We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cavendish London
Nearby Hotels
$377
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$224
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$309
$239
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$143
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$183
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$217
$205
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,245)
Filter reviews
4,250 results
Traveler rating
2,619
1,253
280
68
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,619
1,253
280
68
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjermyn streetfortnum masongreen parkgreat locationpiccadilly circuspre theatre dinnerroyal academyclassic roomsuperior roombuckingham palacewest endlondon eyehigh floorbottle of champagnebirthday cardlondon skylineleicester square
Filter
Updating list...
2,852 - 2,857 of 4,250 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights mid-week. Fantastic location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast with plenty of choice and if you had any special requests, not a problem. Had a queen superior room, huge bed and all other facilities good.
There are grander and flashier hotels in central London but this one delivers everything you want without being over the top. Will certainly use again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Julian RD,

Thank you for you great review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your midweek stay with us and that you enjoyed our location and staff friendliness. Our breakfast is made up out of different possibilities to ensure we can offer our guests as much as possible. So beside the help yourself buffet there is a menu on our table from which you can order omelets, eggs benedict, kippers etc just to ensure our guests can indulge in whatever they like.

Hope we will see you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our treats consist of outings, meals, hotel stops and musical entertainment, they happen intermittently when we feel the need or have an occasion to 'treat' ourselves. We had a night here as a geographical treat in one of our favourite areas of London, Mayfair. Indeed it was a birthday surprise for me... enough to say that the predictably small room was basic, service unremarkable, treat elements (robes, products, ambient enhancements, plug sockets) poor. The bed was comfortable and the room clean, but it lacked anything special that constitutes choosing this not inexpensive central location. We asked reception why they did not supply robes and onus was given to our not reading the cards on the bed, which apparently stated that contact with reception was required to ask for any extra 'comfort' additives to make our stay complete. i's dotted, t's crossed, basically good but not special...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BOOGIEPENS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Boogiepens25,

Thank you for taking the time out to write about your experience at The Cavendish recently.
Please accept my apology if we have not been able to meet your expectations on this occassion. Especially as it was a birthday surprise. Would you mind sending me an email on roy.sommer@thecavendishlondon.com and explain a bit more on what you did not like about the room? this way i can also look up your booking profile and update it should you in the future decide to stay again then I can ensure you are looked after well.

Hope hearing from you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for her birthday. It was my first time in London. The location of the hotel is excellent, because all the clubs, restaurants, museums and shopping are in walking distance. The room had great view what even included London-eye. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast in hotel was great! Everything is simple, nice and clean. Very satisfying.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Tamara R,

Happy belated birthday to your friend and we surely hope that we helped your visit in London memorable.
As you mentioned The Cavendish is in the centre of all London has to offer, Museums are withing walking distance with the National Gallery a 10 minute walk for example, the shopping areas of Bond Street, Regent Street and Oxford Street all in touching dictance and of course Theatre land plus the restaurants and clubs of Leicester Square and Covent Garden also in easy reach.
Thank you for your commenst about our staff which is much appreciated and I do hope you had a safe journey back to Phoenix.
We hope to see you back for your second visit to London soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Situated in the opulent area of Mayfair, The Cavendish is a very warm & friendly hotel in a central part of the city right across the road from Fortnum & Mason. 10 minutes stroll takes you into Piccadilly & Leicester Square or alternatively into the bustling shopping areas of Regent Street & Oxford Street. Ideally situated for the West End with plenty of pubs & restaurants along the way. The hotel itself is very clean and smart with amazing views of London (depending on the room). We were in room 1112 which overlooked such sights as The Pineapple, London Eye, Big Ben, The Shard & St Paul's Cathedral. Breakfast is plentiful with choices to suit all tastes.This is our second stay at The Cavendish, but far from the last. High standards have been maintained which erode any disappointment. Well done to all the Staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously have the better view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTW202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear JTW202,

Thank you very much for praising our staff in such a fashion. It is because of them that The Cavendish is such a great place to stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the views from your room. The rooms on the 8th floor and above have some amazing views over the London skyline. As you mentioned our location allows for our guests to walk to most of the attractions the centre of London has to offer.
Our Breakfast is an area for which we always get a lot of praise and we keep looking at ways on how to make it better. Even last week we made some minor improvements to ensure our guests get the best.
We look forward seeing you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

No hesitation in recommending a stay at this well located central London hotel. Friendly, helpful staff from reception through to restaurant. Well appointed reception, lounge and restaurant areas. Well appointed, clean and well serviced room, with great view of London Eye. Great breakfast menu, wide selection of quality fruit, cereals, cooked food etc. Will return on some future visit to the capital. Well done, the Cavendish.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eborwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Eborwatch,

Thank you for such great praise. It is always nice to get recognition for the hard work all the staff does. We have a culture here which ensures that our staff work in a happy place and we truly believe that reflects on the service we provide.
I am glad you enjoyed your room and its views as well as some of the facilities on offer like the restaurant.
Next time tou are visiting London you know where to stay:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews