We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment in Earls Court”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Ranked #138 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great apartment in Earls Court”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 6th floor of the Mansions apartments. The 6th floor is accessed by a charming elevator to the 5th floor with a flight of stairs to gain access to the 6th floor. The stairs were quite a challenge with heavy cases, but as you only need to negotiate this at the beginning and end of the stay it wasn't so bad. However, if one of the travelling party has mobility issues you may want to check that your apartment will be on floors 1 - 5 when booking.

For London standards (having previously lived in apartments in London) we found the apartment an excellent size. The bedrooms were large enough for a double or 2 twin beds with changing room as well. The sizable cupboards allowed your clothes / cases to be packed away. The kitchen was of good size with dishwasher, washing machine, microwave and full size oven. The bathrooms looked like they had been newly renovated with plenty of hot water. A particularly good thing was that plenty of soap, dishwashing powder, loo paper, rubbush bags, tea, coffee was supplied, which mean't we didn't need to buy any of these items for our 6 day stay (something that is not always provided).
Location was also excellent with the Earls Court tube a short walk and a M&S nearly accross the road. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PerthFamily75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    134
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
232
20
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. For London's standards it was very nice and spacious...for "London's standards"! We had a complimentary car pick us up from Heathrow on arrival, and after enduring such a long flight from Australia, and an hour in line for customs........this service was a true blessing. My complaints are only minimal. The wardrobes tended to slide off their hinges when you opened them, in both bedrooms. The kitchen didn't have a dishwasher, the washing machine took hours to wash anything and it was a very, very small kitchenette for a family. Having a kitchen did save us a huge amount on food. We had been lead to believe by our travel agent, that a 2 bedroom would sleep 4 people. We found on arrival, one double bed and one single bed! One of us had to sleep on the fold out couch in the lounge, but that was ok.
The location is fantastic.AI really buzzing, great spot. Close to Earls Court tube and a really nice spot to take some walks around. The manager was very welcoming and helpful during our stay. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mel7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I took a risk booking this place as the reviews are hit and miss. It all seems to depend on which apartment you are given. Fortunately we had a hit and were delighted to be upgraded to a 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom Apartment (on the 1st Floor) that had a separate dining room and a lounge room. We only needed 2 bedrooms so chose the inner ones not facing Earl’s Court Road. We all had peaceful nights’ sleep in lovely comfortable beds. The heating system worked well, there was plenty of hot water and I was very happy with the kitchen which had a full size stove, large fridge, microwave, electric kettle and toaster. There were also sufficient cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery. The front loader washing machine was easy to operate. During office hours, you are allowed free access to a computer (in the office) which was very handy for us as we do not travel with a laptop.

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed for 4 nights (Monday to Thursday) and wish we’d allowed more days. There’s so much to see in London and it’s very easy to get around using the tube – Earl’s Court Station is only 5 minutes up the road. Earl’s Court Road has everything you need re supplies for the kitchen and if you don’t want to cook there are lots of restaurants/pubs. We only had 2 problems during our stay. One was that the in room safe jammed locking our passports inside. Fortunately this happened 2 days before leaving and the problem was resolved in time. The other was our room was not serviced on one of the days. The office/reception is only open during business hours so if you return “after hours” there’s no one to see. They do however give you an “after hours” phone number for emergencies/serious problems. Despite these small problems, we would be more than happy to stay at “No. 1 The Mansions” again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YarraValley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, GA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We were very pleased when we arrived early in the morning at Heathrow and had two friendly drivers waiting to transport the six of us to our flat. We were able to get right in. We had a three bedroom, two bath unit with a large living area and kitchen. We felt it was as roomy as a fair-sized home. Everything was very clean, the decor was not luxurious but attactive, and the beds were comfortable. We loved the area - the nearby grocery and pharmacy , the pub just down the street, the many reasonable ethnic restaurants in the neighborhood, and, best of all, the proximity to the tube station. The water was a bit funky at times, and the office personnel were not very friendly; but those are the only negatives I could mention. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gafarmgirl623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed in a three bedroom/two bath (2A). Perfect location- in the midst of it all, yet quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHRSTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed two nights at The Mansions and found our 2 bedroom apartment to be very conveniently located and surprisingly quiet. The staff were very helpful and looked after our luggage while we went sight-seeing, as we arrived at about 8am. The apartment was clean and comfortable with all mod cons. It was very close to the Earl's Court subway and there were shops and restaurants wihtin a block or so away. We would certainly stay there again, should we find ourselves in London once more!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warick464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We really enjoyed The Mansions. We had a two bed two bath apartment, it was unit 6 on the 5th floor, which does have a lift going to it. We could use the wifi with no problems in the unit but did see other people sitting in the hallways with laptops. Our room was clean and tidy with everything we needed. There was a small market store nearby that sold most food/supplies that you needed to feed yourself. We did find the beds a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Euro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#159 of 1,067 in London
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#44 of 1,067 in London
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 1. The Mansions by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 1. The Mansions by Mansley

Property: No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Address: 219 Earls Court Road | Kensington, London SW5 9BN, England (Formerly The Mansions Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No 1. The Mansions by Mansley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.1 The Mansions by Mansley is an elegant property built at the end of the nineteenth century, offering a superb selection of extremely comfortable serviced apartments including large three and four bedroom Mansion Apartments. Apartments are distinct and offer spacious accommodation of character, individually designed and decorated. Apartments range from studio's to four bedroom apartments offering a choice of layouts to suit the needs of everyone from business travellers to large family groups. In this lively and cosmopolitan part of London there are numerous cafes and restaurants suiting all budgets. Or if you prefer to stay in and self-cater, the fully equipped kitchens will meet all your needs. The superb shopping of Westfield London, Europe’s largest urban shopping mall, the King’s Road in Chelsea and High Street Kensington are all a short distance away, with Harrods and Knightsbridge also close by. London’s major attractions are also easily reached, including three of the finest museums in the world and exhibitions at Olympia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your No 1. The Mansions by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansions Apartments Hotel London
Mansions Apartments London
Mansions Apartments Hotel London
No 1. The Mansions By Mansley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing