We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a perfectly located,lovely, gem of a place with very good food and service and an excellent bar.”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #137 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This hotel is a perfectly located,lovely, gem of a place with very good food and service and an excellent bar.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was my first stay and the hotel and I had a wonderful experience. The staff are polite, thoughtful and efficient, my room was clean and well maintained, the location is superb, the food was very good,the bar had a wonderful ambiance, and the gym was fine. I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a special time with us. We always aim to provide a home away from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes London in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    251
    124
    44
    20
See reviews for
238
594
73
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The staff is friendly, helpful and remember frequent customers (even if you come once a year). They will fetch a cab, find a train, help you in any endeavor. The staff are from all corners of the globe, and the nicest people I have met. Free in room wifi, and of course the bar is where Ian Fleming invented the shaken, not stirred for James Bond. It is Delicious! You can book a class and learn from the master, if you like

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely post. I am delighted to hear the team looked after you so well. It’s lovely for our team to be recognised as we do invest so much in them to create and deliver memorable experiences. I do hope you are well and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is the place to go for a Martini & the snacks are delicious too! There's sometimes a wait for a table, so maybe go there after your dinner reservations. The staff are attentive and it's good for people watching.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franksie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a great, small hotel tucked away in a quiet but very central courtyard. Friendly, efficient reception. Nice, if not large, room which was well furnished and appointed. Superb, quick breakfast. Lively bar famous for its martinis, very busy so reserve. Like going back to the best of the 1930s in terms of décor and staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Dukes is a unique hotel secluded in a small square just off St. james Street very close to Piccadilly. Needless to say it is an ideal location for the London traveler and tourist who will be able to walk to amazing shopping, sightseeing and many theatres when pretty much everything is at a walking distance. The hotel itself is charming in an Old World sort of way, small enough that everyone will know your name, but well equipped with a good restaurant, a nice gym with spa services and a thriving bar with some of the best martinis in the city. A very cute feature: a little plush dachshund named Dukesy will wait for you on your bed in your room every day at your return to the hotel and you can take it with you when you leave!

Room Tip: The rooms are all very quiet, the junior suites are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Our team is working hard to ensure everything is as it should be. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes London in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were in a one bedroom suite at Dukes from 9/5/13 until 9/10/13 and again from 9/12/13 until 9/15/13. The accomodations were superb. We felt as though we had our own private flat in St. James. We have high stanfards for room service; room cleanliness and front desk service. In every case the staff at Dukes exceeded our expectations. The concierge service was invaluable and the room service staff were personable and perfect in their serving and clearing. We love London and top quality hotels. Our next trip will begin with another stay at Dukes.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are away from the outside cocktail area (cigar smoke was an occasional issue)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you very much. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just returned from the Dukes Hotel in London after spending 12 nights at this fantastic hotel. Front desk personnel were awesome( Divina, Eve, and the reservation manager(can't spell his name)..thank you for making us feel so special. The martinis!!!!!!! Awesome!!!! Special thanks to Alessandro and Antonino for making our Happy Hour very Happy indeed. We had a classic room with a king size bed, small room however, but comfortable and could need a little bit of a re-modeling and the bathroom was big and updated beautifully. All in all this hotel is great and we were truly happy with the service and location. Thank you Dukes, hope to see you again in the very near future!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimiMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. It’s lovely for our team to be recognised as we do invest so much in them to create and deliver memorable experiences. I do hope you are well and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#101 of 1,068 in London
822 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,150 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#120 of 1,068 in London
3,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,963 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,404 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,068 in London
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#117 Luxury Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing