We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in the center of London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #124 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed many times in the Cavendish during the last couple of years and was never disappointed. The hotel is nice, the staff friendly and the location is excellent (close to Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, etc.). The rooms are small which might be an issue for some US travelers (everything is bigger in the States) but for London standards the room size is ok & acceptable. I like the Bose Sound Dock in every room and that the beds are comfortable. I usually stay there on business but often see tourists there. For me, it's more of a business hotel where I don't care so much about the room size. For a nice holiday (more space) I would probably stay somewhere else but then again, London is expensive and rooms are usually small. Anyway, I feel I am going on about the room size too much. In essence, great place, I'll be there again in a couple of weeks and I like the feel of the place.

Room Tip: Up the street, try the old cheese shop, wonderful place to try cheeses from the UK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Garak,

Thank you for choosing The Cavendish London during your recent visit to London and we are pleased to know you have stayed with us on a regular basis. As you might know we have different room categories in the hotel and the all differ in size. If you wish you can let me know the next time you are staying with us and i will make a note in your reservation to see if we can give you an upgrade to thank you for your returning custom. you can email me at roy.sommer@thecavendishlondon.com.

As you have said we are located very central in London and pretty much everything you would look for is within walking distance of the hotel. Also we do indeed provide Bose Sound docking stations in each room as we are aware that a lot of our guests would like to listen to their own music while staying with us and can therfore do so with their Iphone's etc.


We hope to see you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,790 - 2,796 of 4,127 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on 24/09/2012 for one night while visiting London and would recommend it to anyone.
The rooms are a reasonable size, very clean and the staff excellent.
The breakfast was included in on our stay and is to die for.
Ideal for shopping, visiting Buckingham palace as the location is very central.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntysusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Auntysusie,

Can i personally thank you for posting your experience of the Cavendish hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased you enjoyed the hotel, location and especially the breakfast. We have put a lot of work into our breakfast lately to enhance our guests experience and by the sound of it it paid off.

Your comments about our staff is music to my ears and your comments will be displayed on our staff noticeboard.

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We won a prize in a National daily newspaper, which included 2 nights stay at the Cavendish Hotel.
The hotel was excellent in every respect.
Located in a quiet street full of Art Galleries and opposite Fortnum and Mason, it is only 5 minutes from Piccadilly and Shaftesbury avenue (home to many theatres).
Head south down St James past St James Palace and Clarence House onto The Mall, leading to Buckingham Palace, takes about 15 minutes.
We found this, the perfect base to explore Central London and many of it's historical sights.
The hotel staff were friendly, welcoming and very professional.
Our room on the 10th floor was a good size and well presented.
Breakfast was served in a well laid out restaurant, and was of a high quality, with order options accompanying the buffet.
All in all, we had a marvellous weekend and will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Topplanner,

First of all congratulations on winning the 2 night stay at The Cavendish and we are very pleases to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Our location in Central London has been raved about by many and as you rightly said Piccadilly and Shaftesbury avenue is only a short walk away.

We are especially pleased that you highlighted our staff as they all work very hard to please all of our guests in the best possible way.

Also our breakfast team will be pleased to find out that you think the quality is high as a lot of work has been put into sourcing the right ingredients and hope you have been able to try our home made strawberry jam.

We look forward seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location of the Cavendish can't be faulted, tucked away behind Picadilly on Jermyn Street. The rooms, though small, are well set out and well appointed: don't expect vast bathtubs, or even bathtubs at all. On my visit there were issues with one of the three lifts, meaning that coming down in the morning was a fairly drawn out affair. The hotel skews more towards tourists in town for a west end show than a full function business hotel. I'd arrived early and hoped to have a shower before going on to meetings, but that's not a facility they have on offer. Good value overall and a great base for the West End.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawsoniain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Lawsoniain,

We very much appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed our location.
Unfortunatly we have been having some problems with one of our lifts lately and we are waiting for a part to come over from the US to get this fixed, so apologies if it affected you during your stay.

Also we are sorry that we did not have a room for you to take a shower in before your meeting. The hotel has been quite busy lately which does not always make it possible to give our guests the option to use a room for a shower. Our normal check in time is 2pm and if we can we will always try to accomodate our earlier arrivals.The mix of our guests changes from weekdays to weekends, where during the week we are mainly business orientated our weekend trade is more of a leisure base.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in various hotels in London and this one certainly came up trumps. 2 minute walk to Picadilly, its certainly in an area you want to be for sight seeing. We arrived from Kings Cross by taxi and were welcomed by staff from the off. The reception desks were busy but very efficient in distributing keys at checkin and allowing a swift journey to our room.
The room was not the biggest I've stayed in, but it was well appointed and decorated nicely. The bathroom was contemporary and kept clean by the housekeeping staff. Only 2 of the 3 lifts were in operation and due to their smallish size a fair bit of waiting was needed to get to and from our 11th floor room.
Breakfast was very as good as can be expected for such a quality place and the order options on the menu to compliment the buffet was most welcome. The smoked haddock was very delicious accompanied by 2 poached aggs.
Our evening meal was just as good and the service swift and our wine was kept to a constant level without asking.
The bar prices are premium but then again this is a quality hotel in central London. For a cheaper drinks option try Chequers Bar next door. A bit basic but the beer is good and the whisky selection very reasonably priced.
All in all, this was an excellent base for our London trip and would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear BurnieScotland,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us.
We have been receiving a few comments about 1 lift not working which was due to a broken transformer, this unfortunatly is quite a essential part of a lift and took a few days to get repaired. Hopefully it did not cause you too much inconvenience.

The comments about breakfast and dinner food and service are pleasing and i am sure our Head Chef Nitin as well as our Restaurant Manager Aseem will be pleased to read them.
In our bar we try to keep our prices competitive but must agree that in comparison to other places in the United Kingdom, London is always going to be more expensive. Our Cocktail list is great value for money though and i recommend you have a look at that on your next visit.

Our Front Office team are praised for their efficiency and i am glad you highlighted that as well.

Hope you keep us in mind the next time you are over from Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights when we went to the Proms in the Park plus it was our anniversary. Our room was beautiful - I had expected a small room due to the reviews on TA saying rooms were small, however our room was a great size and beautifully decorated. We were on the 12 floor and had lovely views over the city. Without requesting, the hotel had gifted us with champagne and chocolate cake for our anniversary which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was super with plenty choice of both hot and cold. The hotel is very central so we could walk almost everywhere. I had requested if the hotel could freeze my ice packs for our picnic at the proms...they had a note of this and this was no bother at all. When we return to London we will not look to stay anywhere else as it was a beautiful and clean hotel, we loved the decor, service superb. The only negative I would say was that there wasn't free WiFi. If you're contemplating this hotel, I would book it, as I am very particular when it comes to staying away, and I was delighted!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wikkerwurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Wikkerwurld,

Thank you for choosing The Cavendish London during your recent visit to London.
We are very gratefull for your review and happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as it was for your anniversary. We always try to do a bit extra once we know it is a special occassion.

Personnaly i am glad that you mentioned breakfast as this is an area where we are always keep looking at improvements to make.

While we do charge for internet we ensure that we are able to offer our guests the fastest possible internet speeds where we recently upgraded the hotels internet capacity to 100MB which is 25MB higher than recommended for a hotel of our size to ensure that our guests have good internet experience.

We surely hope to see you stay with us again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Cavendish from Sept. 1st to the 9th and had a great time. It was our first time staying at the Cavendish but we sure hope we'll be able to return again. We had an 8th floor room facing Big Ben and the London Eye and we enjoyed the view at all times of the day. It was a Superior Room and it was plently roomy enough for the two of us with plenty of room to hang our clothes. Housekeeping staff did an excellent job of keeping the room clean and keeping us supplied with coffee and tea. We made use of the fridge by removing some of the items and that worked out just fine. We were there the night the fire alarm went off and everything went smoothly and we appreciated getting a note the next morning about the cause (the transformer in one of the elevators was the cause). Fortunately it was a beautiful night and we enjoyed talking to some of the other guests out on the street. We had no problems with packed elevators as other guests have commented about and never had to wait more than a minute or two. It was as if nothing had happened. The location is as good as it gets in London, just a five minute walk to either the Green Park or Piccadilly tube stations. Green Park is more accessible if you have luggage. All the staff were friendly and helpful, with special thanks to Aziz for helping us print our boarding passes when we had difficulty getting them to print. We never ate breakfast at the hotel but we did enjoy a very nice lunch one day. We love London and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winnipegmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Winnipegmelody,

Thank you for your kind words and we are overjoyed to find out that you enjoyed your 8 night stay at The Cavendish London. Am sure that Praxeda our Executive Housekeeper will be happy to share your comments about the room cleanliness and supplies with her team as her department does get overlooked sometimes. Besides that Aziz will be thrilled with your comment about the help he has been able to give to you.

The views are one part of the hotel you can't get enough off and being so central in London is certainly a bonus. Rooms on the 8th floor and above will have some spectacular views over London, so when booking do request a room on a higher floor and we will do our best to accomodate you.

We hope to welcome you book in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,395 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#104 of 1,076 in London
884 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#142 of 1,076 in London
1,514 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#389 of 1,076 in London
2,296 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#55 Family Hotel in London
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $220 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing