We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! nice small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #122 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location! nice small rooms”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best of the hotel is the location!, right on the spot! you can walk to the best places in downtown London.
I was a bit dissappointed by the bar at the lobby, not very nice, and closed during the mornings, not even for coffe.. my room rate didnt include breakfast so having a coffe there in the mornings will get me started..
The rooms, quite small, but with outstanding design, very clean

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaelBarredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Carlos H,

Thank you for your comments.
Our location is indeed one of the main attractions of The Cavendish as we are within walking distance to Piccadilly, regents street, leicester square, Hyde park and Knightsbridge as well as Oxford street.
We are currently in the middle of drawing up plans for a refurbishment of our Lobby area which includes the bar. Although our bar is closed in the morning our first floor lounge is open 24 hours a day for residents and we are more than happy to serve you tea/coffee etc there.
Will we see you back on your next visit to London?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,445
    1,180
    255
    66
    29
See reviews for
588
2,061
166
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A perfect hotel: reasonably priced (for London), very central, and great views of London. Our room was a fair size, very comfortable, and very quiet - despite being adjacent to the lift. Breakfast was excellent and we did not have to queue, despite arriving at a "peak time". We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StOuenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear STOuenboy,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable time at The Cavendish London. Our breakfast has been rated as one of the best in London and the team is always working hard to limit the waiting times which can sometimes occur in the weekend.
As we shut down 2 lifts at night we try to ensure that our guests have the best possible night sleep and would not be affected by any noise the lifts might give.
We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great hotel. The location is perfect: a stone's throw away from Piccadilly. This is my third stay and it's consistently good. Service is friendly and efficient, conferencing facilities are good, rooms are well appointed but some are a bit small so be sure to ask for a big room.

We had an incident last night whereby there was a gas leak in the road outside and we had to be evacuated. This was obviously not the hotels fault and they handled the situation extremely well, assisting with alternative accommodation and reimbursing us in full. While some guess were rude and unreasonable, this was totally unjustified as the staff were professional, organized and did an excellent job under the circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear CathAndrew,

Thank you for your kind remarks on how we handled the incident earlier this week. As you mentioned the hotel could not in any way have prevented this and I am glad that you found that we handled this in the best possible manner. We believe that ensuring everybody was warm and safe while we were looking for alternative accomodation was the least we could do. And as we can understand that not all guests were happy to be evacuated I do hope they understood it was for their own safety. So again a big thank you for your understanding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The whole experience at the Cavandish was excellent. It was my wife's 30th birthday treat and we traveled down to London from Scotland. Extremely easy access from Kings Cross via the underground and once there everything you could want is within walking distance. The hotel had a beautiful birthday cake and card waiting for my wife when we arrived at the room, which was a surprise to both of us. The room was lovely and clean and more than adequate for the two of us. The staff were extremely attentive and helpful. Breakfast was fresh and there was a huge selection to suit everyone. There is a small bar at reception which serves a fantastic bottle of Prosecco and again the staff there were extremely attentive and helpful.
Overall we loved it and we are already planning to go back this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turbomallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Turbomallard,

Happy belated birthday to your wife and I am pleased you appreciated our gesture of a card and cake. We like to make special occassions a bit extra special for you.
The hotel as you mentioned is easy reachable form Kings cross as well as Heathrow, Waterloo and London Bridge as there are all direct Tube lines into Green Park station from where the hotel is a short walk. I am sure all staff will be happy with your comments about them and how attentive and friendly they were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Cavendish regularly and every stay is good. The hotel is well appointed, in a great location right in the center of London. The food is great and they are very good at hosting small to medium size conferences. The staff are always friendly and efficient. As with all hotels in the center of London or any big city some of the rooms are small and so check your room as they have a number of configurations and an upgrading might be worth considering to get a larger room and some the views the rooms on floors above 10 offer.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CharlesTasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Charles Tasker,

It is nice to receive some feedback about our conference facilities as these normally get overlooked when reviewing a hotel so thank you very much.
As you mentioned we have different room types with a Classic room being our entry followed by Superior rooms, Executive Rooms, Junior Suites to our Penthouse. Obviously it depends on what you are looking for in your room. All rooms are finished to a high standard however the size and amenities in the room will differ.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a one night stay at The Cavendish London in January 2013. The Hotel was very good in all respects. The staff were friendly, the room was very nice, we were in a superior queen room on the 14th floor with a wonderful panorama of the London skyline from Big Ben to the right, round past London Eye, The Shard, The Gherkin to The Post Office Tower - truly spectacular. The breakfast was plentiful and very good, so all in all we would certainly stay here again and would recommend it. The most useful feature for us was the fact that the hotel has its own underground car park which is wonderful for London and especially with such a central location, Fortnum & Masons, Burlington Arcade, and Bond Street right on the doorstep, not to mention the Royal Academy only moments away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear ReviewerDorset,

Thank you very much for choosing The Cavendish London to stay in during your recent visit to London. As you mentioned our views from our higher floors are stunning and very much sought by many of our guests. Our location is in the mids of it all, with bond street, piccadilly and regent street as well as Leicester square close by and of course Fortnum and Mason as our neighbour.
I am very happy that you enjoyed it all and hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have scored major brownie points with my mum for taking her to the Cavendish at the weekend. She and I loved it. We were within walking distance of theatres, shopping on Bond Street and great restaurants. Our room overlooked Fortnum and Masons we could not have been in a better location.
The room was fabulous with everything we needed to hand, beautiful decor and excellent service. The breakfast was fantastic and included in the price which was a nice touch. I would recommend this hotel and we certainly hope to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Maura J,

What a nice threat for your mum and i am glad she loved it as much as you did.
Our location is something people really enjoy about us besides our breakfast, views and service and we are pleased you enjoyed it all.
Will we see you back soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,069 in London
870 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,790 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#138 of 1,069 in London
1,458 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#96 of 1,069 in London
831 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#31 of 1,069 in London
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing