We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A location hard to beat..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #122 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at The Cavendish for 3 nights and had a marvellous time. The concierge and his staff were very helpful and efficient, and all of the staff greeted us with smiles. We have stayed in the vicinity before and know the area well but what marked out The Cavendish was the view from our room (fabulous!) and the fact that breakfast was in a room with windows and daylight! The choice and quality of food at breakfast was excellent. The only slight downside was the size of the room - but if I had to choose I'd go for the view over the size of the room anytime. Although small it was well designed and had everything one needed. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Rosemary W,

Thank you very much for you excellent review and great comments about Richard and his team, they are certainly the go to guys for all information about things to see and do in London. Thank you for your great comments about the quality and choice and breakfast as I know the Chef will be delighted.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,184 - 2,190 of 4,163 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

once again i have returned to the Cavendish. excellent service, spotless rooms, comfy bed and just the best breakfast. highly recommend this hotel to anyone. its location cannot be beaten in the heart of the West End either.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Andrew N,

Thank you for your excellent review and kind comments about the service, I know that the team will really appreciate it. Nitin our Head Chef and his team will be very happy with your comments about being the best breakfast as they put in a lot of effort to ensure that they are sourcing the best local produce.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed two nights at The Cavendish and were impressed with the location, facilities, cleanliness and friendliness of all the staff.
Would definitely recommend this hotel although the size of room could have been a bit larger but the comfort of the bed made up for this.
Certainly will be making this our hotel of choice next time we are in London.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Elspethuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Elspethuk,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and kind recommendation it is really appreciated by the whole team. We are delighted that we are now your choice of hotel in London and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife And I stayed in the cavendish for her fortieth birthday night in London,the hotel left her a card and couldn't have bee better. We recommend thus hotel hugely, great location, great staff and an asset to London. We love it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Darren W,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are delighted that you gave us the opportunity to celebrate with you on your wife's 40th and hope that she had a great time. Thank you for the kind recommendation it is really appreciated by the whole team.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Location was amazing, we were able to walk to nearby shops + the tube station is only a few minutes away, allowing easy access to the rest of London.
We only stayed here because we received a discounted rate, but it still proved to be good value. The room we stayed in was quite small though. However, it was very clean and hygienic, which was an important factor for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Everdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Everdream,

Thank you very much for your great review and for letting other travellers know about our great location. Praxeda our Executive Housekeeper and her team will be delighted with your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms as they put a huge focus on attention to detail around cleanliness.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next trip to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

For singles, couples and business travellers, this hotel is a wonderful find. Great location for business or vacation travel, great food, helpful and well-trained staff and comfortable, well appointed rooms. Standard room rates are high but reasonable for the area and quality. Special Offers from time to time during the year make for very good value, particularly if the five star breakfast is included. Vacationers will find most attractions within walking distance and public transport readily available if going further afield. For business travel, cabs are usually waiting at the door unless at peak periods when is may take a few minutes. The Standard Room is adequate but for a longer stay, one might consider an upgrade. Breakfast is a highlight with a full buffet and custom orders at no additional charge. In the evening, pre-theatre dinners offer good value and quality and are convenient if you plan to take a cab.
Try it, you will like it! We did and plan to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Don G,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are all delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you had such a good stay. Nitin our Head Chef will be delighted with your comments about our breakfast being 5 star. Thank you for your comments about how helpful the team were, I know they will all appreciate your comments as they make every effort to ensure our guests have the best possible stay in London.

We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stay in London frequently, and have not used this hotel previously because it is usually out of our price range. But if you look for Special Offers on their website it is sometimes possible to get an attractive rate. That is what happened for us last weekend. Even with the discounted price it was more than we usually pay, but we decided to treat ourselves and stay in the nice area of Piccadilly and Mayfair. We're glad we did. The hotel is in a great location, directly behind Fortnum & Masons. A short walk from Piccadilly Circus, Old Bond Street, Trafalgar Square, St James, etc. Our Standard Room was perfectly fine, and the bed was large and very comfortable. We had breakfast which was of a high standard - it is a buffet but some items are cooked to order at no extra charge; I had the poached fish with eggs and hollandaise sauce and it was not only perfect but was beautifully presented. In some ways the hotel building and reception area is a bit of a 1960s time warp, but that is not a negative because everything is well-maintained and comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet, and I have the impression that because the hotel is 1 block back from Picca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobotheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Bobotheviking,

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us this time and that you had such a good stay, we do often have discounted rates on our website and out Tripadvisor home page. Nitin our Head Chef and his team will be very happy with your comments about breakfast as the ensure that they are sourcing local and seasonal products to ensure our guests enjoy the best possible quality.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#102 of 1,081 in London
896 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#16 of 1,081 in London
3,426 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#140 of 1,081 in London
1,531 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#390 of 1,081 in London
2,322 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#55 Family Hotel in London
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $258 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing