We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #124 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The whole experience at the Cavandish was excellent. It was my wife's 30th birthday treat and we traveled down to London from Scotland. Extremely easy access from Kings Cross via the underground and once there everything you could want is within walking distance. The hotel had a beautiful birthday cake and card waiting for my wife when we arrived at the room, which was a surprise to both of us. The room was lovely and clean and more than adequate for the two of us. The staff were extremely attentive and helpful. Breakfast was fresh and there was a huge selection to suit everyone. There is a small bar at reception which serves a fantastic bottle of Prosecco and again the staff there were extremely attentive and helpful.
Overall we loved it and we are already planning to go back this year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turbomallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Turbomallard,

Happy belated birthday to your wife and I am pleased you appreciated our gesture of a card and cake. We like to make special occassions a bit extra special for you.
The hotel as you mentioned is easy reachable form Kings cross as well as Heathrow, Waterloo and London Bridge as there are all direct Tube lines into Green Park station from where the hotel is a short walk. I am sure all staff will be happy with your comments about them and how attentive and friendly they were.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,632 - 2,638 of 4,081 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stay at the Cavendish regularly and every stay is good. The hotel is well appointed, in a great location right in the center of London. The food is great and they are very good at hosting small to medium size conferences. The staff are always friendly and efficient. As with all hotels in the center of London or any big city some of the rooms are small and so check your room as they have a number of configurations and an upgrading might be worth considering to get a larger room and some the views the rooms on floors above 10 offer.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank CharlesTasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Charles Tasker,

It is nice to receive some feedback about our conference facilities as these normally get overlooked when reviewing a hotel so thank you very much.
As you mentioned we have different room types with a Classic room being our entry followed by Superior rooms, Executive Rooms, Junior Suites to our Penthouse. Obviously it depends on what you are looking for in your room. All rooms are finished to a high standard however the size and amenities in the room will differ.
We hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a one night stay at The Cavendish London in January 2013. The Hotel was very good in all respects. The staff were friendly, the room was very nice, we were in a superior queen room on the 14th floor with a wonderful panorama of the London skyline from Big Ben to the right, round past London Eye, The Shard, The Gherkin to The Post Office Tower - truly spectacular. The breakfast was plentiful and very good, so all in all we would certainly stay here again and would recommend it. The most useful feature for us was the fact that the hotel has its own underground car park which is wonderful for London and especially with such a central location, Fortnum & Masons, Burlington Arcade, and Bond Street right on the doorstep, not to mention the Royal Academy only moments away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear ReviewerDorset,

Thank you very much for choosing The Cavendish London to stay in during your recent visit to London. As you mentioned our views from our higher floors are stunning and very much sought by many of our guests. Our location is in the mids of it all, with bond street, piccadilly and regent street as well as Leicester square close by and of course Fortnum and Mason as our neighbour.
I am very happy that you enjoyed it all and hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have scored major brownie points with my mum for taking her to the Cavendish at the weekend. She and I loved it. We were within walking distance of theatres, shopping on Bond Street and great restaurants. Our room overlooked Fortnum and Masons we could not have been in a better location.
The room was fabulous with everything we needed to hand, beautiful decor and excellent service. The breakfast was fantastic and included in the price which was a nice touch. I would recommend this hotel and we certainly hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Maura J,

What a nice threat for your mum and i am glad she loved it as much as you did.
Our location is something people really enjoy about us besides our breakfast, views and service and we are pleased you enjoyed it all.
Will we see you back soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel has become like an old friend to us. It feels comfortable, the rooms are nicely appointed, the staff are friendly, the prices are (for London at least) pretty reasonable, and it's in a position which would be the envy of most other hotels - ie. in a quiet location, despite Jermyn Street's fame, but with Piccadilly literally one street away, and a couple of hundred yards away from Eros. Chomping (the really good) breakfast looking across at the back of Fortnum & Mason never fails to make me feel slightly smug and self-satisfied.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as you can. The view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your repeat custom. It is great to hear that we have such loyal following who keep coming back to escape their hectic lives and enjoy our hospitality.
Your comments about breakfast are very much appreciated and our tables looking over Fortnum & Mason are very popular.
We hope to see you back in 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great location - easy to walk to Theatres and shopping venues such as Harrods, Selfridges etc.

Room was smaller than anticipated but was very comfy.

Breakfast which was included in the price was very good with excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186487Watsons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear 186487Watsons2,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your theatre break with us and that you liked our location. Your comments about our breakfast are wonderfull and I am sure that our F&B team will be eager to hear them. We have 5 different room categories in the hotel of which our reservations team will be more than happy to explain the difference between them besides the size.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The ingredients for a hotel par excellent.....location/ambeince/cuisine/staff. the Cavendish ticks all of the right boxes. What more could one want, than to eat one's delicious breakfast in a window seat overlooking the iconic Fortnum & Mason.
The staff are exempory & remember the tiniest details such as ones names. The rooms are tasteful, warm & comfortable.
Tnis is a flawless hotel & the only downside was...when we had to leave. That said...we shall return..many times.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeannrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Deeannrob,

Sorry you had to leave!! :-)
Your review highlights everything we stand for and is proof that we actually make it happen.
All our staff get recruited on our values so it is great to see that they live the values and ensure that you as a guests are made to feel welcome and special.
We will try to make sure that we won't let you done on your next visit and provide the same excellence you experienced in January.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#506 of 1,077 in London
2,511 reviews
Soho
W London Leicester Square
W London Leicester Square
#402 of 1,077 in London
2,030 reviews
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#52 of 1,077 in London
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#62 of 1,077 in London
3,361 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $241 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing