The only thing going for it was the location which was very central. There is a supermarket nearby and restaurants. Also there are many tube lines which run through Earls Courrt underground making it easy to get around. Having said that there are a multitude of other accommodation options available in the area many of which could only be better than No.1 The Mansions!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lila09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMansions, Reservations Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, May 8, 2009
At the Mansions we have been upset by this review. We take great pride in providing our guests with a clean, comfortable and homely stay at excellent value. Of the many guest surveys we have distributed to ensure we provide a better service we have never had anything but high praise for our cleanliness. We believe we have identified the apartment in question and we know the cleaner responsible for it, who has been with us for years. They would be mortified to hear the cleanliness was rated so low. We have rechecked the grouting and sealant today and can find no sign of mould or bad grouting – something again we are constantly reviewing, checking and renewing. This two bedroom flat is over 600 sq ft which we don’t believe to be cramped. Finally we are extremely disappointed that we have had an unsatisfied guest, let alone such an unsatisfied one, and encourage any guest in future to talk to us – at the proprietor level if they wish if they are unhappy during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle area, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

After reading such favorable Trip Advisor reviews, we decided to stay at the Mansions. The reviews are accurate: The Mansions are unbeatable for the price, especially in London. We had a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom apartment that was very, very spacious for our family of four. It was so relaxing to return to the comfort -- and cleanliness -- of our apartment after a busy day of sightseeing. We appreciated the renovated , ike-new kitchen and the convenience of making our own breakfasts in the morning. (I purchased coffee beans at a nearby Starbucks, which the clerk ground for me, and then brewed some nice cups back at the apartment which I enjoyed out on the balcony .) The baths also were renovated and on par with nicer European hotels. Our teenage son, who had brougth his laptop to keep in touch with friends and family, also appreciated having Internet access.
Like someone else on Trip Advisor, we had a small problem understanding the clothes washer/dryer in our flat; however, the management was most gracious in getting us up to speed. The laundry capability was a real plus in our estimation since we were able to continue our trip with clean clothes!
We also enjoyed the Earls Court area with its abundance of grocerers and restaurants. The apartments are only a city block or two from the Tube -- another big plus for us since our party included my husband's 76-year-old mother. On our last trip to London, we paid a similar price for another hotel -- we might even have paid more -- which had dilapidated, dirty rooms and complementary roaches. The other hotel also was a fairly long distance from Tube access. The Mansions are light years away from that experience. We definitely will be making the Mansions our home away from home on subsequent visits to London. What a way to begin our holiday to England and Ireland! I only wish we'd stayed another night ...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAMc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We loved our third floor, 3 BR 3 BA flat at The Mansions! The view down Earls Court Road from the dining room was absolutely smashing. Kitchen was all-new and included washing machine, which we did not use. The bathrooms were updated, and the size of the rooms was incredible for London. For a big group, there is no contest between The Mansions and a hotel in price and quality of stay. John in the office was most helpful, too, with touristy questions. Some of our party stayed at The Mansions on a prior stay and had a lovely first floor suite with fenced-in garden, but you couldn't quarrel with our arrangement, either. Short walk to the wonderful Earls Court station, which is a direct Tube line to Heathrow. Also, free WiFi included.

We shall return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piqua41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#169 of 1,069 in London
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#46 of 1,069 in London
242 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,069 in London
3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 1. The Mansions by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 1. The Mansions by Mansley

Property: No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Address: 219 Earls Court Road | Kensington, London SW5 9BN, England (Formerly The Mansions Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No 1. The Mansions by Mansley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.1 The Mansions by Mansley is an elegant property built at the end of the nineteenth century, offering a superb selection of extremely comfortable serviced apartments including large three and four bedroom Mansion Apartments. Apartments are distinct and offer spacious accommodation of character, individually designed and decorated. Apartments range from studio's to four bedroom apartments offering a choice of layouts to suit the needs of everyone from business travellers to large family groups. In this lively and cosmopolitan part of London there are numerous cafes and restaurants suiting all budgets. Or if you prefer to stay in and self-cater, the fully equipped kitchens will meet all your needs. The superb shopping of Westfield London, Europe’s largest urban shopping mall, the King’s Road in Chelsea and High Street Kensington are all a short distance away, with Harrods and Knightsbridge also close by. London’s major attractions are also easily reached, including three of the finest museums in the world and exhibitions at Olympia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your No 1. The Mansions by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansions Apartments Hotel London
Mansions Apartments London
Mansions Apartments Hotel London
No 1. The Mansions By Mansley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing