We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Ranked #171 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Brilliant Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Staying here in a 3 bedroom apartment with friends for 6 nights. The facilities and proximity to everything is brilliant. We are able to have some personal space, given that we have a dining room as well as a lounge room and the kitchen is well equipped and we are able to cater for ourselves with ease. The bedrooms are reasonable and have a separate bathroom. The staff have been fantastic and rearranged a "botched" transfer on arrival at teh airport with a minimum of fuss. highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at No1 The Mansions and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    131
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
217
20
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in a 3-bedroom, 2-bath apartment on the first floor, in late July during a heat wave in London. Although the apartment was stuffy when we first entered, by closing sun-facing windows and blinds during the day and opening windows at night, the temperature was pleasant. There is a fan in each bedroom, and the white noise they provided blocked most of the street noise that we heard from the windows facing the side street. I can imagine, however, that if you were on a higher floor or in an apartment facing Earl's Court Road, the heat and/or noise might be an issue.

For us, however, the experience was a real treat. It was nice to spend our 5 days in London in such a posh neighborhood with so many conveniences close by. We shopped at Marks and Spencer's on the way home from the tube station most days, and saved a lot of money by eating breakfast and most dinners in the apartment. The flat itself was spacious and even had French doors that opened onto a lovely inner courtyard. We were able to have breakfast at a little table just outside. The kitchen and especially the two bathrooms were modern and well-equipped. The weekday daily maid service was a treat I'm not used to when outside hotels, and the maid even did our dishes and pots and pans.

At first I was a little overwhelmed by the price, but in the end, it was well worth it to have such lovely and convenient accommodations at the end of long days of sight-seeing. It will be hard for our family to ever go back to hotel accommodations after this experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a flat on the first floor (cooler and no elevator hassles), and one that does not face Earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment for 4 days in July 2013.
Our teeenage children had their bedroom with two twin beds and ample storage space. My husband and I had a small bedroom with a double bed (1,40 m wide/ not queen). The bathroom was OK, but not very large (in spite of having rented one with a large bathroom - only soap provided). The apartment had a fully-equipped kitchen, with oven, microwave, refrigerator w/freezer, dishwasher (soap provided) and washer/dryer (laundry soap not provided, drying function not very useful, washing cycle about 1 hour), It was good to have some coffee/tea and sugar packs available for morning breakfast.
The living room was comfortable, with a sofabed, an individual couch and a table for 4 to 6 people.
The apartment is "serviced" Mon-Fri. Beds are made, bathroom tidied up. No actual cleaning that you may notice.
The apartment was quite worn and dated (especially tapestry and carpets). I guess this may change as painting in the corridors of our floor (5th) was underway. To be honest, I expected more cared and cleaned rooms, with the luxurious feeling pictured in the website.
Check-in was better than expected as we arrived about 1 am due to flight delays and closing of Heathrow airport. We were warmly welcomed after an extremely long trip.
Location is residential, with convenience stores (M&S and others) across the street or very close by. Restaurants of all types just a stone's throw away (fast food, Greek, Irish).
Earl's Court tube station is about 2 blocks and connects with Heathrow directly.
As regards the noise, our apartment was quiet, facing the rear of the building, but I imagine that the apartments facing Earl's Court Road (has traffic) may be noisy.
The weather was extremely hot during our stay, so sleeping at night was a difficult task - no fresh air came in through the fully-openned windows. As in many places in Europe, this building has no air conditioning and out apartment got really warm after a hot day.
Please make sure to close the elevator door tightly to avoid other guests from having to climb up 5 floors!
Pros and cons weighted, we still preferred it to a hotel room and would probably stay here again (especially if the apartments are refurbished!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LaHormiguitaViajera0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment in August. It had everything we needed for our one week stay in London in the summer - Washer and dryer, fully equipped kitchen, outdoor terrace with seating, wifi, lounge and dining room, etc. it truly felt like home away from home, and the receptionist was so friendly and pleasant. Less than 5 minutes walk to earls court station, restaurants, bars, marks and Spencers food, and other shops. If I had to be picky and complain about something, the wifi connection was a bit weak. Oh, and daily (weekday) cleaning service provided too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Even though we were disappointed at first with our apartment (#13, a 2 BR on the 6th floor), I would probably stay here again because I really liked the location and neighborhood, as well as the extra room for a family. My main problem with this property is what I feel to be a deceptive website, which seems to promise something really luxurious when in fact these apartments are quite basic and worn. The carpets are stained and threadbare, the upholstery is dated and dirty, beds are very hard and linens are old and scratchy. I don't know where they got their professional photos for the website, which for our apartment had no resemblance to reality.

Another issue to be aware of is that there is no air conditioning. Luckily for us, the weather was unseasonably cool so we were able to manage, but keep in mind you will need to have windows open at night in the summer so traffic noise is an issue. They do provide a fan for each sleeping room.

The elevator was ancient, the type where you have to manually open and close both the inner cage and the outer doors. Several times during our stay some other guest had not closed the doors correctly on their floor (thereby stalling the elevator in place), and we ended up walking up the 6 flights of stairs to our room. When you have been on your feet sight-seeing all day, this is not pleasant.

As to the "laundry" facilities. The machine took well over an hour to wash a very small load of clothes, and then you are supposed to take half the load out and dry it at a time. The "dry" function on this machine is not functional. Not only does it not dry; it ends up making your clothes smell like mildew. Thank goodness a very nice drying rack is provided, because you will need to use this to dry everything. We packed for our trip counting on the ability to wash clothes, as advertised. Because of the limited functionality I ended up spending way too much time on laundry with below satisfactory results.

One of our showers was great, with good water pressure. The other one trickled stray streams out of a handful of holes and was pretty much worthless, so we used that one only for baths and our family of 5 had to take turns using the good shower.

So, those are the negatives. On the good side, the neighborhood is safe and lively, and the apartment is close to a tube station (Earls' Court) that can get you easily to almost anywhere. There is a great little Marks & Spencer food market a couple blocks away that has fresh, reasonably priced groceries and beverages, and there was also a fruit stand on the street. So convenience-wise, this is a wonderful location.

The other positive is that the apartment is quite roomy, and our family of 5 fit comfortably with room to unpack our suitcases. There was one bedroom with a double bed, one with 2 twins, and there was a pull-out sofa in the living room. It was nice to have dishes, an electric teapot, fridge, and table. Our unit had a dishwasher that worked well.

The office staff was accommodating and helpful. But since this is a serviced apartment and not a hotel, they are not available at all hours so if you have questions or problems you need to catch them during the day. Also, there was housekeeping during the weekdays but not on weekends.

So, even given my initial disappointment based on expectations from the website, I found this apartment to be homely and convenient, and would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Be aware that you might need to do several stairs, so if anyone in your party will have trouble with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank evans045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Mansions for five nights in June. The location was perfect - just a short walk to the Earls Court tube station. The flat was great and we spent far less than what we would have spent on a hotel and eating out for every meal. With so many restaurants and pubs close by, as well as grocery stores, we had everything we could ask for. Having a kitchen, washer and dryer, and space for all of us (party of seven) made this the ideal location. We loved the large dining room and the living room area for relaxing and planning our day's itinerary. I would definitely stay here again. No more hotels for me. This was far better. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for your wonderful review and taking the time out to share your experience with TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Big rooms excellent location close to the tube and buses outside the front door. My 2 adult children loved having their own room in our 3 bedroom 2 Bathroom apartment. Beds were very comfortable and everything for cooking was right there. Highly recommend to anyone going to London.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaGdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for your wonderful review and taking the time out to share your experience with TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#174 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#440 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 1. The Mansions by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 1. The Mansions by Mansley

Property: No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Address: 219 Earls Court Road | Kensington, London SW5 9BN, England (Formerly The Mansions Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No 1. The Mansions by Mansley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.1 The Mansions by Mansley is an elegant property built at the end of the nineteenth century, offering a superb selection of extremely comfortable serviced apartments including large three and four bedroom Mansion Apartments. Apartments are distinct and offer spacious accommodation of character, individually designed and decorated. Apartments range from studio's to four bedroom apartments offering a choice of layouts to suit the needs of everyone from business travellers to large family groups. In this lively and cosmopolitan part of London there are numerous cafes and restaurants suiting all budgets. Or if you prefer to stay in and self-cater, the fully equipped kitchens will meet all your needs. The superb shopping of Westfield London, Europe’s largest urban shopping mall, the King’s Road in Chelsea and High Street Kensington are all a short distance away, with Harrods and Knightsbridge also close by. London’s major attractions are also easily reached, including three of the finest museums in the world and exhibitions at Olympia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your No 1. The Mansions by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansions Apartments Hotel London
Mansions Apartments London
Mansions Apartments Hotel London
No 1. The Mansions By Mansley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing