We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in so many ways.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #114 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb in so many ways.....”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We usually visit London a couple of times a year for an overnight stay and to see a show. Having tired of the budget option on our last trip in April we took advantage of a special offer and snapped up a superior room at The Cavendish for not a huge amount more than we'd normally pay for a basic 3*

Put simply, it excelled in every area! Just a few minutes walk from Piccadilly Circus the location is excellent and despite arriving early before our room was ready we were still checked in with our luggage also taken care of. It made such a refreshing change to not have to keep getting the Tube everywhere. That's how central it is

We were also told that breakfast was included despite booking room only and would've taken up the offer of breakfast in bed had we not already made alternative arrangements. The breakfast menu did look amazing though with plenty of choice and variety

Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and felt reassuringly luxurious with a bed so comfy we both banked a refreshing 8 hours sleep. We were on the 2nd floor but could still see the Eye from our window

As we were off to see a show we had already reserved a table in the hotel restaurant to sample the pre-theatre menu (a reservation made via email a week or so before). The food was of Michelin star quality and the cost of 3 courses including a glass of wine was what you'd expect to pay for just a main course in some other nearby restaurants. The staff were also very knowledgeable of the menu which makes a change, plus they were comfortable making recommendations

Apart from the location the staff are the hotels greatest asset and made us feel like we were their only guests. Granted, it's not the biggest hotel in the world but staff remember you and that personal touch really makes a difference

We never stay in the same place twice but would we come here again? Yes! Would we eat here again? Yes! Would we recommend it? Yes!

Ben & Kelly Parish
September 2013

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Parish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Ben_Parish,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. I agree with you that our staff are our greatest asset and we are very lucky to have the team that we do. They are always striving to deliver excellent service and ensure that all of our guests have a great stay in London. Your great comments about dinner are really appreciated and I know that the whole Food and Beverage team will be delighted to see them. Thank you very much for your recommendation it is really appreciated.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,411
    1,154
    238
    67
    29
See reviews for
573
2,028
161
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have just booked a break for 2 nights 6 ladies 50th Birthday, the service of Abby was fantastic! She talked us through all options and offers to find us the best deal and perfect outcome! booked there and then! Can't wait to go! Sales woman extroadinairre!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Nicola W,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and great comments about Abby. I know that she will be delighted when she sees your comments and I will ensure that she is recognised for her great service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends for your Birthday celebrations.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location one block away from Piccadilly, and so close to Regent Street, but on a quiet street. It a great place to have a good night sleep in comfortables and quiet rooms with plenty of space. The hotel is very clean, quiet and modern.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaVeronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear AnaVeronica,

Thank you very much for your great review and for letting other travellers know about our great location. We are situated within walking distance to many of London's attractions and shopping but as you have mentioned 1 street off the main roads which makes for a quite hideaway from the hustle and bustle of London.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Cavendish from the 30th Aug - 3rd Sept. This was our second visit this year the reason we returned was because we were so impressed the first time we stayed (end of May) and they did not disappoint yet again. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the petrichor restaurant is up there with the best for breakfast and evening meals. We will be visiting London again soon and it pointless looking for another hotel to stay in when this one has all you could wish for. 10/10

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Darren J,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and we are delighted that we are your choice of hotel in London. We are really lucky to have such a great team who make every effort to look after our guests and ensure that they have a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family did not stay at the hotel but had drinks at the ground floor bar followed by a meal upstairs in the restaurant last night.
This is one of my favourite locations in London and is close to theatres, tube stations and shopping.
Service was excellent as was the food in the restaurant . We had the pre theatre menu which at £20 for 2 courses and a very good glass of wine we felt was a bargain.
However what really won me over was the way in which my husband who is blind was treated. The waiter putting the food down told him it was being served to his left and then told him that it was in front of him. I have rarely seen this happen and we were very impressed.
We have now put this hotel on our list next time we stay in London and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayloverAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear holidayloverAdelaide,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and I am delighted that you had such a good dining experience with us last night. We have a great team in the restaurant and I will ensure that the team member who served you last night gets recognised for their great service. We do also offer Braille menus in the bar, lounge area and room service.

We hope that we can welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location of the Cavendish Hotel one block away from Piccadilly, but on a quiet street makes it perfect for a tourist who likes walking or taking bus tours, and having a good night sleep in a comfortable and quiet room. Room with King size bed is large, includes sitting area with a couch and desk, the bathroom has both a tub and a shower stall, bed is comfortable, linens are super clean and soft. Everything is new and clean, with a nice modern design. A couple of strange omissions - although there are two closets in the room, there are no shelves to speak off. I guess you just need to hang your t-shirts. Also, I could not locate a plug for the included hair dryer in the bathroom, so ended up drying my hair outside the bathroom, unplugging the TV. Staff is very friendly, service super efficient. Breakfast, if not included, is very expensive - 24 pounds per person, which at today's rate is about $38.00. There are plenty of breakfast options just outside the hotel on Piccadilly, do try the croissants at Pret a Manger. This a chain, but a French one. They know their croissants!

Room Tip: The couch in this this room with King size bed is a decent size, so a child up to 10-11 can sleep co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear aygg,

Thank you very much for your great review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay at the hotel and that you really liked the hotel and thank you for your great comments about the team.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Cavendish is a very nice 4star hotel. Very clean and well made rooms. If you get a room in the higher floor you will get a nice view of London. It has a super location on Jermyn Street. just behind Piccadilly. You can reach almost everything on foot in central London. And if you need to travel, you are near both Buses and the underground station Green Park. (Piccadilly line goes all the way to Heathrow)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear fce74,

Thank you very much for your great review. Thank you for letting other travellers know about our great location. As you have mentioned we are in walking distance to most of London's attractions and for others we are within walking distance to all tube stations and bus routes.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#101 of 1,067 in London
838 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,067 in London
815 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#132 of 1,067 in London
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,134 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,666 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,067 in London
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing