We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not start well....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #123 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I spent 2 nights a The Cavendish for a conference. My stay did not start well... First, they give my keys. I tried it but it did not work. Had to go down to the reception, they changed the keys.... still not working. I called 3 times from the phone near the elevator and after more than 20 minutes, someone finally show up to open my room. Then, the toilet would not flush... Finally I decide to go to the lounge for a meeting. But the wifi connection had limited number of users.. I had to wait 15 minutes before to be able to connect...

The staff was nice and apologetic. They bring a bottle of champagne. The room are very nice and the bed very confortable. The hotel is very well located few minutes from Picadilly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear EricMToronto,

Thank you for your feedback.
Apologies for the incident with your room key, we are reliant of technology these days which does not always provide the best solution, There is no excuse for keeping you waiting for as long as we did and i hope the gesture of the bottle of champagne was appreciated,

Glad that in the end you enjoyed your stay though and hope we can welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,430 - 2,436 of 4,094 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed before on business and this was a weekend break. The location is just perfect for shows and sights. Pre theatre dinner was great value and quality. The location is off the main roads so quiet. Staff helpful and pleasant. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrodrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear vrodrider,

What a great review, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
We like to believe that we are able to cater for both business needs as well as leisure.
Our location is indeed ideal for what ever you want to do in London as many sights, restaurants and theatres are within walking distance and for the ones which are not the underground connections are great.

Look forward seeing you back soon whether it is for Business or Pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is very nice and the location is amazing. Close to Soho, the Theater District, Buckingham Palace, Saville Row and other great shopping areas. The price was great given the location.

The hotel is very clean and quite small so it is a very nice place to stay, quiet and comfortable.

The rooms are very small as you would expect and my room did not have a dresser or place to put closes other than a very small closet so I was forced to live out of my suitcase. However, given the value and location, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear HARCal,

Thank you very much for posting about your experience on tripadvisor. It is feedback from our guests which shows the true value to other guests and ourselves.
It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the location and felt that we offered excellent value for money. We have 5 different room categories in the hotel and i would recommend next time potentially upgrading to a Queen Superior to give you additional space. This is a recommendation we make for guest staying more than 2 to 3 nights.

Overall it seems you had a wonderfull stay and we hope to see you back next time you come over from California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our 4th visit to this hotel good location. Rooms were small but comfortable. Good breakfast served by pleasant staff. Our only disappointment was when we had a night cap drink in the bar after a visit to the theatre, the bar man mistakenly short changed us by £10 which he admitted to the error. Hopefully we can live with this as an innocent error.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43albury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear 43albury,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your wimbledon visit.
Apologies for the change error in the bar which i can assure you was not done intentionally and i hope you havent lost any sleep over it.

We have different room categories and if you thought your room was a bit small on this occassion i recommend upgrading to the next room category so you can enjoy your stay even more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you want to walk to Piccadilly Circus, Green Park, many West End theatres, Oxford Street, and countless restaurants, then this is the place. Extremely comfortable rooms, wonderful buffet breakfast, and good service from all the staff were the highlights of our five night stay at The Cavendish. The rooms are a bit small but adequate, and the bathroom was surprising large, and any smallness of the room was well compensated by the comfort of the bed. There is a charge for WiFi in the room, free in public places of the hotel. All the staff were helpful and pleasant, found taxis for us quickly, and got directions for us when needed. The higher floors have a great view -- ours was toward St. Paul's Cathedral and the London Eye.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear EC Charleston,

Let me start by thanking you for staying with us on your recent visit to London, it seems like you had a great time exploring the sights and taking in all London has to offer. I would also like to thank you for the praising of our staff which really make a difference in the hotel experience.
Our location as you mentioned is very central to shopping, restaurants and sights and as we are just off the main road it also has the peace and quiet you sometimes want on a little break.

Thanks again and hope to see you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went to our usual hotel - as we go to the Cavendish everytime in London as well as my daughters and her friends, and expected the usual room, only to be given another King Executive (very very small for 3 adults). I asked why my profile wasn't updated to state that I normally use the larger executive, but they said they would update then, and that they had no rooms available but I could change the following night. My husband was furious. We paid GBP 411 for a room no bigger than my bathroom for that night. After that, nothing seemed correct. Also gone is the welcome gift that we'd always received for returning customers. They don't care anymore.
Apart from that, location is great.

Room Tip: If you're a returning customer, make sure you tell them the room number of your choice if need b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 779Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear 779Sunshine,

Please accept my apologies for your recent experience at the Cavendish.
WOuld you be so kind to email me more details of your stay? My email address is Roy.sommer@thecavendishlondon.com.
Then i can look at your profile and see where we went wrong.
Do hope that on other occassions you stayed with us you saw a true reflection of our service levels and agree that this is not how we normally threat our regular guests or any guest for that matter.

Hope hearing from you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at The Cavendish on the weekend as family had bought us tea at The Savoy so we decided to take in a show (Wicked) as well. We pulled up outside The Cavendish and a uniformed staff member took our cases and took our car to the secure parking area. Another staff member saw us through to reception where a super lady with a delicious sense of humour allocated our rooms. The whole place smacks of understated opulence. Lifts to the 11th floor to a room with a fantastic view over London. The room had all the comforts of 5 star accommodation including air conditioning and noise exterior to the room was minimal. Breakfast was great... You could have whatever you fancied. I will not bore the reader with anymore detail but suffice to say the whole experience was fantastic. Top marks Cavendish.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Loobabe,

Thank you so much for your great praise and feedback. We alwasy try to ensure that our guests get the feeling the walk into a home away from home and we encourage our staff to be themselves and I am very pleased that shone through.

The arrival experience can straight away make or break your day and it looks like we got it spot on which is very pleasing as we spend quite some time on perfecting this recently.

Glad you had a pleasant stay and look forward welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#60 of 1,077 in London
3,388 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#117 of 1,077 in London
1,889 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#55 Family Hotel in London
#107 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $222 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing