We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Ranked #138 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just like home away from home”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Big rooms excellent location close to the tube and buses outside the front door. My 2 adult children loved having their own room in our 3 bedroom 2 Bathroom apartment. Beds were very comfortable and everything for cooking was right there. Highly recommend to anyone going to London.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaGdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for your wonderful review and taking the time out to share your experience with TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    134
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
232
20
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
331 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here, and it was really great. I'd never stayed at serviced apartments before so I wasn't sure what to expect, but I'd certainly stay here again.

My family of nine fit more than comfortably in the 4 bedroom/3 bathroom apartment. Although the furnishings are dated, they are sufficiently comfortable. We had three rooms with twin beds and one room with a full.

Bathrooms were roomy and nice. Towels provided and small bars of soap, but no other toiletries.

The living room was a great room to spread out in and hang around. Wifi was free and strong.

Kitchen was good. Dishwasher, sink, fridge, etc. Also a washer/dryer (one machine that both washes and dries, so laundry takes awhile!).

It's in a great location on Earls Court Rd. just a few blocks from the train station. Picadilly and District lines will get you to all the great attractions in minutes.

Also several good restaurants and grocery/bakery options within a 2 minute walk (try Gourmet Burger Kitchen!).

The one negative would be the noise. Earls Court is a busy road and you can hear the notice easily from the rooms. Didn't bother me, but may bother others. I thought it was actually kind of fun.

But what wasn't fun was the pot-smokers in the alley-way below getting high and wasted and waking up my 6 month old. Heard them both nights. Kind of ruins the ambience.

Overall, though, I really liked the mansions. Pretty cool, non-touristy area and accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpugh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write a great review. I am really sorry you had an issue during your stay, it is a shame it was not raised whilst you were here to enable to deal with the problem. Please be assured we will do as much as we possibly can to ensure our guests enjoy themselves and take any complaint very seriously. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I'm a little late with my review because I was hoping to receive a response from London Guest Suites to an email that I sent to them on May 21st. I had contracted with Shelley through them for a three bedroom apartment. Since we were seven single friends, before I signed the rental agreement I placed a phone call to their London office to confirm that there was indeed 1) bedroom double queen. 1) bedroom three single beds, and, 1) bedroom with two double beds, as discribed in the trip advisor information. I was informed by London Guest Suites that indeed it was and that all of their beds zip and unzip. perfect, I signed the contract. we were given a three bedroom apartment that was one bed short. I have asked London Guest Suites for a partial refund and to date have had no reply. the location was great, the apartment was nice, it was not however what I had contracted for. make sure when dealing with them that you have any questions or concerns in writing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micki225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with my boyfriend and parents. Unfortunately our check in was after office hours and even after being promised that someone would be there they werent. It was fixed quite qûickly after i made a phone call so not a huge problem.

We had booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. Upon check in they upgraded us to a 3 bedroom,2 bathroom. I did ask for a quiet room on a high floor (which it would have been because they informed me that the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom were on floor 5 and 6) but because of the upgrade we were located on the ground floor. This apartment was huge! One downside was the noise. Directly on the road so lots of people and traffic noise. There are 2 bedrôoms at the front and 1 bedroom at the very rear of the apartment which my boyfriend and i slept in.....it looks onto a little courtyard and garden. So therefore i wasnt actually bothered by the traffic noise at bedtime. But my parents said it was quite noisy.....and also being on the ground floor you get the noise from the front door of the building slamming.

The bedrooms were large. The lounge room and dining room were lovely with lots of books. Kitchen was well equipped with a washing maching/dryer. The building is old and the door handles are in definite need of an upgrade...or at least be fixed. I had trouble getting in and out of some of the rooms and almost got stuck in the bathroom once .-)

The apartment itself is located within walking distance of Earls Court station. Easy to get to and from Heathrow airport on the Piccadilly Line. There are also two nice pubs down the street. We visited both.
One other thing i noted was that the door to the building did not lock. We were given a key card for this door...but it was broken so you could just push the door open. Not great for safety!

Would definitely stay here again but would hope for a high floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Mansions are the best. This is the second time my family and I have stayed at the Mansions Apartments on Earls Court Road. There were seven of us and we had a three bedroom, two bathroom apartment. It had been recently renovated and was so spacious and comfortable and warm. Our apartment had a master bedroom with a dressing room and ensuite, a twin bedroom and a large bedroom with two single beds and a pull-down double bed which worked perfectly for us. There was a large lounge dining room, a very nice kitchen with a washer/dryer and a separate bathroom. The showers were easy to use with great water pressure. We wished we could pack them up and take them home.

The location was great. The Piccadilly, Central and District lines all run through Earls Court Station (only a few minutes walk) which means one train ride to Piccadilly Circus, Harrods, Hyde Park, Westminster Abbey, St. Pauls, Covent Garden, the Tower of London and more. For those who don't yet know London the Tube is amazing. Trains run every few minutes and take you so easily to whatever you want to see. The Piccadilly line runs from Heathrow through Earls Court so it is so easy if you are arriving from or returning to Heathrow. There is a Marcs & Spencer Simply Foods 1-2 minutes walk and a Sainsburys further down the road past the station and both are open until quite late. There is also Pret a Manger for the health conscious and Greggs opposite the station for the not so health conscious where we stocked up on treats for morning tea every day.

Every staff member that we came in contact with during our stay was extremely helpful, friendly and courteous. Sadly our week at the Mansions came to an end too soon but we are looking forward to returning to our London home as soon as possible. I could not recommend the Mansions highly enough to anyone looking for accommodation in London.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different apartments as the size of our party changed from one trip to the nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We would like to thank you for your wonderful review and taking the time out to share your experience with TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wow....late review but still remembered fondly is this great 3 bed/2bathroom ground floor apartment we stayed at at the end of a UK tour, just for one night before flying home. We were gobsmacked at the size and how homely it felt. Location perfect, with lots of convenient places close by....supermarket, train station etc. Very fast free wifi. The washing machine wasn't working so the manageress kindly took our washing and did it for us because we were flying out the next day. We plan to come back and stay longer. Loved the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BucketList2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing No1 The Mansions and for taking the time to share your thoughts with other Trip Advisor visitors. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights in February 2013. Had studied TA reviews and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Arriving in the early morning after a long flight from Aus we were met at the Apartments with such warmth and charm we knew we were in for a lovely stay. Throughout our stay the staff went out of their way to assist, even delivering the post! Our apartment was on the top floor, one floor above the level of the lifts but the only time we had luggage to maneuver was on arrival and departure so this was not an issue. The apartment was warm and had touches of home with books in the bookshelves and comfy couches. Kitchen was clean and well stocked. With an M&S Simply Foods on the corner we were well set. In our apartment the shower was over the bath, it required a bit of maneuvering to get in and out, guests with limited mobility might need to check which apartment has a separate shower. Despite being quite full during our stay there was very little noise filtering through. Going out one morning there was a large group including young children checking in yet no sound filtered through. Would happily stay again and would recommend to friends.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy traveller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing No1 The Mansions and for taking the time to share your thoughts with other Trip Advisor visitors. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#159 of 1,067 in London
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#44 of 1,067 in London
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 1. The Mansions by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 1. The Mansions by Mansley

Property: No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Address: 219 Earls Court Road | Kensington, London SW5 9BN, England (Formerly The Mansions Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No 1. The Mansions by Mansley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.1 The Mansions by Mansley is an elegant property built at the end of the nineteenth century, offering a superb selection of extremely comfortable serviced apartments including large three and four bedroom Mansion Apartments. Apartments are distinct and offer spacious accommodation of character, individually designed and decorated. Apartments range from studio's to four bedroom apartments offering a choice of layouts to suit the needs of everyone from business travellers to large family groups. In this lively and cosmopolitan part of London there are numerous cafes and restaurants suiting all budgets. Or if you prefer to stay in and self-cater, the fully equipped kitchens will meet all your needs. The superb shopping of Westfield London, Europe’s largest urban shopping mall, the King’s Road in Chelsea and High Street Kensington are all a short distance away, with Harrods and Knightsbridge also close by. London’s major attractions are also easily reached, including three of the finest museums in the world and exhibitions at Olympia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your No 1. The Mansions by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansions Apartments Hotel London
Mansions Apartments London
Mansions Apartments Hotel London
No 1. The Mansions By Mansley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing