We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Ranked #334 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Beverley United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Booked a £10 afternoon tea deal and couldn't have been more impressed. The waitress couldn't have been more attentive, the setting was sumptuous and there was a beautiful selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones with unlimited hot drinks. In fact it is the only afternoon tea I have had which gave you two scones each. I couldn't fault it. As an added bonus we received a complimentary non-alcoholic cocktail as well. Five stars for the food, the setting and the service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KumarMishra, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for your wonderful compliments.

I am glad you enjoyed your time at the Scoff & Banter, Kensington. It is such feedback that motivates the team to do better and ensure that all our guests have a fantastic time with us.

I hope you will rejoin us again soon to taste the fantastic meals in our restaurant during Lunch & Dinner as well.

Sincerely,
Kumar Mishra
General Manager
Radisson Blu Edwardian, Vanderbilt Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    1,258
    529
    290
    155
See reviews for
621
966
496
986
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon Valley, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stay in this hotel quite often, the location is extremely convenient, and the staff is superb. It is clean and breakfast is quite good. However... Its a rabbit warren of rooms. If you are carrying large suitcases or packages it is quite difficult to navigate. I would give it four stars but for this problem.

Room Tip: Try to get one near a staircase, elevators are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank droogalix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KumarMishra, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your patronage and constructive comments.

I take your compliments and feedback on board, and on this note have installed new signage throughout the hotel which will help our guests navigate through the beautifully restored Edwardian building. the history of this building goes back to the mid 1860's which makes it extremely complicated for us to make extensive changes within. However, I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to London.

Sincerely,
Kumar Mishra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt Hotel in Kensington. The hotel was very nice, an older building that been refurbished with modern bathrooms. Bathrooms may present a bit of a challenge for those with difficulties getting in/out of tubs. The location was excellent. The Natural History Museum was next door, a few steps to the Underground, a five minute walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum, and about ten minutes walk to Harrods. One of our party had recent surgery and they were able to accommodate my request for a room near the lift which was greatly appreciated. We also had an excellent experience with the hotel staff. We also enjoyed one of the best meals we had in London at your restaurant. Thank you for an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Long, rather dark stairways can present a problem for those with walking difficulties, small elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KumarMishra, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you loved your room and time at the hotel. I am also glad that you enjoyed our Edwardian architecture combined with excellent modern rooms. I hope we see you again on your next trip to London!

All the best,

Kumar Mishra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was traveling alone and booked myself to this hotel. The pricing and location was great. Upon arrival at the airport, I took a the Piccadilly line and reached the Glouchester station. Very easily and convenient for a single traveller. The downside is that there is no lift so I dragged the luggage up the stairs.. Lucky to meet a nice gentleman who helped to lift my luggage.

The hotel is really less than 5 mins a way and there are several restaurants n cafes nearby. Checking in was a breeze and the staffs are friendly and efficient. The lift is however, very old... And slow. And it broke down once during my stay. I've to climb up n down as I stayed at the fourth storey.

Room is decent but small.. Walkways are also a little narrow. But overall.. I'm pleased with my stay. The hop on and hop off buses are just a stone away so i saved a lot of time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KumarMishra, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel.

I am pleased that you have mentioned the pleasantries from your stay at our hotel. it is my pleasure to share your feedback with the team and we hope that you will rejoin us again on your next visit to London.

On this visit, please stop by reception and allow me to make your acquaintance.

Sincerely,
Kumar Mishra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel punches above it's weight for a four star hotel. Unfortunately the size of the rooms means that it can never achieve five star status, but the service was friendly, helpful and impeccable, and the breakfasts were impressive.
The location is great being a short walk from the Natural History and Science museums, some great london pubs and on the next corner there is a post office that sells tickets to the hop-on hop-off tourist buses which stop just across the road.
We would definitely stay here again on another trip to London.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the hotel a quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KumarMishra, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for rating your stay to be 'very good' and an excellent value for money.

I am sorry that you did not find your room to be comfortable due to its size, which is very much at par with most London hotel bedrooms. I appreciate this can be very subjective, but hope you will rejoin us again and allow me to show you some of our business class and delxue rooms which are certainly amongst the finest in the city.

Please contact me directly via hotel reception so that I can take you around the few options that might benefit your requirement and comfort.

Sincerely,
Kumar Mishra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July for 2 nights, thankfully no more than that. The room was very small and with our 3 suitcases hardly any room to move about at all. The bathroom was also very small and the hot water in the shower took a long time to get hot and then was alternately hot and cold, hot and cold. Very annoying. Location was handy for tube station and Natural History Museum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KumarMishra, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that you did not find your room to be comfortable due to its size, which is very much at par with most London hotel bedrooms. I appreciate this can be very subjective, but hope you will rejoin us again and allow me to show you some of our business class and delxue rooms which are certainly amongst the finest in the city.

Please contact me directly via hotel reception so that I can take you around the few options that might benefit your requirement and comfort.

Sincerely,
Kumar Mishra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Radisson because of its location in Kensington enabling us to walk to areas of interest. Close proximity to the tube was another plus. We found the room to be comfortable despite its small size. Long corridors and a slow lift. We got our daily exercise taking the steps! The hotel is not your typical "chain" which makes it quite charming. Breakfast buffet was a nice addition as well. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was very busy during our 5 night stay further evidence to support my recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PapaGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KumarMishra, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for complimenting our excellent location and the personalized service. We are always proud of taking care of our guests and I am pleased that my team has emulated this quality.

We look froward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Sincerely,
Kumar Mishra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#345 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#427 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#341 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Address: 68-86 Cromwell Road | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Family Hotel in London
#232 Business Hotel in London
#241 Luxury Hotel in London
#287 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing Georgian mansion in fashionable South Kensington, the four star Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt stays faithful to its past but espouses modern comfort in a classic London cityscape of porticos and leafy squares. Moments from London’s world-class museums, step into the frescoed lobby and take in a characterful ambience of open fireplaces, deep sofas for laid-back lounging and quietly stylish rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt Hotel London
Radisson Hotel Edwardian Vanderbilt
Radisson Hotel London
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing