We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation and really handy to the Underground” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of No 1. The Mansions by Mansley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Ranked #217 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and really handy to the Underground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a lovely stay at The Mansions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed there twice on our travels and both rooms were really great and fully equipped. No hesitation in recommending staying here. Make sure you use the Underground as the station is so close. It took us a few days to work that out and we wish we had a lot earlier.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewZealandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMansions, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at No1 The Mansions and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    127
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
209
20
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our family of 7 stayed for a week at the Mansions. The space was amazing and the locations was so convenient! We had 3 generations staying there and were so happy to have a place that all of us could unwind, gather together, clean our clothes and ourselves!

The staff was very helpful. We had great drivers pick us up at Heathrow. We were able to leave our bags there before check in.

The rooms were huge compared to other European rooms! The amenities were wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicagoMom0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMansions, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Mansions and we thank you for your review and great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here only a week ago and cannot fault it. Our family stayed here for 7 nights and enjoyed every moment. It was in a fantastic location close to tube station, pubs supermarkets etc, the staff were also very helpful. The apartment no 12 top floor was well equipped and was serviced everyday which was amazing for apartments, we used to say after a hard day out - the fairies have been again. Definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at The Mansions and thank you ever so much for your great review. I will pass on your comments to our little fairies and we look forward to seeing you again at The Mansions in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Having lived in London previously, we know accommodation is not cheap.

The Mansions, was great because being an apartment and not a hotel, provides great value for money in comparison to nearly all hotels in London.

First let me say, The mansions is not without its faults, its a bit worn out and in need of some "maintenance" , and my bed was a bit average as well and dont mention the lift, its tiny, but the location is great, close to many pubs (as is everywhere in London!) close to the tube station at Earls Court, the area surrounding seems quite safe and there are plenty of cafes and shops within a close walk, you really feel like a part of "suburban London"

Our 2 x2 on the 5th floor was quite spacious and the kitchen is great size by London standards, Wifi is free, it really is quite a nice place to stay at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: If theres more than 2 of you, pay the bit extra and go the 2 bed 2 bath apartments, they give you ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daphne_blake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

As a family of 6, with 4 children aged 7 thru 13, we struggle with hotels large enough to accomodate us. After doing alot of research we booked 5 nights in one of their apartments. They were extremely easy and pleasant to deal with during the booking, and arranged free pickup from Heathrow to the apartment when we arrived in from Australia. When we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful.

The apartment was fantasitic. We had a 3 bedroom apartment and it was huge. The kids absolutley loved it and it was so nice to have the space to relax in comfort after a days sightseeing in London. The apartment was really well equipped in terms of cooking utensils etc etc and tey even provided dishwashing powders, garbage bags etc etc.

The location was also great......5 min walk to Earls Court Tube which was only a few stops from the centre of London. Around the tube stations were pubs, restaurants and shops. There are also buses within a 5 min walk that go into the heart of London (if you prefer to be above ground).

The apartment is on Earls Court Road, which is reasonably busy. While you could hear the traffic in the apartment, the windows were double glazed so it was not at all bad. The bedrooms were at the back of the apartment away from the road, so no issue with noise there.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this apartment for a family visiting london

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJFCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently stayed in a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment for 5 nights. There were 4 of us, ( 2 couples) so there was heaps of room. The rooms were quite large and the bathrooms were great. The kitchen was really handy especially having the washing machine / dryer. The apartment was a little noisy at times due to the construction across the road, and there is a bit of traffic noise but not too bad. The apartment was excellent size and excellent location being close to everything - including train station, buses, taxis, great pubs and supermarkets. The only down side to this apartment is that it is quite a bit of a way from the lift and does have some stairs so if you have heaps of luggage its a bit of a pain. But overall I would recommend any couples or families to stay here. There is plenty of room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debster4577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at "No. 1 The Mansions" at 219 Earls Court Road, Kensington, for 11 days from late May to early June 2012. First the good things: the apartment building is well situated. No. 1 The Mansions is only 2 short blocks from the Earls Court Tube Station, which has direct service to Heathrow Airport. Between the apartment and the Tube station are: a Mark’s & Spencer food store, a food coop, a drug store, (Boots), a post office, a currency exchange (ICE), a Barclay’s branch, and several decent restaurants/pubs. Our apartment, (#5), was well stocked with bleach-white towels, and bed linens. My bed was quite comfortable. On the down-side, the carpet in our apartment was old & stained. Old & stained described the 2 sofa as well – in addition to being uncomfortable with cushions that continually needed re-adjusting. Thankfully, none of us had to sleep on the sofa-beds as their “mattresses” were mostly imaginary. The window blinds had to be ‘hand-rolled’, as the state of their operating chains had clearly stymied all previous occupants of the apartment. The washer/dryer combo seems to wash clothing sufficiently over its 1 hour (!) cycle, but it does NOT dry anything at all. (I absolutely agree with MauiRed’s comments that as a courtesy - do NOT run the washer at night as it shakes the floor to an alarming degree.)

I’m torn about the rating. I had such a wonderful vacation in London, that it may unduly influence my review of our apartment. I did try to continually remember that London is one of the most expensive cities in the world – and “No. 1 The Mansions” is not responsible for the poor currency exchange rate I had. I believe that if I were a Brit, the value for my monies & hence my rating of the apartment might have been higher.

Room Tip: The ground & first floor may have too much 'street' noise for you. The 6th floor does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank inncmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#188 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#414 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 1. The Mansions by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 1. The Mansions by Mansley

Property: No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Address: 219 Earls Court Road | Kensington, London SW5 9BN, England (Formerly The Mansions Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No 1. The Mansions by Mansley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.1 The Mansions by Mansley is an elegant property built at the end of the nineteenth century, offering a superb selection of extremely comfortable serviced apartments including large three and four bedroom Mansion Apartments. Apartments are distinct and offer spacious accommodation of character, individually designed and decorated. Apartments range from studio's to four bedroom apartments offering a choice of layouts to suit the needs of everyone from business travellers to large family groups. In this lively and cosmopolitan part of London there are numerous cafes and restaurants suiting all budgets. Or if you prefer to stay in and self-cater, the fully equipped kitchens will meet all your needs. The superb shopping of Westfield London, Europe’s largest urban shopping mall, the King’s Road in Chelsea and High Street Kensington are all a short distance away, with Harrods and Knightsbridge also close by. London’s major attractions are also easily reached, including three of the finest museums in the world and exhibitions at Olympia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your No 1. The Mansions by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansions Apartments Hotel London
Mansions Apartments London
Mansions Apartments Hotel London
No 1. The Mansions By Mansley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing