We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #114 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Cavendish having booked through Travelzoo. Our stay was superb.

On arrival we were warmly greeted especially by the concierge team and were delighted to be upgraded to a superior room which was extremely well appointed. The superking-sized bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in.

The room was large with a two seater leather sofa, desk,Tassimo coffee maker with a good range of pods, a fridge, The bathroom was spacious and a lovely range of top quality toiletries were provided. Housekeeping were accommodating in providing us with extras when required.

The location of the hotel is superb. Quiet enough yet a mere hop, skip and a jump to all the
action.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room on floor 8 had a good view of the skyline towards the Eye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear moggo,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. I am delighted that you had such a good stay and Richard our Head Concierge and his team will be very happy with your comments. Thank you for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions.

Thank you for the recommendation and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,411
    1,156
    238
    67
    29
See reviews for
573
2,030
161
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel on a Travelzoo offer a few months ago and it proved to be a great choice. We visited London for my husband's 30th birthday using the hotel as a base. The staff were attentive and friendly, the room perfectly pleasant and the location spot on for visiting Central London.

The rate we got was great value and I'd definitely consider using this hotel for future visits.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_and_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Lucy_and_Phil,

Thank you for your great review. I hope that your husband and a great 30th Birthday in London, and thank you for letting us celebrate it with us. I am delighted that you found our location to be so perfect for visiting central London.

We hope that we can welcome you back for your next celebration.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great location if your going for a theatre weekend.
Rooms well equipped & clean. Hairdryer and iron/ironing board tea/coffee even a umbrella!
Friendly & polite staff, concierge team suberb
Great cooked breakfast

Would definitely stay there again & happy to recommend to others

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear J G,

Thank you for your great review and kind recommendation it is really appreciated by the whole team. I am delighted that you found the whole team to be friendly and polite and Richard our Head Concierge and his team are particularly happy with your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I cannot fault this hotel. I only had a one night stay but the staff were polite, welcoming and courteous. I felt like a valued customer. The concierge team were a delight. Despite check in time being 3pm, we arrived at around 11am but our room was available. The room was lovely and spacious by central London standards. It was clean, comfortable and modern and we encountered no problems. Free wi-fi without the need for sign in was very welcome. We ate in the restaurant both for dinner and breakfast and on both occasions the food was superb. The breakfast buffet was all that you would expect with copious quantities of bacon, sausage, eggs, beans and mushrooms with specials such as vegetarian sausages, eggs benedict, omelettes etc. being made to order. Location wise this hotel is perfect for those wanting to be in central London. It is just behind Fortnum & Mason and therefore a hop, skip and a jump from Piccadilly and a 2 minute walk from Piccadilly Circus. If you want a top quality hotel in a great location then look no further. I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popsNcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear popsNcass,

Thank you for your excellent review and great comments about the team. We are very lucky to have the excellent team that we do, as they make every effort to ensure that our guests have a great time in London. Thank you for also letting other travellers know about our great location and how central we are to all the action.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

A two night stay to go to the theatre booked through a travel agent. The location of the hotel, Jermyn Street just off Piccadilly, is really good. Tube stations nearby and easy walking to many West End activities/shops etc.

The room (Superior) was pretty small but reasonably well equipped and clean. The bathroom was excellent with a really good powerful shower. It is always disappointing when a high class hotel charging a lot for a room provides such a miserable supply of shower gels etc. The ones here must be the smallest on the market which for two people is just plain mean.

Breakfast was fantastic and one of the best hotel breakfasts we have had for a long time. Freshly cooked arriving hot at the table as well as a good selection of other hot and cold food from the buffet. The staff at breakfast were extremely good, cheerful and efficient - a real change from many surly London hotel staff.

A little noisy outside in the middle of the night (Saturday) with car horns and shouting. All outside the hotel's control.

The staff elsewhere - check in, portering etc were also friendly and very efficient. The lobby bar is a little cold with air conditioning going when it is two degrees outside!

Happy to return but will try for a bigger room and take our own bathroom supplies.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible - avoid noise and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear RadH1,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and I am delighted that you had such a good stay. I am sorry that you felt the toiletries in the room were to small, during your next stay please let reception or housekeeping know and we will be glad to add additional bottles to your stock.

Thank you for your great comments about breakfast I know that the whole team will be delighted with your comments by saying that it is one of the best breakfast you have had in a long time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Cavendish deserves your special attention: great staff, wonderful lobby (iMacs if you need any computing power), good rooms of adequate size. Restaurant is very good for breakfasts, and features nice views.
Located on Jermyn street, everything is at your doorstep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirill_Markov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Kirill_Markov,

Thank you for your excellent review and for letting other travellers know about about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We just came back from a really nice couple of days at the Cavendish. The location is ideal, off Piccadilly so not too noisy and very central. The rooms were very comfortable, nicely appointed, the bar and lounge, large and cosy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. You could pay a lot more and get a lot less and in London, It's basically 5* without the spa. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SituationNormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear SituationNormal,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. It is great that you felt that we had the service levels of a 5 star hotel and I know that they whole team will be very happy with your comments. Thank you for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions.

We look forward to welcoming yo back on your next visit.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#101 of 1,067 in London
839 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,067 in London
815 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#132 of 1,067 in London
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,134 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,667 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,067 in London
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing