We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We loved the Egerton House Hotel. We recently spent 2 nights during the Christmas holidays at this charming hotel. The staff and the service was excellent, they had the perfect blend of personality and professionalism. All members of the staff care to high standards and are very attentive to details. We stayed in room 43 which was an amazing room. Spotless and gorgeous with a lovely decoration. The cozy bar was a perfect place for before or after dinner drinks as well as afternoon tea in the drawing room was a truly british experience. End of all this hotel is in a fantastic location. We can't wait to return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank katigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review for us following your stay over the Christmas period and I am delighted that you found the hotel to be charming and that the staff and service was excellent with the perfect blend of personality and professionalism.

I am so pleased that you liked your room and you thought it was amazing. All rooms are delightful and individual and we have a very dedicated team of housekeepers who work incredibly hard to make sure that they are indeed spotless. Our cosy little bar is so inviting and as you said is perfect for before and after dinner drinks. The atmosphere is so warm. It is nice that you managed an Afternoon tea as it is a truly British experience.

I have passed you kind comments to the team who appreciate it very much and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another visit in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    83
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
241
695
91
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I selected Egerton House Hotel for its location and reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. From the elegant appointment of the room to the delicious meals to the charm and hospitality of the staff - the hotel more than lived up to its billing!

We stayed for four nights in December in a Deluxe Queen Room and booked The Knightsbridge Experience package, which included breakfast each day, traditional afternoon tea on one day and a bottle of champagne on arrival and which turned out to be very good value for money.

While all the meals we had at the hotel were very good, a special mention must be made of the afternoon tea, which was simply fabulous. As with everything about this hotel, it was not just a question of the quality or quantity of what was offered, but the extra little touches that elevated the experience - for instance, the flaked almonds added to the egg sandwiches, which turned an otherwise commonplace snack into a gourmet delight…

While everything about the hotel was redolent of genteel English elegance, it was the staff and the service that made our visit so very pleasant. Rosslee, the Front of House Manager, is a wonderfully warm and friendly person and she went out of her way to make our stay memorable, even surprising us with a complimentary romantic turndown (that was not a part of our package) when we returned from dinner on our first evening (as I recall from the website, the hotel usually charges around GBP 35 for this as an optional add-on) - a lovely touch that was most appreciated.

Then there was Antonio, the absolute character in charge of the hotel bar who, far from being miffed at the fact that I initially mistook him for Spanish instead of the proud Italian that he is, gave me a second Martini on the house when I tried to atone for my gaffe by trotting out my knowledge of Italian swear-words, which he was tickled pink to hear…

It wasn't just the two I mentioned, though, it was every single member of staff, from the cheerful delivery of breakfast to our room in the morning, to the smilingly efficient cleaning ladies - everyone in the hotel made us feel welcome and cared-for.

With staff like this, it's hardly a surprise that Red Carnation hotels are four out of the top five on TripAdvisor's London reviews at any given point in time!

Room Tip: The garden-facing rooms have a very pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

How very kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review and we all greatly appreciate your time. It is so rewarding to hear that we lived up to our billing. We do work incredibly hard to make sure that each and every guest has a memorable stay so I am thrilled that we did this for you.

The Knightsbridge experience package is quite popular as it does include breakfast Afternoon tea and a bottle of champagne and I am pleased that you thought that the Afternoon tea was fabulous. It is quite a nice idea to add the almonds to the egg sandwiches and we do get quite a few comments about this.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback about the team who do pride themselves on the high level of service that is provided for our guests and I have passed your kind words to all and especially Rosslee who sends her best wishes. She is thrilled that you enjoyed and appreciated your romantic turndown.

Antonio is an institution in himself and is very proud to be Sicilian. He insists on telling people of his heritage as soon as he gets them through the door so I am surprised that you did not get this before you made the slip up. Still if it got you a martini on the house that was a bonus. He is certainly a character and is loved by everyone.

I am so pleased that throughout your stay that you felt welcomed and cared for and I do hope that you will make this your home away from home and visit us in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stay at the Egerton on a weekly basis and if you want to feel special and pampered at one of the best hotels in London then you have found the one. Impressive service from all staff members, including the reception, restaurant, bar and housekeeping staff. All members of the staff adhere to high standards and are very attentive to detail, they all seem to work together seamlessly to make our stay at the Egerton very memorable. The decor is very traditionally British and well-maintained throughout. The food at Egerton is tasteful and there are also a number of other restaurants easily accessible nearby. Wonderful place to stay, it feels like home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay at The Egerton House and for your continued support. It is always our pleasure to welcome you back time after time.

I am so pleased to hear that you always feel special and pampered and that you find the service very impressive. We do provide a very high standard of service and want each and every guest to feel as you do. I am delighted that you like the decor, location and that it is a wonderful place to stay.

I have passed your kinds words to all the team who look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home very soon.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Egerton House Hotel is worthy of the exceptionally high rating that it has and is likely to maintain. The staff truly carry out meaning of customer service. The hotel itself is small, intimate and impeccably maintained. The breakfast is, not only delicious, but presented with flair and grace. Location is perfect and it is just a short walk from Harrods.
Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lydias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you feel that the hotel is worth the exceptionally high rating that it has on the site and thank you for taking the time to post a review for us also. It is by such lovely reviews that we maintain our high ranking and it also motivates us to work even harder to stay at the top. I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the staff, location and it is rewarding to hear that you are planning to return again.

We look forward to welcoming you back and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in December for two days and truly enjoyed our mini break. What a charming place. Fabulous location, quiet, beautifully decorated rooms,delicious food and the staff was friendly, professional and attentive. The waffles from the breakfast menu are scrumptious- Yum yum!
I think we have found our new hotel in London.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vytaute2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us following your mini break in December and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope you hade a nice rest. I am happy to hear that you found the hotel charming the location fabulous and quiet and that the rooms were beautifully decorated. I have passed you nice comments to all the team with a special mention to chef who prepares the waffles.

I do hope that you will return in the not too distant future for another break and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of asssistance

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Egerton House Hotel - again - several times in 2013. We were accompanied by different family members at different times and managed a couple of stays on our own. As usual we were beautifully looked after by the friendly and welcoming staff. We love the luxurious comforts and personalised service and truly feel we are 'at home' when in London. Everything about this hotel is first class including the accommodations and staff. We always enjoy our leisurely breakfasts. We have stayed at the hotel numerous times and are planning our 2014 visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued support of The Egerton House Hotel and it is always our great pleasure taking care of you both. We are very grateful for your second review of the hotel and I am thrilled that you have come back so many times and indeed in 2013 with the family as well . I am so pleased that you always feel well looked after and at home. That is exactly how we want you to feel as it is your home away from home.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in 2014 and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with your bookings.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The highlight of this trip to London was staying at the Egerton House Hotel. Upon arrival, we were ushered into the lovely bar with a welcoming glass of champagne while our room was finishing the housekeeping. Every detail of this hotel was top notch. . . staff, the accomodation and of course, Antonio's martinis. We had a wonderful stay and cannot wait to return. Michelle and all her staff made these two travelers feel right at home. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in London.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dancedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is rewarding to hear that the highlight of your trip was your visit to The Egerton House Hotel and thank you for sharing your experience on the site. I am so pleased that you were well looked after from the moment you arrived and you enjoyed your welcome glass of champagne. It is such a lovely treat and makes for a good start to the visit. I am also delighted that you felt that everything was top notch from the staff, the accommodation to Antonio’s martini.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Property: Egerton House Hotel
Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#2 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London
Egerton House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing