We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #122 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Cavendish is one of the best places to stay in London, in part because of it's location. It's a smart mid priced hotel, that is quite a bit cheaper than nearby more expensive hotels.
Check in was quick and easy, the staff are all friendly and helpful. The rooms whilst not massive, (it is London) are smart, modern and swish.
We were on the 11th floor, with great views of the city, and the beds were really comfy.
Breakfast is superb, good quality produce - scrambled egg, bacon etc, real freshly squeezed orange juice (always a good sign) and fruit as well as being able to order off the menu.
It's 5 mins walk from Piccadilly circus, and 10 from Soho, and the parks, in fact you could walk anywhere in central London from here.
But here's the thing, it's on a quiet street, (for London) so it's a haven of quiet when you return to the hotel for a rest.
We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in London now, as we've been spoilt here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacononthebeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,344 - 3,350 of 4,163 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2010

Once again the cavendish lived up to our expectations. It's a great place to retreat to yet it's close the the west end.
I would not stay anywhere else.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

This hotel is between picadilly and green park tube stops. Its not on the main street, but on a quiteter back street. When i say back street, don't think dimly lit and dodgy. I went with my mum and we felt totally safe coming and going from the hotel. We also had a great nights sleep as the hotel was so quiet at night.
We were totally amazed at the quality and value for money this hotel offered. We arrived expecting to have a warm, noisy, slightly dated room because thats always what we had previously experienced in London in this price range.
What we got was a small, perfectly formed modern room with plasma telly, air con which worked and a bathroom which wouldn't look out of place in a spa!
The staff could not have been any nicer. The service was excellent. We were even stopped by the concierge on leaving the hotel to ask if we wanted him to order us a taxi. The breakfast was great - a wide selection of buffet style items AND you could order other specials from a lovely menu.
We also went for the pre-theatre dinner before going to our show and thought the quality of the food was excellent. 2 courses for around £15.
All in all, this was a great hotel and we'll definitely be heading back there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferaEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Just stayed at The Cavendish London on business. Location is perfect - very handy for all West End attractions. Short walk from Piccadilly, theatre land, Regents Street, Green Park, Buckingham Palace etc.. and a very short stroll from Green Park tube. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the prices very competitive. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Great location near Buckingham Palace and Piccadily Circus. Not great for us since we were there for work but staff was helpful and nice but you have to pay for everything. Wifi is 15pounds per 24hrs and we wanted to check in early because we arrived early and they made us pay a full day to check in 5 hours early. Check in was very late at 4pm! Nice rooms and are small as all European hotels but nice bathrooms and the rooms were quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwendy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

I've reviewed this hotel before and given it a pretty good write-up based on price, location and overall standard. We stayed again recently and I am very pleased to say that, pretty much, evereything is as good as we remember it.
It is still on Jermyn Street (of course) and this gives it, just about, the best location in central London - a quiet street just a few yards from - well - everything! It is still clean and efficient with decent rooms, well equipped with a good bathroom, comfortable bed and flat screen TV. The standard rooms remain small but just about manageable. There is still nowehere to plug your iPod in - why?? I still strongly advise ordering breakfast in your room (no extra cost).
Go no further than this hotel if you want a reasonable rate and great location. I just wish you could push the walls back a few inches.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Hotel good value for location, breakfast and general quality. But beware of "bait and switch"...We arrived at about noon and were told no room was available at our rate but they could provide a "superior" room at 20 pounds add'l per night. We agreed to this since we were so eager to have the room. I asked if we coluld change to the lower priced room we reserved on the second night and was told we could not. This puzzled me until I saw the room...It could not have been smaller...there was nothing "superior" about it. In fact, it was smaller than the "standard" room on a previous visit. I complained and was told that the bathtub made it "superior". I was so angry i asked if we could simply leave the hotel and get back our prepayment. We were told we couldn't but were given a better room.

I believe that if you arrive earlier than the 3 pm check in time there is a very good chance they will try and charge you add'l money for a room that may well be a standard room. This experience soured my visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ednafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#102 of 1,081 in London
896 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#16 of 1,081 in London
3,426 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#140 of 1,081 in London
1,531 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#390 of 1,081 in London
2,322 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#55 Family Hotel in London
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $258 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing