We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room with the boyfriend <3”
Review of San Domenico House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Domenico House
Ranked #559 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Lovely room with the boyfriend <3”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We only stayed for 1 night for the price of 165 pounds excluding VAT (pretty good for a 5 star hotel, found deal on trivago). I have to say this hotel is one of the bests I've ever been in my experience, It started with me and Luke (boyfriend) turning up at around 12:50pm at the door knocking to be let in by the staff, they were really nice and helped us show us the room, we were let in earlier than 2pm which I really liked. when we got to our room (204) it was absolutely lush, it was also a good size, they even had sprigs of lavender on the bed pillows. the bathroom was stunning (I've uploaded pictures to show) and the bed was actually delightful to sleep in, the covers were soft and you can tell they were good Egyptian cotton.

We were given an upgrade room which is the Junior Suit to what we had before which was the Gallery suit but me being me I wanted the Gallery suit as it was 2 floors. They upgraded us because our room had a light to be fixed, I didn't mind that being done as the electrician came down in like 20-30minutes and was finished in wouldn't say more than 8 minutes. Once that was done the cleaners did pop by to clean the small mess the electricians had made. (didn't take more than 5 minutes to clean). I wouldn't say these are issues for us as we did turn up earlier than expected but they made our stay absolutely perfect, this hotel is also 5 minutes from Sloane square station and kings road. I would definitely come back here. San Domenico House watch out for us 2 again! :)

Room Tip: Our room was 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0xanne_Px
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    48
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
76
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a quirky place! The location is good and quiet and the bed was comfortable and room clean. I think it is intended to be quintessentially ‘English’ but suspect the owners aren’t so this is a non-Brit’s take on what is ‘typically English’, and probably appeals more to those who are not natives unless you appreciate an eclectic mix of pictures everywhere and high-camp style with sprigs of lavender on the pillows and rose petals down the loo on arrival for example. The picture of a Madonna and grotesquely obese child over the bed was a rather bizarre juxtaposition and there was an odd chair that was too wide to fit under the writing desk so was both annoying and a health and safety issue. Staff were polite and efficient but they desperately need to learn how to make tea properly (given there are no facilities in the room). I have to put up with being served a pot of hot water and tea bags on the side when overseas as they don’t know any better, but in my own country I do expect when ordering a pot of tea that is exactly what I’ll get and not a DIY job. We were advised to book a table in the sub-terranean breakfast room the night before and when we did, were then expected to say exactly there and then what we wanted. At 11pm and suffering from a tummy-bug I had no idea what I might feel like 9 hours later! This is the only place we’ve stayed for years that didn’t do a breakfast buffet so ended up having to have fruit salad/cereal/yogurt etc afterwards (because of course we'd had to order the night before). Hot water and tea bag job again was their idea of doing a pot of tea. Too be honest we found it so much hassle (and at more than £20 each, not exactly cheap) that we decided to do our own thing the next day and would suggest that anyone else staying Mon-Sat do the same – we walked 5 mins down the road to Peter Jones were you can have breakfast in their spacious skyline cafeteria at reasonable prices from 9.30 onwards and where of course you get a perfect cup of tea!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I would love to give this boutique hotel/bed and breakfast 5 stars but although certain aspects were perfect, such as the location (just off Sloane Square) which is really great, the quirkiness of the hotel, the great decoration and the lovely room we had with a little balcony there are a couple of reasons for me not to. The first is that there are a lot of stairs. No problem for us but could be if stairs are an issue, even with the small lift. We were on the top floor and there were a couple of flights after the lift. Second the breakfast was not the best value and being down in the basement a little small. The service was fine and everyone tried hard. The fact you have to ring the bell to get in adds a 'country house' feel to the place. We had tea brought to the Library and it was perfect. We stayed for two nights and would stay again. Slightly high in price but you are paying for the location.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor facing south. The room had a small balcony. Try to go for a balcony if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pringle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was a lucky find!
My first time to stay in a small boutique hotel. I admit, I loved it!!
Location is nice and staff was excellent. The only thing I don't recommend here is food and probably the room was a bit noisy at night, but what helped was that we are on a small street with not much traffic anyways.

Otherwise rooms are perfect, clean and very nice like rooms in a French palace.
Me and my wife loved our stay in this hotel and will do it again if we come to London.

Look at the rooms in the virtual tour on the hotels web site.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T2-Terminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Wow! What a fantastic hotel! The service was fantastic! The Room was excellent! The value for money was supreme! The staff was flawless!

Great hotel in a very good location. Convenient to tube stops, great restaurants a short distance away. The atmosphere was very nice. Antiques in the lobby and rooms. Nicely appointed but not over the top. The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Any place where I'm greeted by name both on arrival and throughout my stay is tops in my book. The rooms were nicely sized. I highly recommend a stay here. I'll be back even if it means traveling a bit further.

Very convenient to Sloan Square an on a major bus and taxi route so always good transport options.

Great job, kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_n_Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight so that we could meet friends in a nearby restaurant. We had not been to the hotel before and only heard of it when we searched for hotels near to the restaurant. The location was excellent and only just of the Kings Road and nearby to an under ground Car park which the hotel offered discounts on. The hotel was small, very nicely furnished and service was excellent from the start to the finish. We stayed in a galleried suite which as the name suggests sits on two levels. The furnishings were antique and very nicely done. The bathroom had a bath and shower which was perfect. The Molton Brown products etc were all very nice. The bed, although fairly small for a double, was a very comfortable four poster with very nice bed linens. There was a nightly turn down service too which was a nice touch. Mini bar was well stocked And fruit left In the room is always well received. We checked out fairly early after a decent sleep skipping breakfast so we cannot comment on the food. We were offered breakfast in bed as an option when we checked in and the options seemed very good. Only small criticism is that the windows only had a blind rather than black out drapes which did not help the hoped for lie in. Check out was painless and very quick. The staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mccarthymrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

As I rely on these TripAdvisor reviews for my travels, I am leaving a long, detailed review and include the things I always find helpful to know myself. I had a very enjoyable 10-day stay for business at this lovely hotel - a boutique guest house feel which is beautifully appointed in Old English style and lavishly decorated with beautiful antique furniture, classic artwork on the walls and all up and down the staircases, fantastic attention to detail, and a warm friendly feeling throughout. I booked through Booking.com and got a really good rate. My room was quite large (#201), with high ceilings, a sofa and two chairs, and even a fireplace (which I could not figure out how to work, however), and operating windows, which is a plus for London hotels in my experience. Marble bath with Moulton Brown toiletries, tub/shower combination (with overhead shower, not just hand-held), heated towel racks, bathrobes and slippers, and smallish but roomy enough. King bed was very comfortable, linens were soft and plush - but the pillows were exceptionally soft and downy - so comfy! Small fridge and personal safe in the room (the safe accommodated my laptop, even though they thought it would not). Free WiFi in the rooms and throughout the hotel, and worked perfectly all the time. Though I am not one who cares much for TV while I'm in London (who wants to be inside watching the telly??), I found that the flat-screen TV was more than sufficient, and there were dozens of channels, contrary to what one reviewer says. The service at the hotel was impeccable, every single staff person was gracious and extremely helpful, always ready to give any assistance and afford any small convenience you could possibly want. They were polite, friendly, professional and experienced. They all remembered me right from the first day, and I was always called by name - very nice touch. They arrange car service to/from the airport, help with directions, and any request, big or small. Sloane Sq tube station is a couple mins walk, very convenient - and some nice restaurants nearby. Overall, very lovely hotel and well managed and elegant.
There were very few minuses, and not many things I would suggest that could improve the stay here, but the one biggest thing I would mention is that there was no tea/coffee making service in the room. This is the one thing I always look forward to in a London hotel, and I was a little shocked that they don't provide it. I had a pot of tea sent to the room, but the price was very high - more than 10 pounds I recall. There is no restaurant or bar (which I knew going in), only a breakfast room, and room service with a limited menu (and pricey), but that stops between 9:30 and 10 pm - even for drinks. The fridge is stocked with various items,, but for a hefty price. But there was enough room for me to keep my own snacks and yogurt, which was a plus. There was no full length mirror in my room, which I really missed. Also, the hair dryer cannot be plugged in in the bathroom, it has to be used in the bedroom (UK regulations, I understand). However, in my room, there was no convenient mirror near enough to a wall socket where the cord could reach, so it was a bit of a challenge. Also, the desk didn't have a lamp on it, so was a bit too dark to set up a workspace for my laptop (though they were so accommodating, I might have been able to get a lamp if I had asked). Small complaints overall, and it was a lovely stay even with these inconveniences. As there is no restaurant at the hotel, I highly recommend The Gallery Mess restaurant which is part of The Saatchi Gallery (but open past Gallery hours) on Duke of York Square, right off the King's Road, about a 5 min walk from the hotel. The homemade squash ravioli with sage was exquisite and truly exceptional - and reasonably priced for other restaurants in that area! There is also lovely outdoor seating, overlooking the expansive green lawns outside the gallery - they seemed to have an active night life as well, with a young crowd at the bar. The Saatchi Gallery is a great gallery not to be missed, and FREE! On Saturdays, there was an outdoor market there on the Duke of York promenade which had exceptional vendors with exotic foods and breads, cheeses, seafood and other homemade specialties Also, for fantastic pastries and little tarts and quiches, don't miss Paul on the King's Road. Partridge's grocery is across from the Saatchi Gallery, and has lovely fresh provisions including imported delicacies from France and Spain, as well as fresh breads, yogurts, sandwiches, teas, and lots of specialty items. More restaurants on nearby Brompton Rd - try the authentic little French restaurant Aubaine. As for shopping, you will find the dozens of high end boutiques which Sloane Sq is famous for, but expect to pay the high end prices as well. I recommend a trip to Camden Town for the Markets in the Camden Locks instead! Funky, one of a kind finds there, with stalls, shops, pubs and restaurants on cobbled streets - should be seen at least once if you're in London!

Room Tip: My room #201 was large and comfortable with bright morning sun. It faced the street, but I did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lka0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#87 of 1,069 in London
801 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#30 of 1,069 in London
668 reviews
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#515 of 1,069 in London
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
#221 of 1,069 in London
456 reviews
Belgravia
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#205 of 1,069 in London
1,145 reviews
Chelsea
The Franklin
The Franklin
#548 of 1,069 in London
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico House

Property: San Domenico House
Address: 29-31 Draycott Place, London SW3 2SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#155 Business Hotel in London
#183 Romantic Hotel in London
#336 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico House 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Hotel housed in a red brick Victorian terrace dating from the 1860s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your San Domenico House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Domenico House Hotel London
San Domenico Hotel
San Domenico House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing