We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and efficient, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cavendish London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #106 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
wisbech
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficient, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

This was an overnight Saturdaty night stay. We had used the hotel before and had no reluctance to use it again. This time it was even better. The e-mail welcoming us a couple of days before our stay was a nice touch. This time we drove to the hotel and were met immediately on arrival by staff who unloaded our bags and took the car off to the on-site underground car park. Checking in was accomplished in moments, and we were very soon settling down in our room. I believe that booking direct was better value, as I was able to secure a rate which included breakfast.

We gave ourselves a bit of a treat withj an executive room which was quite spacious, incorporating a small sitting area. However we would probably be very happy with a standard room. Everything worked perfectly, we had a view over the back door of Fortnum & Mason, the room was really comfortable and the bathroom well equipped and furnished.

This hotel is in a great location. Jermyn Street is quiet, the hotel is two minutes from the Royal Academy, and five minutes from Piccadilly Circus, making it a perfect location of the West End.

Breakfast was very good and I particularly valued the opportunity to eat poached haddock - it's not available everywhere!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captainchaosandjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,323
    1,116
    225
    63
    25
See reviews for
551
1,948
152
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed in the Cavendish for the week of May 23-29 for our 2nd wedding anniversary and really enjoyed it. The hotel was spotless, modern, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The overall decor was very well done; we prefer modern styled hotels to traditional. The room was a decent size, not large, but we weren't cramped at all. The only drawback was that since we were staying for an entire week, I prefer to unpack all of my clothing and put it away, but the closet was tiny with only a few hangers and shelves. I imagine that the hotel caters more to business trips and short stays rather than our 8 days, but we made it work. Room service was timely and friendly although the food portions were on the small size considering the price and the comparable dinners we had throughout England (please don't think I'm an obese American who needs huge portions). I would definitely stay there again if we return to London.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trmiller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Cavendish is one of the best places to stay in London, in part because of it's location. It's a smart mid priced hotel, that is quite a bit cheaper than nearby more expensive hotels.
Check in was quick and easy, the staff are all friendly and helpful. The rooms whilst not massive, (it is London) are smart, modern and swish.
We were on the 11th floor, with great views of the city, and the beds were really comfy.
Breakfast is superb, good quality produce - scrambled egg, bacon etc, real freshly squeezed orange juice (always a good sign) and fruit as well as being able to order off the menu.
It's 5 mins walk from Piccadilly circus, and 10 from Soho, and the parks, in fact you could walk anywhere in central London from here.
But here's the thing, it's on a quiet street, (for London) so it's a haven of quiet when you return to the hotel for a rest.
We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in London now, as we've been spoilt here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bacononthebeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Once again the cavendish lived up to our expectations. It's a great place to retreat to yet it's close the the west end.
I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

This hotel is between picadilly and green park tube stops. Its not on the main street, but on a quiteter back street. When i say back street, don't think dimly lit and dodgy. I went with my mum and we felt totally safe coming and going from the hotel. We also had a great nights sleep as the hotel was so quiet at night.
We were totally amazed at the quality and value for money this hotel offered. We arrived expecting to have a warm, noisy, slightly dated room because thats always what we had previously experienced in London in this price range.
What we got was a small, perfectly formed modern room with plasma telly, air con which worked and a bathroom which wouldn't look out of place in a spa!
The staff could not have been any nicer. The service was excellent. We were even stopped by the concierge on leaving the hotel to ask if we wanted him to order us a taxi. The breakfast was great - a wide selection of buffet style items AND you could order other specials from a lovely menu.
We also went for the pre-theatre dinner before going to our show and thought the quality of the food was excellent. 2 courses for around £15.
All in all, this was a great hotel and we'll definitely be heading back there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferaEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

Just stayed at The Cavendish London on business. Location is perfect - very handy for all West End attractions. Short walk from Piccadilly, theatre land, Regents Street, Green Park, Buckingham Palace etc.. and a very short stroll from Green Park tube. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the prices very competitive. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Great location near Buckingham Palace and Piccadily Circus. Not great for us since we were there for work but staff was helpful and nice but you have to pay for everything. Wifi is 15pounds per 24hrs and we wanted to check in early because we arrived early and they made us pay a full day to check in 5 hours early. Check in was very late at 4pm! Nice rooms and are small as all European hotels but nice bathrooms and the rooms were quiet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwendy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#124 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#82 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing