We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavendish London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #120 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cavendish London”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel located ideally for sight seeing in London. Located a block from the posh Fortnum and Mason department store and easy walking distance to Buckingham, Big Ben and Westminister, and the London Eye. Nice sized shower, crisp, clean bedding and helpful staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kellys1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Kellys1162,

Thank you very much for your great review and for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,450
    1,180
    256
    66
    29
See reviews for
590
2,062
166
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I had to prepare for an interview for a job of a lifetime, and needed to be in London the night before the interview. The complimentary upgrade, to a quite, tranquil, room with a view, made the stay very comfortable, relaxing and I was well rested and prepared. I got the job !! Thanks Cavendish where everyone excelled in their customer service. Highly recommend the Cavendish for a London visit and they have a car park next to the hotel, which is very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Anne T,

Thank you for your great review. Congratulations on your new job,and if you are moving to London we hope that you will still come and visit. Thank you for your kind recommendation that is really appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Neil
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I needed to stay in town after a formal dinner at the Dorchester and this was just a quick cab ride to get there. The room was lovely and the staff friendly. I had to work the next morning, so had to opt for a fast dip into the buffet breakfast, but everything I had was good. Personally I would have preferred grilled tomatoes over baked beans, but that's just being picky! I will definitely stay here again, hopefully with my husband and when neither of us have to dash to the office the next morning,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Normski99,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that you like the rooms so much and that the staff were so friendly. Thank you for the feedback regarding the breakfast buffet, we currently don't have the grilled tomatoes on the buffet but are available to order, but we are in the process of adding them to the buffet to make it easier for our guests.

We hope that we can welcome you and your husband back for a relaxing stay.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have recently spent 2 nights at the Cavendish Hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. When we arrived in our room there was a big heart with red petals on the bed and half a bottle of Champagne with a card from the staff - a lovely surprise and made a great start to our two nights away.

The staff were helpful and attentive from the room staff to the doorman. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice to suit everyone.

Great location - easy to walk to all the key sites, theaters, restaurants etc - would certainly recommend to friends.

Room Tip: 14th Floor has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank standen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear standen10,

Thank you for your excellent review. We are delighted that you let us celebrate such a special occasion with you and we hope that you had a great time in London. We are very lucky to have the team that we do and I know they will all be very appreciative of your kind comments.

We hope we can welcome you back for your next celebration.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Another great stay. Lovely comfortable beds, and delicious breakfast. The breakfast you can either order off the menu or get something from the buffet, of even a bit of both which we go for, omelette with bacon and hash browns. Friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble, who actually seem interested in their guests rather than just going through the motions like what happens in other hotels. Only thing I found a little strange that the restaurant menu advertised in the room didn’t match that in the restaurant, but that didn’t stop us having a lovely meal before the theatre. With a window table we were able to watch the hustle and bustle outside from the tranquillity of the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toptravelnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear toptravelnewcastle,

Thank you very much for your great review. We are all delighted that you had such a great stay at the hotel and that you found it amazing. We have a great team who really make every effort to ensure our guests have a great time in London, and I know they will all appreciate your kind comments. Thank you for letting us know about the menu, this shouldn't be the case and we will get all of the menus in the rooms checked to ensure they are the correct version.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Cavendish for 2 nights recently and were delighted with the hotel. The room was very comfortable, with a great bed. The "feel" of the hotel was boutique, even though the hotel is actually not that small. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. We even found a complimentary bottle of mineral water and a tin of mints in our car when we collected it from the car park (£40 per night). We really loved the position of the hotel in Jermyn Street and we spent far too much money in the various West End stores that were easy walking distance (whether Piccadilly, Bond Street, Oxford Street or Soho). We also bought some cheese from the specialist cheese shop a few doors along the road from the hotel. If we had a quibble, it was that the breakfasts were unspectacular - but they were fine - and the great thing was that you could have breakfast right up to 12 noon on the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delligill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear delligill,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that you had such a good stay and that you really liked our location. Thank you for letting other travellers know how close we are to so many of London's attractions and of course shopping.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Cavendish last Summer for our anniversary/30th birthday and found it to be a fantastic hotel. I let them know beforehand about the celebrations and they went all out to welcome us with chocolate truffles and champagne in the room and rose petals and swan shaped towels on the bed! The room was a lovely size and the bathroom huge! It is on the side street of Fortnum and Mason and a 5min walk from Piccadilly Circus. A further 5mins and you find yourself in theatreland. Great hotel, great location, great price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Charlotte M,

Thank you very much for your great review and thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion at The Cavendish London. Our Housekeeping team make every effort to ensure that our guests have a great celebration.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next trip to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#99 of 1,069 in London
873 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,069 in London
3,802 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#136 of 1,069 in London
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,219 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#96 of 1,069 in London
831 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,069 in London
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#104 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing