We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why Can't Every Hotel Be Like This?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Egerton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Why Can't Every Hotel Be Like This?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

London is always a challenge when it comes to hotels. Yes, it is an expensive city but you often simply don't get what you paid for. Our hotel of choice for years was The Goring, but we decided to try something different, smaller, and hopefully more "intimate". The Egerton House Hotel was the perfect choice. I could write paragraph after paragraph about what exactly they do correctly from the moment you walk through the door until you check out. But just trust me on this one. You will love this hotel. The customer service, the attention to detail, the very popular bar/den area, the rooms with fantastic air conditioning all just make it a wonderful stay. Be sure to order a martini in the bar after a long day of sightseeing and their club sandwich is the absolute best I've had anywhere, any country! Divine after theater. Our search for the perfect London hotel is over and we will be returning for another stay in the Spring of 2014.

Room Tip: Like most rooms in Europe, some may find the rooms a tad small. Consider upgrading to a larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsExpat97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take care of you on your recent visit to The Egerton House Hotel and for trying The Egerton House Hotel and I am delighted that we met with your expectations and you felt that it was the perfect hotel choice. Thank you also for sharing your feedback on the site which is very much appreciated. I am thrilled that the customer service, the attention to detail the bar the rooms in fact everything made for a wonderful stay. You even managed to try once of Antonio’s killer martini’s. I am so pleased that you feel that your search for your London Hotel is over and we certainly want you to feel that this is now your new London home.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
227
655
88
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent one night here post cruise and wish it could have been much longer. A delightful hotel with attentive staff and luxury ammenities. My room was beautifully appointed and the bathroom even offered heated towels with my initial on them. Oh yes, it might have been the initials of the hotel, but it worked for me. I felt as thought I had been invited to stay at someone's warm and hospitable home. The price reflected the service I received and was well worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liztravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words that we are the best little hotel in town. We certainly do our best to be just that.

It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed out attentive staff, your room and luxury amenities and of course the robe with your very own initial “E” .

We do like to think of The Egerton as a home away from home and we were delighted to be able to look after you and that you felt like you were in someone’s hospital home. That said I do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of any assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The perfect blend of convenience, charm and personal service. The staff is attentive and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and attractive and the location puts guests within easy reach of everything London has to offer. Just a fantastic experience from beginning to end. If you're going London, stay at the Egerton House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKandAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site for us and I am delighted that you found the hotel to be the perfect blend of convenience, charm and personal service. Wonderful to hear that the staff were attentive and helpful and that the rooms comfortable and attractive. I am so pleased that your experience was fantastic from beginning to end and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great bentley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this lovely hotel rooms were beautiful and attention to detail was perfect
Great location for shopping not to far on tube for going in to central although we never had a evening meal,breakfast was nice
We will be back well done

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the site for us and we are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the rooms, attention to detail, location and breakfast. We are very centrally located only 7 minutes from 2 tube stations so makes getting around the city and shopping very easy.

I am thrilled that you plan on coming to stay with us again and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can assist with a booking.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We loved this hotel. The staff is polite, professional and friendly and always available to help with restaurant suggestions, directions, etc. Our room #3 was graciously appointed with wonderful amenities, fresh fruit plate, comfy robes. The location is great for shopping and strolling and not too far from the Underground. The bar area is lovely and the bartender Antonio is quite well-known. His martini is excellent and he even serenaded us with some opera. The lobby has these large jars of goodies that are pre-wrapped and you are encouraged to take as much as you wish. The breakfast buffet was lovely and a wonderful way to start the day. All these touches however to not come cheaply. Their afternoon cream tea with a glass of champagne was over 40 pounds per person ( approximately $60US) and those yummy martinis were 20pounds each (approximately $30US). As long as you know what to expect you will have a wonderful experience at this first-rate hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on the site following your stay with us and I am thrilled to read that you loved the hotel, that the staff were polite professional and friendly and were happy to assist with all your requests. I am pleased you liked your room and the amenities we provide, we do try to think of everything that our guests need for a most comfortable stay so I am glad that you appreciated all the little extras. The goodies jars in reception as are huge hit, our guests love them and are delightful little on the go snacks. And you got to meet the maestro himself. Antonio loves his martini and his opera and takes great pride in his little bar.

The best way to start the day is indeed with a good breakfast and I am pleased you thought it was wonderful.

I have passed your very kind comments to all the team who do appreciate it and I do hope that you will visit us once again in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a very romantic honeymoon there! Suite 32 with good views, staff there had organized candles and rose petals in our room. The only small problem experienced was the drain in the basin was a bit slow, but didn't really bother us. Well, also there is no separate shower from the bath. Overall the staff was really friendly and helpful! (The lady even borrowed us money to take a cab when we were late for our show!). The location is perfect, 5 min walking distance from Herrods!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on the site and I am thrilled to hear that you had a very romantic honeymoon with us and that you appreciated the romantic turndown that we organised for you. We love to join the celebrations and we want to make your special occasion very special. Apologies that the drain was a bit slow and be assured we asked maintenance to check it as soon as it came to our attention. All our showers are in the bath except for out Victoria and Albert suite which has a completely separate shower room. I am glad that overall you found the staff friendly and helpful and that the location was perfect.

Thank you once again for your review and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

... the Egerton staff has excelled in it. The attention was polite but involved, with a lot of empathy toward the guest. The room was a little bit small, but enough for a very good stay, nice rest and quiet sleep.
The location is good, except maybe a little distanced for those that like to ride the Tube. The breakfast is a little bit on a short side for London's standard.
And...do not miss a great Martini served by this place's institution Mr. Antonio. All in all an excellent choice for a short visit to London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us and it is very rewarding to read that the staff excelled, that the attention was polite but involved and that you appreciated our sincerity towards our guests. It is our goal to make sure that each and every guests is well looked after and receive the highest level of service that we can provide. All our rooms do vary in size but are very comfortable and I am pleased that you had a very good stay, nice rest and quiet sleep. That is what a vacation is all about. We are centrally located only 7 minutes from Knightsbridge tube station and 7 minutes from South Kensington by foot, however I appreciate that not everyone will want to walk and may find it a bit far. I have also passed your comment on breakfast to our Food and Beverage Manager.

I am so pleased that you managed to sample one of Antonio’s martini’s, he definitely is an institution and absolutely loves what he does what he does.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance or if you decide to visit The Egerton House Hotel again.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Property: Egerton House Hotel
Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London
Egerton House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing