We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st class hotel with 1st class views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #108 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“1st class hotel with 1st class views”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Having just returned from a 2 night stay( 29thNov-1st Dec) I just had to write and let people know what a wonderful hotel this is. I emailed the hotel about 3 weeks befor asking if I could have a room with a lovely view as we were coming to London for our 10th Wedding aniversery, I received a email back saying that they had requested a high floor room with a view. Wow what a view, we stayed in room 1211 and we could see the London eye, Big Ben, the gherkin and the Bt tower.
Also we had a bottle of Champaine a box of chocolates and a aniversery card from the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and were always on hand if we needed anything.

Room Tip: Email the hotel with your request and they will put the request on the system. High floors are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 512Claireg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear 512Claireg,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. Congratulations on your 10 year Wedding anniversary and thank you for letting us celebrate it with you. Our teams do try our best to honour all of our guests requests, as our team are dedicated to ensuring that every guest has a great experience in London.

We hope we can welcome you back for your next celebration.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,398
    1,148
    235
    66
    27
See reviews for
569
2,013
160
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (954)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Just getting back after an overnight weekend stay with 6 girlfriends for a Christmas/birthday treat, and what a treat! I'm used to staying in good quality hotels so I have high standards and this fitted the bill perfectly. The rooms were of a high standard especially for London - they were spacious and had the most comfortable beds ever. We stayed in Room 905 which overlooked the Fortnum and Mason side.
Had a really sound sleep, the whole hotel was of a very high quality. The staff couldn't do enough and were so helpful.
The concierge and staff were fantastic and made the extra effort to help out with everything. I will definately recommend my friends and family to stay and I will be definately coming back.

Location :

Perfect for Fortnum and Mason and all the good quality shops are within walking distance in a lovely part of London.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki00179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear nikki00179,

Thank you very much for your excellent review, We put a lot of effort in to the attention to detail in our rooms and I am delighted that you really appreciated this. Richard our Head Concierge and his whole team will be very happy with your comments about the excellent service you received.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and referrals and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Superb location, short walk to picadilly circus and Green Park underground stations. In the heart of a great shopping area. Very friendly staff, eager to help. Rooms were well equipped and comfortable. Hairdrier was excellent. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear LCGAyrshire_Scotland,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and great comments about the team. Thank you for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My Wife and i have stayed here many times .The location is perfect Out to the shops or the shows
it is ideal The Staff are always nice and helpful . We stayed in room 1114 a superior room that has
great views over the city from the P.O.Tower to Big Ben. If you stay in 1115 and the similar rooms above the view is better. WE would always stay here while in London. Try walking across the road
to Fortnums and Masons,across to the Burlington Arcade then up Bond Street to Oxford Street.Look out for Grays Arcade just off South Mouton Sreet if you like antiques.

Room Tip: High floors and rooms 1114+1115 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear DurhamColin,

Thank you very much for your great review and comments about the team, I know that they will all be very happy with your comments. We are also delighted that we are your choice of hotel in London and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed Friday to Sunday with my fiancee. We had asked in advance for a room a few floors up and away from the elevator. No problem, the wish was granted. The room, supposedly a superior room, was very small though. Surprisingly small actually... It worked out very well for two nights anyway, but the feeling was that we might as well have booked a regular room. I liked the bed very much. Incredible comfort. Cleaning was spotless and the staff was friendly. As many have pointed out, the location of the hotel is very good. Jermyn street is also very quiet at nighttime, despite the nearness to the crowded Piccadilly Circus. Several nice dining options exists within a short walk. We enjoyed the buzzing Italian San Carlo Chicchetti on Piccadilly, just to name one restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Nicholas A,

Thank you very much for your great review. Our housekeeping team pride themselves on attention to detail and I am delighted that you appreciated this. As you have mentioned we are very lucky with our location where we are 1 street away from all the hustle and bustle of the city making it very quite to relax.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here nov for 3 nights 22-25 nov. There were 3 of us and i emailed the hotel several weeks prior to our stay asking for rooms together and although we were on the same floor we were not next to each other. Reception said that we should have arrived sooner even though we arrived at 3 which is what the website said was check in time

We had a problem with noise on the first night in the early hours. The window was the old aluminium type and let in every sound. I informed reception on leaving and they made a note. My point was that the window needs to be double glazed. (Room 1140).

The food was lovely and the pre theatre deal very good value. The rooms are clean and modern though a bit on the cold side.
I would stay again if i could be guaranteed a quieter room with adaquate glazing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Katy1150,

Thank you very much for your review and your feedback about the room. Thank you for the great comments about he food I know that the whole kitchen team will be very happy with your comments. I will be sure to get our maintenance team to have a look at your room asap as the rooms shouldn't be cold at all and the window to make sure that it is sealing properly.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next trip to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

WE recently had a one night stay in London whilst seeing a concert. We wanted a central London hotel close to tube lines and shops without breaking the bank. This hotel is on the corner of Duke Street and Jermyn Street just behind Fortnum and Mason so excellent for tubes and shopping

The service at reception was excellent, extremely welcoming. The room was small as are most central London rooms but it was very clean and well appointed. The bed was so comfy that I completely managed to sleep through breakfast!

Having also stayed at The Cafe Royal recently, I much prefer this hotel and would recommend it to others - make sure you search out good rates on the internet!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Faith1107,

Thank you very much for your great review and I hope that you enjoyed your concert, which must have been good if you slept through breakfast. Thank you for your great comments about reception, I know that Mark our Front Office Manager and his whole team are delighted.

Thank you for your kind recommendation it is really appreciated and I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#84 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#126 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#96 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing