We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #122 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent stay at the Cavendish - staff courteous and helpful. Room very nice and extremely clean. Breakfast very good and choice amazing. Easy to obtain taxi and not far from Piccadilly Circus or Green Park tube.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANZ8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear ANZ8740,

Thank you very much for another great review. The team work hard to ensure that we continually maintain and improve our standards that we deliver and we are delighted that we have remained your choice of hotel in London and will keep working hard to ensure we maintain that standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,445
    1,180
    255
    66
    29
See reviews for
588
2,061
166
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here in June, my wife booked us a long weekend in London.
Great surprise. Have stayed before a couple of times & had no complaints. A card & birthday cake was waiting for me on our 1st night which was a nice touch. Hotel is clean, well located & breakfast is excellent.
Cant fault it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear bhudi,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that we are your choice of hotel in London. The whole team put a big effort on attention to detail to ensure that we make every guests stay special.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future for your next special occasion.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are of adequate size but not overly generous. Clean and modern. Food was reasonably good. Breakfast excellent. The concierges are ok, but not outstanding. We were there on a West End Theater trip and the location is excellent for that as well as within walking distance of some great restaurants. Tube stops are close.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercant700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Mercant700,

Thank you very much for your review and for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to all the attractions. I am disappointed to hear your comments about the Concierge team and if possible it would be very useful to get some more information so that I can follow up with the team. My direct email address is neil.braude@thecavendishlondon.com

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next theatre trip.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Checking in to the Cavendish was a breeze, and Neil, the Manager had kindly upgraded us to a larger room with treats waiting for us.

We asked for a high floor and we weren't disappointed, the view across London was superb. The Shard, Big Ben, Westminster, London Eye and many more iconic buildings were on full view for us.

The Cavendish is situated right next to Fortnum and Mason and is a 5 minute walk from Leicester Square... Perfect!

The first day we chose to have breakfast in the restaurant, we had a small wait to be shown to our table but the choice of delicious top quality food on offer was fantastic. The next morning we chose to have our breakfast brought up by room service, with no tray charge, and the food was hot and delicious.

The staff were all so helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The bed was so very comfortable and the room was of a good size.

After staying at this hotel we wouldn't go anywhere else when we come to London again.

Thank you Neil to you and your staff for making our time with you so special.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LuluGingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear LuluGingham,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that you had such a good time in London and that you liked your upgrade and the view from your room. We do try our best to accommodate all of our guests special requests especially if it is a special occasion. Thank you for your great comments about the team and I know they will be very proud.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I found location very convenient for business and pleasure. However the room was very small and service not great. I was meant to stay for 3 nights but left after 2. I did not eat at the restaurant so cannot comment on that. Entrance different from given address, so very confusing. We waited for pick up for 20 minutes despite advising concierge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sportmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sportmad,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback and I am glad that you liked our location which as you said is perfect for business or pleasure. I am disappointed to hear that you checked out early and that you had to wait 20 minutes for your pick, and would be very interested to hear if this was a hotel car that was booked or if you were waiting while we were trying to hail you a London black cab, so that I can follow up with the team. My direct email address is neil.braude@thecavendishlondon.com

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I wanted to stay one night in London with a friend and my son for a shopping trip. I chose this hotel primarily due to its location. Firstly the good things. We had a penthouse suite on the 15th floor with amazing views of London. The suite was very spacious, comfy beds, very clean and very quiet. However there were little niggles as small things had not been finished, e.g. a gap between the bottom of the bath and the floor and missing bits of wood flooring in a couple of places. For some reason the lift only reaches the 14th floor, however the hotel did ring me to point this out and ensure it would not be a problem. The people working in the hotel were very friendly and accommodating.
For convenience we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. The food was good, reasonably priced for London and again the staff were very friendly. Unfortunately there did not appear to be a great deal of organisation, there was a long wait for everything. This may be personal taste but I did not like the ambience of the restaurant at all. I thought the decor was a little depressing.
In summary I would definitely stay in the hotel again but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciabarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear patriciabarton,

Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you liked the location and our suites which all have great views of London. I am disappointed to hear about some of the niggles in the room and we will get those resolved immediately, as it is our standard to have all of our rooms in pristine condition.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the restaurant and I know the kitchen team will be delighted with the comments about the food. Our guests feedback is very important to us and the décor it is something that we are looking at changing in the new year, to try and liven up the area and improve the dining atmosphere.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just returned from another wonderful stay at this great hotel! I travel extensively on business and have stayed in most high end hotels in London! None of them offers the combination of a great location(walking, public transport, business, sightseeing, shopping & entertainment), efficient staff and beautiful views across the Westend! If there is 1 potential improvement then I would suggest access to the BEST gym facilities in London at the THIRD SPACE near Piccadilly! Happy to pay the extra charge! Thank you all at the CAVENDISH for another perfect 4 nights in your great city!

Room Tip: Rooms above 8th floor have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaustrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear jamaustrian,

Thank you very much for your great review and for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions. Thank you for the suggestion regarding the Third Space, it is something we will look into as at the moment the only gym we have an affiliation with is the LA Fitness near the hotel.

Thank you again for your suggestion and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,069 in London
872 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,790 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#138 of 1,069 in London
1,458 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#96 of 1,069 in London
831 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#31 of 1,069 in London
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing