We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceeded my expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Ranked #331 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
430 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My stay at this hotel exceeded y expectations in every aspect.
Rooms are definitely on the small side but they don't lack comfort: I had asked for a single and quiet room and my request was fulfilled. Rarely have I slept in such a silent room!
The room is furnished with a LCD TV screen, safe, kettle, hairdrier and even an iron and an ironing-board. I also found 3 sockets so that I could charge my phone, my iPad and my camera batteries at one time.
Check-in was quick and easy and I was given a hearty welcome by a nice blonde girl who even asked me if I wanted a wake up call and a newspaper (by the way, complimentar copies of the FT are provived in the lobby).
The ambience is very elegant and gives a warm feeling.
The bar is also very nice.
As to the location, it is a 100 metres from the tube station: on the way to the hotel there's a 24/7 service Tesco, a bakery, a small shopping mall and even Boots.
I'll surely make use of this hotel during my next trip to London!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are so thrilled to hear that you were happy with everything from the location to the service and room amenities. We pride ourselves on our service and are always happy to hear that we have done well.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Tom Haveland
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    1,238
    522
    287
    152
See reviews for
607
951
489
968
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

If possible I try and stay in Radisson hotels as their membership is very generous for rewards and I often get treated very nicely. In London I like the Totteham Court Rd hotel but couldn't get in this time
The Edwardian Vanderbilt is average compared to many Radisson hotels.
Firstly the bar area, walked in on sunday anticipating some soccer and NFL action on Sky Sports, but nothing. Maybe I expect too much but when I spend 1800 pounds over 6 nights I expect this facility
On Wednesday I walked into my room after dinner and there are two letters under my door telling me my account is up to 800 pounds and I need to settle it. I am told this is company policy, no its not. Don't insult Radisson customers with this, you have already swiped my card on check in.
Apart from this the hotel is in a good location near a tube station well appointed for Heathrow. The reception, bar area is well decorated for Christmas. Breakfast was okay but I don't know why you are asked to choose continental or English on arrival and why they are priced differently
The room was comfortable with a good Radisson quality bed

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Ian,

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our bar due to the lack of a television. In our Scoff & Banter restaurant it was decided that due it being situated in our hotel with televisions in each room we do not have one in the bar as it also disrupts other guests.

We are happy that you enjoyed our location and would be thrilled to see you again to instill your faith back in The Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt Hotel.

Sincerely,

Tom Haveland
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in London. it has immense Value for money, exceptional service at the front desk. extremely courteous. the proximity to the underground metro and nearby restaurants and pubs is incredible. I will certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skhemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and most of all our hospitality. We very much look forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely,

Tom Haveland
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. The staff were very friendly and attentive. It was very clean and a short walk from the Victoria and Albert Museum and Harrods. We would love to stay here again when we return to London.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica5157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thank you so much for your great review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and location as these are two things that we pride ourselves on.

We very much look forward to having you again!


Sincerely,
Tom Haveland
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel mainly for location. Had tickets for a couple of shows at Royal Albert Hall (Fantastic venue to see a concert) and hotel is within walking distance. Tube stop a couple of minutes away and easy to find. The hotel staff are very friendly with all usually having a smile and a greeting. The hotel itself is a good stay. The rooms are clean, neat and tidy. Lifts are a bit small. Halls and stairways are not very wide so some care has to be taken. Overall our stay at this hotel was a good start to our vacation. Stayed for four nights with not a problem. Not much of a view from the back rooms but the nice room made up for that.

Room Tip: Try for a room out front!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and cleanliness. We hope you will think of us to perhaps start off your next vacation or if you are attending the Royal Albert Hall again. We would be thrilled to have you.

Sincerely,
Tom Haveland
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay with my whole family, the kids loved the huge breakfast buffe and the staff was in return very patience with them. Even the elderly appreciated a good irish coffee at the end of the day, in the cosy bar!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tobbeols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast service and the atmosphere in the bar. I hope you and your family will think of us the next time you visit London, we would be very happy to host you again.

Sincerely,
Tom Haveland
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. I took my family, (2 adults 2 kids), to the winter wonderland in Hyde Park. The location of this hotel is great for all London has to offer. I also took my parents who had a double room and I had a family room. Both were spacious, clean and welcoming. If you want a top notch all out hotel then dig deep and pay £800 / night. If you want a good room with great service, great location and classic styling then book a room at the Radisson Blue.
Thank you for a great stay and see you again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giles t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a magnificent review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and cleanliness. I do hope that you will think of us the next time you are in London as we would be thrilled to host you again.

Sincerely,
Tom Haveland
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#353 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#422 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#333 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#123 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Address: 68-86 Cromwell Road | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Family Hotel in London
#232 Business Hotel in London
#241 Luxury Hotel in London
#287 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing Georgian mansion in fashionable South Kensington, the four star Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt stays faithful to its past but espouses modern comfort in a classic London cityscape of porticos and leafy squares. Moments from London’s world-class museums, step into the frescoed lobby and take in a characterful ambience of open fireplaces, deep sofas for laid-back lounging and quietly stylish rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt Hotel London
Radisson Hotel Edwardian Vanderbilt
Radisson Hotel London
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing