We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Ranked #351 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very attentive and pleasant staff. I said to my husband that they must have American training, as unusually friendly for a London hotel! (not over the top though).
Great breakfast, really good quality food!
Nice clean and smart room - mentioned the lighting could have been better (as no lamp, just overhead lighting) and recieved an email soon after stating that this will be looked in to by management - with a thank-you! Despite being upgraded, the room wasn't huge, but perfectly fine. I have noticed other comments stating that the rooms are small, so I would probably book a bigger room if staying again - which i definitely would do.
It was my birthday during our visit and we were given a King-Size upgrade and had beautifully decorated cakes delivered to the room :)
Overall the experience was excellent - the best 4* I have stayed at in central London.

Room Tip: Go for the biggest option you can afford, as we had an upgrade, which was lovely (but not that big...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Sandra,

We thank you so very much for your great review. We were so happy to have you here for your birthday and we are so glad that you enjoyed it. I can assure you that we receive our training here in London and not from Americans but we are happy that you felt that American Hospitality whilst you were here.

To keep you updated we are currently in the process of improving the lighting in our rooms with thanks to feedback like yours.

We very much look forward to having you back and to hear what you think of the new lights!

Warm regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,876)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,256 - 2,262 of 3,877 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

I've stayed in many hotels in the London area and this, by far, ranks at the top. The location is easily accessible to the tube station and it is exactly the kind of hotel for the traveler, who does not want to be a tourist, and for the tourist who who does not want to "rough it" like a traveler. In addition to the hotel being immaculately clean, the design is one of bygone elegance and contemporary restraint. The members of the staff are helpful, polite, and friendly, going to great diligence to render outstanding service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade to a double room
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ny2brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your great review! We are simply thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel but most of the all the service. We very much like your idea of us being ideal for a traveller.

We hope you will think of us the next time you are in London.

Kind regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Positive: wonderful staff, good location, good breakfast. Negative: very worn, very small room, very small double bed, crampy bathroom with icy floor.

As this was holiday, the room was ok, but for business it wouldn't be good - the room was so small you couldn't place a chair by the desk. Lighting was poor, only downlights, even by the bed. Also only one (small) elevator, located quite far from our room.

This has obviously been a lovely place at some time in the past, but it needs renovating. It has also lost much of its charm as they've put too many rooms into the building.

Room Tip: Cromwell Road runs just outside the hotel, and gets quite noisy. In summer, it might be a good idea...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuntsopran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review, we very much appreciate your feedback.

We are continuously making efforts to improve our hotel, service, product, restaurant you name it. We are in the process of taking steps to amend issues that you have brought up to us and we thank you for affirming that these changes are the right decision.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our service and the location, those matters are very important to us and of course the food!

We hope you will choose to return to us in the near future, we would love to have your thoughts on our improvements.

Warm regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I've recently stayed for 3 separate weeks as part of a business event (Weekdays). Each week I've had a different room and different experience!
The good bit - hotel staff are first rate, which is increasingly unusual for London sadly. They were exceptionally effective at anything you asked and probably the politest hotel staff I've met in the UK which really sets this hotel apart from others.
The not so good is the structure of the building and restaurant service. The rooms I had were quite eclectic to be polite. I had a ground floor room which had no natural light and was quite noisy as people walk past at all hours via the wooden floor outside. Then I had a room on the 2nd floor which was very comfortable and well appointed apart from the bathtub which was VERY small so no chance for a soak! Finally I had a 1st floor room which was just as well set out until you got to the bathroom as the layout was bizarre especially if you wanted to use the toilet as your legs had to slide under the sink so you could comfortably sit - i'm 5 foot 9 and struggled to use the loo so beware.
If you want to use the room quite a bit and want a good selection of TV choices then you'll also be disappointed as it's quite basic. As you will if you want to use WiFi as the signal was very weak and temperamental.
The rest of the building is quite interesting as I believe this used to be the home of the Vanderbilt family and it has a feel of an old stately home. So it's a really pleasant place to relax in the evenings.
Finally, the poor. The service at the bar is OK if there is only a few people, but when it's more than that then it takes forever to get served. However, that is just a warm up for the restaurant. Whilst the food is good, the service from the waiters/waitresses is brilliant, the service/time from the kitchen is awful. The waiting times were ridiculously long and I would avoid it.
Overall it's a real mixed bag. Well located if you want the Knightsbridge/Kensington end of London. Take care when selecting a room and perhaps explore the local area if you want a bite to eat though.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor and carefully check what your bathroom set-up is like!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear David,

Thank you very much for your candid review, we always take feedback very seriously and we are looking into the stated matters. I have spoken directly with the managers in question to help amend the issues.

We were happy to hear that you found our service to put us apart from other London Hotels. We are also happy to learn that you enjoyed our location and were able to get out and enjoy our surrounding amenities.

We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Warm regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Excellent customer service delivered by friendly and dedicated staff. The hotels free wifi is excellent. Although the single rooms can sometimes be cramped and not particularly comfortable, the TV sets also default to subtitles which are not always easy to turn off! The range and quality of food is superb.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Carlosvandangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Carlos,

Thank you for your great review. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our service here at the hotel. We hope you understand that in historic buildings like ours in the center of London, things can get a little tight but we are happy that you enjoyed your stay!

We hope to see you again soon for a stay and maybe to sample some more of our delicious dishes.

Warm regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We chose this hotel for its location just 5 minutes from Natural History museum along the same road. So easy to get to after landing at Heathrow airport via the Piccadilly underground line then just a couple of minutes walk from Gloucester Road tube station which is also handy for getting into central London sightseeing. Good sized comfortable family room, good shower with plenty hot water, breakfast included in our deal which to be fair was less than some other hotels in the area. Staff all very friendly, cosy bar area for a drink at night and a nice touch upon check-in to be provided with a drink voucher for £12.50. An easy check-in and out process too. Just a couple of points, it might be an idea if the hotel introduced those individual cereal packets giving both kids and adults more cereal choice instead of the two baskets of cheaper non-branded corn/bran flakes and for those little bottles of milk to be in/on a chiller; we prefer milk for cereal to be cold straight from the fridge or at least well chilled. Thanks again for looking after us, we'd definitely come back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarodjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are happy that our location made your trip to London easier and more enjoyable. We are also happy to learn that you found your room to be comfortable for the whole family and that you enjoyed our specil touch at check-in.

We will certainly take your comments regarding breakfast into consideration and we thank you for the feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Nice clean hotel with a good location near Harrods and Harvey Nichols. Very close to the tube station. I stayed there for two nights. Was upgraded to a room at 4th floor which was very nice. Its very close to city centre

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Tommy,

Thank you so much for a great review.

We are happy to hear how conveniently located you find us to be and that we were able to provide comfort for your two nights with us.

We hope you will think of us the next time you are in London.

Warm regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#377 of 1,073 in London
1,160 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#140 of 1,073 in London
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#378 of 1,073 in London
999 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#344 of 1,073 in London
2,142 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#474 of 1,073 in London
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt

Address: 68-86 Cromwell Road | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Family Hotel in London
#232 Business Hotel in London
#248 Luxury Hotel in London
#287 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $179 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing Georgian mansion in fashionable South Kensington, the four star Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt stays faithful to its past but espouses modern comfort in a classic London cityscape of porticos and leafy squares. Moments from London’s world-class museums, step into the frescoed lobby and take in a characterful ambience of open fireplaces, deep sofas for laid-back lounging and quietly stylish rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt Hotel London
Radisson Hotel Edwardian Vanderbilt
Radisson Hotel London
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing