We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of luxury - and what a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #114 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury - and what a treat!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked this wonderful hotel through Superbreak: after reading reviews and recommendations, we requested a room on higher floor. Due to arriving about 1.30 we were told the room was not ready: no problem though as we left our case with the concierge and returned late after going to the theatre. Not knowing quite what to expect our room took us completely by surprise - what a fantastic night-time view of London with the London Eye, Big Ben, The Shard, St. Paul's all visible from our room and all lit up. Unforgettable and quite magical. Beautiful room, wonderfully comfortable bed, great bathroom - everything we could have wished for and we weren't aware of any traffic noise at all. The breakfast was truly magnificent - could not fault it as the variety on offer was almost overwhelming. Staff very friendly and helpful and we can't wait to make a return visit. Very conveniently placed too for accessing the West End/Knightsbridge/King's Road and the beautiful parks around Buckingham Palace. A very special place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor - if only to take in the rooftop views of London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexChelseaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear SussexChelseaGirl,

Please accept my gratitude for your kind review.
To surprise people is one of the reasons why we are in business, ensuring that people have a memorable experience. We are lucky with our location and the night time views from our higher floors can be breath taking.
We try to have all the rooms ready as soon as possible to accomodate early arrivals however in your case it was not possible that day, but i am glad you still made the most of your afternoon.
We look forward seeing you back with us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,411
    1,156
    238
    67
    29
See reviews for
573
2,030
161
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spend a week in this hotel, last week and from check-in to check-out all went extremly well.
Service is just great, food was very good, and as a french eating british cuisine you are not confident at the beginning, but i was completly wrong, the whole experience was very good!
I was able to concentrate on my business meetings and during the week end to relax and being just a the back of fortun and masion!!location location location!!!! jut great!
Really looking forward to come back their

Room Tip: if you can ask for high floor that's even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicozim4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Nicozim4,

Thank you for your wonderfull review.
We know it might be hard for a frenchman to be convinced that british cuisine can be good :-).
Have you tried some of our english wines as well?
Our locations makes us the perfect hotel whether you stay for business or leisure, our lounge is great for business meetings and the weekends can be spend exploring London.
That you are commending our service is what makes us happy as we believe our staff is our strenght.
We look forward seeing you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Been to the Cavendish twice now, both times have been excellent.

Stayed with my wife on the 9th Feb 2013, Booked through SuperBreak, On arrival went to check in at 1200 but officially check in was not till 1500 this was no problem and we was not turned away, the computer froze on the receptionist ( could happen anywhere), She quickly rebooted and for the 2 minute delay she kindly offered us a room upgrade to a superior double, this was very well received and to be honest a nice touch.

The room was excellent, two plasma TV's, big bed, clean tidy and good quality feel to the room, My highlight was the breakfast delivered to the room bang on time.

Hotel is about 200 metres from Picadilly Circus, Excellent location. Highly recommend and will certainly return on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 526Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear 526Will,

Thank you for staying at The Cavendish London through Superbreak.
Apologies that the system froze however glad that our receptionist sorted the problem in such a great manner. As you mentioned our Check in time is 3pm, where possible we check in people earlier but that depends how many rooms we have available(clean) at that time.
We try to give our guests the same breakfast experience in the rooms as they can have in the restaurant so I am pleased that we have been able to do so on this occassion.
All in all it seem that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wonderful hotel, comfortable beds. The young concierge was particularly helpful hailing taxis, storing our cases.

The breakfast was excellent with quick attentive service. The rooms were very nice, we didn't sleep very well because even though we were high up on the twelfth floor we could hear sirens and the general noise of London. Not the hotel's fault, but as country dwellers we are not used to noise at night.

I can't understand why hotels at this star rating and cost charge for room internet access when many cheaper competitors offer fast free wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Ian546,

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As we are right in the city centre unfortunately we cannot always control the noise around us, so apologies if you did not have such a great night sleep. Your comments about our concierge team will be shared with them and I can ssure you they will be pleased to be recognised.
We do indeed charge for Wifi in our hotel however provide free wifi in our public areas. The reason for charging is that the speed we provide(100mb/s) is far exceeding the speed offered by other hotels in the area and what is recommende for a hotel of our size.
I hope you had a safe journey back home and look forward seeing you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed over the weekend and can say we were more than happy with our choice.
Our room was on the 9th floor and had a great view of The Shard / 'Eye / Big Ben. It was very comfortable and clean - great shower.
We had some fab cocktails in the bar and cannot praise the staff enough, very attentive and helpful.
We didn't eat at the restaurant, but did order sandwiches from room service, and these were very tasty.
As others have mentioned, breakfast is very good. I think it would have cost £22/p which isn't cheap, so we were happy this was included in our deal.
Despite it being in a central location, right behind Fortnum & Mason, we thought it was quiet.
Its only a 5 min walk to Picadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Soho and Theatre Land. Covent Garden is maybe 20 mins away.
My only 'complaint' would be that all the most expensive shops in town are a stones throw from the hotel......my fiancee especially enjoyed this!!!!
Great hotel, great staff, great location.....we'll be back.

Room Tip: For views, ask for a room at the rear on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMcL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear AMcL007,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to London.
Our location has been very popular over the years and Jermyn street is a very traditional street with a lot of history in the tailoring industry. As you mentioned they are the cheapest around buy you do get the best of quality. Bond street is also only a 5 minute walk with all their glamourous shops. It is not only your Fiance who enjoys this, there are many more people who like to window shop or splurge out on something special.
Our views from the 8th floor and above have some great views over London and I am glad that yo enjoyed them. Our breakfast can be purchased in advance or sometimes is included in the rate. When purchased on the day it is £22.50 per person for an all you can eat buffet and a la carte menu included in the price.
Great to hear that you will be back and we look forward seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed at the Cavendish Hotel at the end of January with a friend and my elderly mother. We were lucky enough to be allocated rooms with an adjoining door which made our stay more enjoyable. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, all staff were friendly & helpful and the breakfasts were excellent. Also the location of the hotel was ideal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Margaret U,

Thank you for your kind review and I am excited that you had such a " Fantastic Mini break" with your friend and elderly mother. We do have rooms with adjoining doors which make them suitable for families with children or for just the convenience of having your mother next door.
Breakfast is an area we are commended for by many and we keep looking at ways to improve. Have you tried our home made marmalade? this has been so popular that we are no even selling it to our guests.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will rmember us next time you come to London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here at the end of October last year. It was my first time in London. The hotel is absolutely lovely. The rooms are a fantastic size, the hotel is very clean and the staff are lovely. The breakfast in the morning is superb and the fact it looks out onto Fortnum and Mason made it even better. The hotel is central and has a number of tube stations just a short walk away. It is a 5 minute walk from Piccadily Circus. The fact the hotel is so central makes it overall a 5 out of 5. You really can't go wrong as like I said the hotel really is lovely and worth a stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie_arnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Katie_arnott,

May i thank you for choosing The Cavendish London on your first trip to London.
Your feedback means a lot to us and I am therefore glad that we were able to make your first London visit memorable for the right reasons.
As our restaurant is on the first floor our window tables look out over Jermynstreet and Fornum and Mason which for a lot of people is very appealing as you mentioned.
On your next trip to London we hope to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#101 of 1,067 in London
839 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,067 in London
815 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#132 of 1,067 in London
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,134 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,666 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,067 in London
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing