We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - and I loved the bedsheets!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #123 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed for one night in February for a business meeting over dinner. Excellent hotel, very comfortable bed with some of the nicest sheets I have ever experienced!

Location can not be faulted, usually for I struggle to sleep in city centre hotels due to the outside noise but this was the case this time.

Staff were very attentive and the hotel and rooms were in very good order. Dinner was tasty with good presentation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you very much for the great review. Our housekeeper, Praxeda is thrilled about your comments about the bedsheets and that you were able to have such a good night. I have also passed on your comments to the chef about your dinner.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,915 - 2,921 of 4,093 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

Just returned from The Cavendish Hotel, had a very enjoyable stay, the check in was quick the room wasn't ready but that was because we arrived early, they stored our luggage for us and they called us when the room was available, the reception area was bright and welcoming, the room was very clean, large comfortable bed, bath room had a bath and separate shower, breakfast had a very good selection to suit everyones taste, we visited the bar on the ground floor and I must say the bar staff new their job very well indeed, I must say that which ever member of staff you spoke too were very good they all seemed to enjoy their there job and had execellent customers service skills, I would stay at this hotel again and also recommened it to any one.
t

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilleydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you very much for the excellent review. I have passed on your wonderful comments to the whole team especially the bar team and to thank them for providing you with such excellent service.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Cavendish is really well located for a visit to London and most things are within walking distance. Lovely comfortable rooms. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review. Thank you for mentioning our great location as I am sure most of our guests will appreciate that and as a hotel it can be quite difficult to explain, so it is really appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Everyone rightly praises the location of the Cavendish. It is a tallish, modernish building, surrounded by shorter, older Mayfair, so that if you are above the 3rd floor, the rooms are light and, on the south-facing side, have good views. We had an "executive", which was adequately sized, with a good bathroom, tub plus shower, nicely furnished and equipped, with good tea and coffee facilities. The windows were locked shut and the aircon a little noisy. The loo did not flush well - too little water. There are no "executive club" facilities. There were no rates that included breakfast so the £22,50 charge felt like a rip-off, particularly if you only want a light breakfast but don't feel like wandering off to find a reasonable cafe. There was enough variety and quality in the buffet to enable a hungry diner to feel satisfied.
All the staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful. The lounge on the 1st floor was over subscribed - lots of meeting rooms, so lots of traffic.
Overall, a good place to stay for business or for pleasure.

Room Tip: Regular rooms are small, so if that matters, book executive and ask for high floor, South facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you very much for the great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and liked the executive room. I have passed on your excellent comments to the team about your lovely comments.

I hope that we can welcome you back to The Cavendish London in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Superb location, lovely hotel.
Bit of a palaver with staff over room 'key' not working - but then modern room keys are pretty terrible.
Would highly recommend a laugh at The Criterion and 39 Steps.
Good variety at breakfast - The Cavendish is a great choice - thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your great review, and delighted that you had a good stay. I know the chef is very happy that you really liked the variety at breakfast. We have also had our key company in to have a look at the system to ensure that we do not have the same issue again.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great location for tube, shops and theatres. We had afternoon tea which was great. room had docking station for our ipod. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle_collins20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you very much for the great review. I am delighted that you had such a good stay and that you enjoyed your afternoon tea.

Than you for the recommendations it is really appreciated.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The Cavendish is a great location just behind Fortum and Masons department store, the Ritz for that special tea and Green Park tube station. The staff are friendly and helpful. The foyer is a reasonable size however the lounge is quite small. Pity the lounge bar is closed on Sundays until the afternoon, lots of people around waiting for buses to airport etc.would have loved a simple coffee.
The 1st floor restaurant has some tasty food and is great for afternoon tea. Breakfast at £22 is not very interesting but good value.
The bedroom was very small for two adults it was arranged very oddly to accomodate the double bed. Not a place to hang out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thank you very much for the review and the great comments about our location as I am sure that a lot of our guests will find that very useful.

I hope that we can welcome you back to The Cavendish London on your next visit.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#58 of 1,078 in London
3,387 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,078 in London
3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#115 of 1,078 in London
1,885 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $225 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing