We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed the Cavendish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #122 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Cavendish Hotel last weekend and we very impressed with the whole experience. The staff were helpful, we were able to check in at around 11.00am. The room was small but first class. Being on the nineth floor, we had a good view from our window. The breakfast was superb! There was an excellent choice from the buffet and all was well cooked.

We would recommend the Cavendish to anyone, it's close proximity to the West End was an added bonus.

Well done Cavendish, we will see you again!

Mr.& Mrs. Hanson.
Halifax , West Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,457 - 3,463 of 4,133 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2008

I booked the cavendish after reading about it on the internet and got a reasonable deal on the room staying from Friday to monday morning. Yes, our bedroom on the 7th floor was small but it was clean with clean towels every day plus complimentary papers and tea/coffee making facilities. The downside was the prices in the lobby bar for drinks and the service in the restaurant of a morning, one example trying to get fried eggs to have with your breakfast was a nightmare you could guarantee you would have finished before they arrived, on our last morning there were no mushrooms or black puddings as they had not had a delivery?. The night we were going to the Concert at the Royal Albert Hall we decided to have a meal in the restaurant. The room was cold and when I asked the Manager he said he would turn the heating up but as we were by a drafty window it proably wouldnt help but we did overlook fortnam and mason, he didnt offer to move us even though there as plenty of space.
One of the best meals outside we had was at Brumas opposite Her Majestys Theatre on Haymarket also Prezzos again on Haymarket. The girls servicing there were brilliant nothing was too much trouble and it was the same price for 2 courses as in the Hotel at £14.95 for 2 courses or £19.95 for 3 courses.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank greekblackdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I have just come back from a weekend theatre break booked through superbreak. We had a number of hotels to choose from but decided on this one because it was a central location. The hotel is located in the middle of picadilly circus and green park tube station. To the left of the hotel is theRitz hotel and Buckingham Palace and to the right is Regent Street and Soho. It is in walkable distance to the Apollo Shaftsbury (we did get a taxi though). However, it is ideally out of the way of all the hustle and bustle). We stayed on the 14th floor in a superior twin room. The room was clean, fresh and modern. The beds were comfortable and it had a large flat screen tv. The breakfast in the hotel was superb - fruit, cereal and cooked breakfast (however we did have to wait around 15 mins to be seated - it was very busy. Over the weekend breakfast is served until 12, so you enjoy a nice lie in. Room service was available for food. The food was very nice, however it was expensive and 9 pound for a glass of wine - but worth a treat. Overall we enjoyed staying at this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsKMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

The Cavendish London served as a great base and a decent home away from home for a girlie shopping weekend (27-29 Sep). The overall experience was pleasant but fell short of my expectations of a 4* London hotel.

We arrived before 10am on Saturday and were able to check in straight away into a Superior Twin on the 14th floor. The room was nicely decorated as seen in photos, of a decent size and came with everything the hotel website specified. Bathroom was compact but fresh and modern. Minor complaints about Housekeeping - mugs were dirty when we checked in, hairs and carpet fibres found on bed after 1st night.

We had minimal dealings with the staff but found them pleasant. Checking in and out was smooth and professional, there were no surprises on our final bill. Buffet breakfast was served on Sunday, we were seated straight away in the airy and bright breakfast room and had a lovely selection to choose from. This morning's service (Monday) was made to order and I must say service was a bit slow considering there weren't many tables. We had room service one night - ordering was fast and easy, the food arrived on time and was piping hot and of decent portions.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is 5 minutes walk to Picadilly Circus tube station. If you take the Picadilly South Side exit, as you climb the stairs to exit there's a Tesco Express directly behind you and the hotel is on that same street. Jermyn Street is filled with quality shops for men and women's workwear, there's foot traffic at all times so we felt safe.

For a London hotel, I think we got what we paid for (Winter Break weekend rate incl VAT & breakfast £154/night from hotel's own website) considering the hotel's location and decor. Like several other reivews, I feel there's much room for improvement in terms of the staff/service. I will stay here again but not for a higher price.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ClumsyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We used to live in London, so when we came back for a visit we wanted a hotel that was centrally located, close to good tube and bus connections and on a quiet street. The Cavendish delivered on all three.

Our only complaint is that our standard room (#713) was the smallest we've ever stayed in. However, it was clean and modern, quite functional (except somebody tell me where we were supposed to stow our suitcases). The bathroom, though small, had a shower big enough for two.

The hotel is on a quiet street, across from the back door of the posh Fortnum & Mason fancy food shop. The neighborhood drips with 17th century charm. The closest tube stop -- at Green Park -- offers multiple connections to almost everywhere, plus there are many buses on nearby Picadilly and Regent Streets.

There are also ways to keep a lid on the "extras" to the room rate. The hotel hands out free 15-minute vouchers to use the 2 computers/printers in the lobby. Skip the pricey breakfast in the lounge and buy a healthy breakfast for under 5 pounds at E.A.T. or Pret a Manger on nearby Regent Street.

All in all, a pretty good value.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

I stayed here in August for a friends Hen Weekend. The staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms we had were a decent size - though not huge. Ask for a room on the higher floors as the views around London are better.

We had breakfast at the hotel, which was very nice, with lots to choose from. We also used the hotel bar, which was nice as well. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening.

The hotel is not far from Old Bond Street / Regent Street and about 15 mins from the theatres. Its really near 'The Ritz' and the 'The Dorchester' should you fancy treating yourself to some Afternoon Tea'!

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenofEverything1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

I got a special offer on my room here & therefore other rooms may be better. It was all fine & the staff were perfectly nice...but just not worth the high rating it has on here, or the money you may spend.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toothyruthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,396 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#104 of 1,077 in London
886 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#141 of 1,077 in London
1,517 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#392 of 1,077 in London
2,303 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#55 Family Hotel in London
#107 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $222 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing