We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaah! Home at last!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Aaah! Home at last!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The philosophy of this small group of hotels is one of anticipating the guests' needs and then exceeding their expectations - and they succeed brilliantly. This really did feel like coming home, and we relaxed into the environment of cherishing as the front door closed behind us. Truly, nothing was too much trouble. We let the front desk know that my wife would need a strict gluten-free diet and staff went shopping specially for her to provide bread and biscuits and other ingredients. We were utterly reassured that they understood and provided all the special care that is necessary for people with coeliac disease and with none of the huffing and puffing that so often results when we explain what is required. Quite the opposite in fact: they seemed delighted to be able to demonstrate with a practical example of their attention to detail and care. We loved the comfortable room, the spotless bathroom, the Penhaligon's toiletries, the welcoming bar and the knock-out martinis. Leaving was a real wrench, we would much rather have sold up and moved in permanently.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheapmuesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a lovely heading “ Home at last!” . I am thrilled that you felt at home as that is exactly how we want you to feel. Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to share them following your stay with us.

Thank you also for letting us know about your wife’s intolerance it is only by providing this information that we can assist in getting products that will suit her diet. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and I am glad that you appreciated our gesture. Every aspect of our guests stay is important to us and if there is anything we can do to enhance it then consider it done.

So delighted that you loved the room, the bathroom and the wonderful Penhaligon's toiletries and that you experienced Antonio, the cosy bar and his renowned martini’s.

The Egerton is a little home away from home and now that you have found your new home away from home I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    86
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
252
728
92
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We have family and friends to stay with in the London but will still be tempted to stay here for at least a couple of nights in our trips to the UK going forward.

The staff are very hospitable. We enjoyed the hot chocolates in the drawing room during the day and martinis at the hotel bar before our dinner reservations.

Bala.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found it hard to leave and I trust that means that you will return to us on a future visit.

We do like to spoil our guests with little treats and the hot chocolate in the drawing is a huge success with everyone and is very welcomed on a cold wintery day.

I am glad you got to experience Antonio’s martini’s as it is an experience in itself. I have passed your kind comments to all the team who really do appreciate it and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Warm regards,


Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our stay at Egerton House Hotel exceeded expectation and expectations were high. One of the best hotel experiences I have had ever. The dedication of the staff and their sincerity in this pursuit was exemplary. The room was superb, location perfect and attention to detail flawless. The team were warm and friendly, anticipating every need without being intrusive. I do hope not too much time elapses before we can return to London to stay at the Egerton again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAofMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review following you stay with us at The Egerton House Hotel. It is very rewarding to hear we exceeded your expectations and that it was one of the best hotel experiences that you have ever had. What an accolade?

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

I am delighted that you liked your room , our location and above all found our attention to detail flawless.

I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Egerton House Hotel in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed for 1 night to celebrate my husbands birthday. Fantastic experience from the welcome glass of champagne, chocolate dipped strawberries, birthday cake, chilled bottle of champagne on ice, scattered rose petals at turndown and scented candles. What more can I say. Exceptional service, first class breakfast. No request is too much. Would definitely recommend. Previous guest at Hotel 41 and fully intend to try more in the Red Carnation collection.

Room Tip: Booked Classic Double and was upgraded to Deluxe Queen, from what I could see all rooms looked fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments on the site and I am thrilled that your husband enjoyed his birthday and his birthday treats and that you both had a memorable stay with us. I am delighted that you appreciated our service, we do take great pride in ensuring that are guests are well looked after and our motto is "No request too large , no detail too small"
I have passed your kind word to all the team who are very greatful.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Egerton House Hotel on a future visit and in the meantime hope you also have a memorable experience at our sister properties.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is definitely well worth it! It's the type of place you wish you could always afford to stay when you need/want a hotel and it has a 5 star service (the staff was superb at giving suggestions on anything we asked) Our room was clean and comfortable, and the beds felt so good after a day of sightseeing. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Egerton House Hotel and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am very pleased that you recognised the high level of service. We have a very passionate dedicated team who work consistently hard to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us. It is nice to read that you did. I am very pleased to hear that you liked our rooms and found them to be very comfortable.

That said I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Egerton House Hotel on a future visit.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Egerton House is exactly what it sets out to be, a luxury, super chic, small hotel.
I have stayed here many times and would now not consider staying anywhere else. The service and attention to detail are second to none, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAC29_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words about the Egerton House Hotel and we are delighted that you return time after time and would not consider staying anywhere else while in London. As much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us and it is very rewarding to read that the service and attention to detail are second to none.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Egerton in the not too distance future and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance with your booking.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been to London several times and normally stay in a larger hotel. However, with the rave reviews on TA, I decided to give it a shot. Let me just say, the hotel staff is second to none. The location is perfect, close to Harrods and tons of shopping. That being said, out room was the smallest I have encountered in a London hotel. We were really squeezed for space. The thermostat was very finicky and the TV rarely worked as it should(although we don't go there for the tele). This is a very quiet hotel, which is good and bad. Younger patrons will probably find a better place for nightlife at the bar. While we had a nice visit, we will probably go back to a larger setting. Just too quiet and small for our liking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSFMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and for the wonderful comments about the staff which I have passed to everyone.
We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always rewarding that it is recognised. We are very centrally located close to Harrods, the Victoria & Albert Museum and the wonderful shops on Brompton Road.

I am sorry to read that you felt the room was quite small and that you were squeezed for space. All our rooms are very individual and vary in size. I am also disappointed to hear that the thermostat was finicky and that the TV rarely worked. Had you brought these issues to our attention we would have had them rectified immediately so I can only apologies.

The Egerton House is located in a residential street away from the hustle & bustle of the Brompton Road which most guests love, however I do understand that it may not suit everyone and was maybe a bit too small and quiet for you. I totally appreciate that some guests prefer the larger settings.

Once again we very much appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,756 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,068 in London
1,931 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 1,068 in London
390 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Property: Egerton House Hotel
Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#3 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London
Egerton House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing