We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #128 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Prior to our arrival I had been in contact with the hotel organising a weekend for a our anniversary. The package they provided was certainly worth the money and they made the whole weekend an enjoyable one. The staff were as friendly as ever and certainly could not fault the service received.

Room we had was a Superior Deluxe - window overlooking the breathtaking London skyline. On entering the room, they had placed rose petals around the room, and towels as swans - wife was taken aback a bit, although not really my cup of tea...then we had a knock on the door, and a bottle of champagne with chocolates and a anniversary card from the hotel....now were talking :-)

We opted to stay in for an evening meal in their restaurant, reasonably priced, good food (possibly a little more selection required) but the wine list (most importantly) was varied.

We parked the car in their car park £40 for valet car parking which although sounds a lot its just peace of mind that the car is just a stones throw away, rather than some other car park somewhere in London.

Breakfast was included and yet again excelled in all areas - and service was just as good. It was shame we had to leave to head back down to Bournemouth but we will certainly be returning for another stay in the future, hopefully with a similar deal as before!

Room Tip: High up room to take in the fabulous skyline of London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellttck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear ellttck,

Reading your review makes me feel proud that the team looked after you so well and that we have been able to exceed your expectations and give you the most wonderful Anniversary weekend.
We always try to go out of our way to ensure that special occassions are made even more special.
It is good to hear that you tried the restaurant and found that we offer good value for money, in regards to the wine list we try to source wines from over the world and were possible organic, biodynamic or british.
The same goes for our breakfast buffet were most items are locally sourced.
All in all it seems like you had a great weekend break and thank you for sharing it with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,569 - 2,575 of 4,079 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of a short trip to London. This hotel's location was great for us as we were able to use the tube station either at Green Park or Picadilly. Staying here you are also walking distance to shopping on Oxford or Regent street as well. The hotel is very clean and tidy. The breakfast buffet was very good especially the homemade orange marmalade. We were able to take advantage of one of their monthly specials that included breakfast in the rate and made the hotel very reasonably priced for the area. The concierge was particularly helpful in pointing out restaurants as well as coordinating 3 cabs early in the morning for our large groups departure.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask to stay away from the front entrance on the street side as I could h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Lisa H,

Thank you very much for writing about your recent experience at The Cavendish.
Having read your review it seems you had a very enjoyable stay and achieved a lot in the time you were here. Our location is ideal for shopping trips as Bond street, Regent street and oxford street are all within easy walking distance.
I am glad that you brought up our marmalade as being outstanding. From the orange peels left over after squeezing the juice out of them we use them to make our own marmalade. This ensures that we reduce wastage. In the summer months we also make our own strawberry jam.
the concierge team will appreciate your comments and they are always at hand to make suggestions to whatever you are looking for.
Thanks again and we look forward welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our room (we arrived 1 hour early, but it was ready for us). We had booked on line and glad we had. A lovely room, clean, tidy and ample space. We did not know the area well, but soon found our way around. Situated between Piccadilly Circus and Green Park the hotel is in a superb location and in walking distance to most of the major attractions and all the shops on Oxford street and Regent Street. We did not have dinner at the hotel but can say that breakfast was fantastic, with a choice of buffet or cooked meals to order. My only criticism was the bar costs, but this is London! Would highly recommend anyone to stop at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobPalm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear RobPalm99,

How pleasing to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and also that we were able to check you in before our usual check in time. In regards to the bar prices i can assure that in comparison to other hotel bars our prices are very competitive. Our team is very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast so much and made us of both options presented to you.
Next time you are in London we hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed Friday and Saturday night. Room clean and nicely furnished. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel due to the price. Staff were very helpful. Lifts were too harsh for our liking so used the stairs instead which needs some TLC. But great location, handy for theatres and restaurants and would go back again.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors if you can due to external noises late evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhAndPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear PhAndPa,

Thank you for your brief review of your recent stay at The Cavendish London.
I am very pleased to find out that you liked our location and found the staff very helpful.
On your next visit i would suggest you book your breakfast in advance as our pre purchase rate is cheaper than buying it on the day. You can see from the many positive comments about our breakfast that you will not regret it.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I booked this hotel after searching for somewhere special to suprise my wife on her birthday. On booking they asked my reason for staying I informed them it was for my wife's birthday and when we got in our room there was a card and cake for my wife which really made her happy. We can both not fault the hotel in any way the staff were excellent especially a bar man who keeped me company while my wife was getting ready to go out for dinner and never let my glass empty , we had the queen superior room on the 14th floor it was perfect, will be asking if we can have the same room again when we return. we fancied eating out so could not coment on the restarant but the room service breakfast was the best breakfast i have had. on the same quite street was a really good little pub for us to have lunch in and greens oyster bar and restaurant just opposite what was a perfect meal in the evening, I would recommend to stay here , perfect staff perfect location perfect hotel. i look forward to returning with my wife, we are looking to come for our anaversary in April, thanks to all at the cavandish, Shaun

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun-Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Shaun-SH,

Thank you very much for choosing The Cavendish London as the hotel of your choice to surpise your wife her birthday and i am glad that you enjoyed the cake we left for her.
To hear that you found all the staff excellent is great feedback and that is what we are trying to achieve. Your comments about our roomservice breakfast are also much appreciated and is very popular especially with our rooms higher so they can enjoy their breakfast while having a great view.

Hopefully we will see you back in April for you anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A group of friends stayed here on a Friday and Saturday. The room was pretty compact but quite nicely furnished and we paid extra for a room with a bath which apparently was exactly the same as our friends who just had a shower so you can imagine it was pretty cramped in the bathroom. Breakfast was very busy and so service wasn't that prompt but there was a fairly good choice from the buffet and you could order additional dishes from the waiter. The bar staff were very pleasant and helped move the tables around to accommodate us. The location for Piccadilly is very good and we wanted to watch the Rugby match and the bar across the road Walkers (I think) was very good for this. Not too crowded and several screens.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeansandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Jeansandco,

We surely hope you enjoyed your recent stay at The Cavendish and please accept my apologies if you were made to wait for a bit during breakfast, during weekends breakfast gets really busy and we try and inform all of our guests of that during check in. As we have 5 different room categories the size of your room depends of the room category you booked.
It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time in the bar and that you found the service there to be accommodating, we are getting close to refurbishing the bar area and that will happen in the 2nd quarter of 2013.
We hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Me and 4 friends went to The Cavendish on Friday 8th March for afternoon tea before going to the theatre and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff were very friendly and welcoming the surroundings were lovely and we were shown to our seats which was a huge brown leather sofa, 2 brown leather chairs and 2 other chairs. The waiter asked us which tea we would like and the menu was extensive although we just went for the normal tea and 2 of them had coffee. Then we were supplied with a large 3 tier platter of ham & mustard sandwiches, egg mayonnaise and cheese and pickle. 2 warm scones each with cream and jam plus a lemon tart, almond slice and a chocolate brownie each. There was so much food we couldn't eat it all otherwise we would of been there all day!. We had a brilliant time and I cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa237red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Red237,

Thank you for writing about your Afternoon Tea experience at The Cavendish and I am very happy that you enjoyed your time with your friends.
We believe our Afternoon tea represents great value for money and it seems you agree.
For April we have some changes in mind and are planning a overhaul to our offering just to freshen it up a bit.
Hopefully we will see you back then to try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#504 of 1,077 in London
2,510 reviews
Soho
W London Leicester Square
W London Leicester Square
#403 of 1,077 in London
2,029 reviews
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#54 of 1,077 in London
2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#62 of 1,077 in London
3,358 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,077 in London
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $244 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing